I usually give charity every other week to an Islamic charity.
My work colleague who is not a Muslim has a drink problem, he seems to have spent most of his money this week. As a result he don’t have enough money for bus fare nor enough money for food to survive for a week.
I was thinking whether I should give my regular charity to him or lend him some money.
But am I allowed to lend money or give charity to a non-muslim?
(I’d prefer to lend him money and also pay the charity as usual to the Islamic charity).
bad bad non-muslim. You should stay away from such people.
Seriously though, if you are not allowed to give charity to things and people who are not affiliated with Islam, then my friend, there is something wrong. Don;t give him oney of you feel he will drink it away. But not to give him money because he is not muslim is kind of dumb, in my opinion.
Would you give money to a muslim who was doing nefarious things?
The opposite of islamic based advice is not hate, sometimes common sense supercedes religious dogma, be it shinto, islam, hinduism or tiki tiki scriptures.
Whatever would make you think it wouldn’t be allowed?
Islam requires us to treat our fellow human beings (and even animals for that matter) with kindness and mercy. It is highly encouraged by our religion.
You are allowed to give charity (Sadaqah) to a Non-Muslim as long as he/she is not at war with Islam/Muslims and has not committed acts of aggression against Islam/Muslims.
“Allaah does not forbid you to deal justly and kindly with those who fought not against you on account of religion nor drove you out of your homes. Verily, Allaah loves those who deal with equity. It is only as regards those who fought against you on account of religion, and have driven you out of your homes, and helped to drive you out, that Allaah forbids you to befriend them. And whosoever will befriend them, then such are the Zaalimoon (wrongdoers those who disobey Allaah” [al-Mumtahinah 60:8-9]
And he/she does not use that money for unislamic things.
“Help you one another in Al-Birr and At-Taqwa (virtue, righteousness and piety); but do not help one another in sin and transgression” [al-Maa’idah 5:2]
Obligatory charity (Zakaah) however can only be used for fellow Muslims.
I dont know the topic in depth, but here are a few things I would like to share. Once I wanted to give charity and went to the Imam of my Mosque to ask him about it he told me that the charity should be given to those who find it hard to meet their 'Jaiz' needs.
I've a question as well:
Why should we pay to a non muslim when we have millions of muslims in need? I mean if all the muslims are taken care of first then, i say no harm in even reaching the non muslims but that too for the 'jaiz' needs.
*Originally posted by Arvind: *
This question was answered by Mufti Desai in ask-imam.org a little while ago. Basically Desai saab said no to giving charity to non-muslim.
So rest easy guys, neither Matsui nor I are going to ask you for money!
Arvind take it easy,, no one is gonna give you any Zakat. I as a Muslim asure you that this is not the case. Charity is for every one. This Mufti Desai need to get laid, that's what he needs. Anyone who is in dire need is eligible for charity. if someone tries to prove it otherwise by giving reffrences of some books or something is WRONG. Please beleive any Muftis.
Gupistani: May be you should buy bus tickets and other necessary food items for your colleague instead of giving him money. By doing so you'll be assured that he isn't spending it on drinks or other impermissible items.
*Originally posted by Sadiyah: *
Gupistani: May be you should buy bus tickets and other necessary food items for your colleague instead of giving him money. By doing so you'll be assured that he isn't spending it on drinks or other impermissible items.
*Originally posted by PakistaniDragon: *
I think it was mistake to give him money.. he's let me down because he's bought more Alcohol with it.
From the acknowledgement "I", its safe to assume you and gupistani are one and the same person.
*Originally posted by Matsui: *
bad bad non-muslim. You should stay away from such people.
Seriously though, if you are not allowed to give charity to things and people who are not affiliated with Islam, then my friend, there is something wrong. Don;t give him oney of you feel he will drink it away. But not to give him money because he is not muslim is kind of dumb, in my opinion.
Would you give money to a muslim who was doing nefarious things?
Matsui putthar,
Dekho yeh sub muslims sirf muslimon ki madat kar rahe hain. Aur tum, tumhare Arvind chacha ko ek paisa bhi nahi bhej rahe ho. Nikalo tumhara cheque book aur bhej do muze hazaar dollar.