Giving time to children

Parents are the first inspiration for children, as they say and act what they learn from their parents. But some Muslim parents think that giving time to their children only means going out with them for ice cream, while actually it means to sit together with them and teach them the Islamic principles with practical examples. But unfortunately no time is left for mutual meeting/conference for developing of mutual bond and strengthening of relationships after half of their day is taken by school, some of it is taken by tuition and the remaining is taken either by cable TV, internet or a late night party. Too much dose of cartoons would actually make them behave like a cartoon.

Husbands are busy all day at work so at their return they want to have their meal and go to sleep. Housewives think that their duty is only to cook food, wash clothes, clean and decorate the home, dress themselves, do make up and then sit in front of the TV. But unfortunately they forget that it was because of the good education of a mother (Hazrat Hajra a.s) that Hazrat Ismail (a.s) at the age of 6 happily accepted when his father Hazrat Ibrahim (a.s) decided to butcher him with the order of Allah (swt). In fact Ismail (a.s) told his father to cover his eyes with a cloth and Ismail (a.s) should face towards the ground so that love of son doesn’t come in the way of the order of Allah (swt)

Such character of children at such a young age is made when fathers and specially mothers think of it to be their ‘first’ duty to educate their child in a manner that connects him strongly with his Allah (swt).

Re: Giving time to children

Nice post. Ismail[AS] was a prophet so we can't really say that it was because of his mother's upbringing....also I don't think he was 6 years old at that time, I've read he was a teen ager.
Allahualim.

^ I might be wrong. This is the way I heard from scholar, but I would inshaAllah confirm it.

The ummah needs mothers like Hazrat Umm Amarah (r.a) who told her children Habib bin zaid (r.a) and Abdullah bin zaid (r.a) that she would not forgive them if they return from the battle alive while the kuffar are able to hurt the Prophet (saw). (She wanted them to protect the Prophet without caring about their own lives)

Habib bin zaid (r.a) was sent to Musailmah kazab (the person who declared himself a prophet) as messanger to convey to him the message of Muslims. Musailmah cut habib's body parts one by one and kept insisting him to accept Musailmah as a prophet but habib (r.a) kept denying it and declaring that there is no prophet after Prophet Muhammad (saw).

Umm Ammarah (r.a) came to know of how his son's body parts were cut one by one and then his skin was separated from his body while he was still alive. After hearing this shocking news of the way his son was killed but still didn't leave Islam, Umme Ammarah (r.a) said,

" I gave him milk to see this day!!!" (that my son sacrifice his life in the way of Islam)

Housewives think that their duty is only to cook food, wash clothes, clean and decorate the home, dress themselves, do make up and then sit in front of the TV.

How many housewives have you met and know personally?

It was a general opinion (about desi housewives) I usually hear from people like my mom, aunts, sister and even my wife. Of course I don't need to meet and know each one of them personally, and then count those whom I meet, in order to be able to give a general comment in a discussion. There must be a lot of them who don't think like the way I mentioned but obviously my comments were regarding those who think like that.

A lot and most of them do have the symptoms that brother STP mentioned.

JazakAllah khair sister for the clarification.

About the incident I mentioned earlier, I forgot to mention here that Hazrat Umm Ammara (r.a) did take the revenge of her son by killing Musailmah in a battle between Muslims and the followers of Musailmah Kazab.

A bit off topic but here I would like to mention about this great Muslimah. Umm Amarah (r.a) was a part of the human barrier which protected the Prophet in the battle of Uhad. Personally I have never heard or read about any woman in the history who was as brave as hazrat Um Ammara (r.a). Probably Hazrat khola (r.a), the sister of Hazrat Zarar (r.a) can be compared with her in bravery, who even stunned Hazrat Khalid bin Waleed (r.a) in a battle. As her face was covered Saif-ullah (r.a) thought of her to be a man who easily rescused the Muslims against the enemies, and could fight with many men at the same time.

giving time to children IS the foremost duty of a mother, ok so it isn't always possible when there are household chores that need attention, and personally this is the hardest thing for me balancing chores with giving my son the time he needs.

Although it is a good thing to sit with the kids and have those sessions but only to some extent..I don't think lecturing can be all that's effective, however practically doing it yourself and making a point about it may be a better technique. Kids love ice-cream =), it can be used as a positive motive, a reward kinda thing when they do something good..many parents I know do that.

And it's not like while housewives are performing all those duties the kids vanish into thin air..they are there and are constantly learning/taking mother's time. Also I don't think there's anything wrong with dressing up and watching tv..moms need a break too.... I don't get it ..fathers can get away with the 'busy.all.day.just.wanna.eat.and.sleep.now' and mothers cant even watch tv?

Parenting is a difficult job and often it is the mother who does the heavy lifting. I know that it is true in my case, I do however, spend as much time with my girls as possible. I also try to teach them about Islam by example, e.g. Salat, reciting quran, fasting during ramazan etc. Of course they ask tons of questions.... I try to answer them to the best of my ability.