Give me an insight

Into what I am doing wrong.

Here is a brief intro of me and my wife.

I am the youngest of my family, very loved and doted upon. Although I have a few skills, I never completed my education or acquired skills to hold a steady job. I am extremely good looking :smiley: alhamdolillah. Very close to my family. Although I was loved very much by my family and friends, I am a decent person. No real bad habits to speak of, a bit temperamental, but then who isn’t. I haven’t done any moral crimes in my past single life and have had a shareefana living. Also I am pretty good at domestic things like cooking and cleaning and have successfully lived on my own.

My wife, although not the youngest, is probably one of the most responsible members of her family. Highly educated and had a good career. She was a pillar in her family and has skills which landed her a very good job, even though it was in a different state, away from her family. She made good money and has a lot of investments that bring in decent income per month enough for us to live together and save. My wife is also close to her family and supported her family and siblings most of her life.

We, my wife and I, knew each other before the wedding and were madly in love with each other at a point in time. Later we had a few major differences and things almost broke off. There were a few things which made us kind of suspicious about the whole arrangement and we were not sure if the other side was serious. Thankfully though our in-laws along with my wife came to Pakistan and cleared everything. They even admitted that our suspicions were justified because they had not cleared the issues. We got engaged and our engagement was a very happy occasion for all of us. All misunderstanding were cleared.

We had our wedding in America, in the state where my in-laws lived. My parents and my siblings went to USA for the wedding, even though none of my close relatives live there or any of my friends could attend the wedding. Although my in-laws have a few relatives in Pakistan, including my brother in law, it was because my in-laws wanted the wedding in America, we decided we will go and live there.

My in-laws were very helpful during our stay in USA and took care of most wedding arrangements for us, including my shadi ka suit and stuff, booking the hotels, arranging for our accommodation. We however paid for everything and I am thankful for everything my in laws did. It was of decent quality and probably a lot better than what we would have had in Pakistan. I was still sad that none of my close relatives or any of my friends could attend.

Our first tiff started probably on the night of our walima. The original reason for my un-happiness started on our wedding night. After the nikah my sister told me of what happened in the bridal room. After the qabool eijabs, my sister joked with my wife about her being a part of our family. And now she will find out what it means to be a khar. My wife laughed at my sister and told her now they will find out what it means to be a Butt. My sister told me later at this offensive exchange and this little thing switched my mood off, although I didn’t mention the reason to my wife and decided it was not the right time to discuss. I was also quite dis-heartened that my family will go back to Pakistan and I will stay back in the US. Considering how close I have always been to my family, this was a real downer on me and nothing after the shadi and the walima lifted my spirits. My agony was written on my face. Although I have been to America a few times on vacations, I had never lived in a foreign country before. No friends, no family. The plan was that we will move to the state where my wife used to work as she had her house there. We had plans for a short honeymoon immediately after the wedding and a proper one later. My wife, got sick immediately after the walima and when she got better and we were both ready to go to the honey moon, she made a decision on her own that since my family be going back to Pakistan shortly, I better spend the time with my family till they are in USA, considering I was not going to meet them for sometime, even though my parents and I made it clear and even insisted that we should go away for 2 days. I am not bothered about the fact that we didn’t go but more because the decision was made solely by herself and I was only informed and not consulted. Funny thing is my parents had plans and did spend half a day at the resort we were supposed to go to.

Anyway, after shadi, we moved into my wife’s house. New city, new atmosphere, completely different atmosphere that I am used to was difficult. Being a family man the house used to katnay ko doRta. Initialy I tried to look for a job, but unfortunately my skills were not good enough so my attempts failed. Not totally though as I was able to get some low paying short assignments. My wife did initially support me during this time and told me that inshallah things will get better. I am a hard worker and with more experience I will eventually find a good job or start a business on my own. I have some inherited money that will be good to start a business.

Since we were in a position where none of us needed to work, there was not a big pressure from my wife for me to find a job, or a real need so I attended a few schools and inshallah in time I will have a steady income.

The initial days were a bit difficult. My wife is older than me and she was busy during the day with house work and the remaining time either reading or with her womanly things. I got little attention and felt ignored. She was good and loving at times, like she has a habit of eating fruit at night and she would force me to eat with her. She is a good cards and chess player (I am not) so she tried to teach me how to play.

However she had a bit of ghussa and at times would show it and we have had fights. I felt as if she was trying to change me into a person that I am not. Even though I was not forced to get a job and bring some money home, I felt that pressure. Very depressing situation for me and I hated living in America, considering I had spent my whole life in Pakistan, a very different and loving culture, something I was used to. I hated being on my own while my wife was busy doing house work.

My parents and family called me regularly, almost every day and I also called them and those were my good moments.

We continued having fights during the first few months and situation deteriorated. My wife is older than me and is a temperamental and bossy person. I have never done anything that she didn’t like but for some reason I always get vibes that she is not happy with me.

Our first big fight occurred when I decided, right after moving that it will be a good idea that I back to Pakistan for a short visit. She opposed it and even got my parents involved in the fight. My mother and father got involved and gave some tips to my wife on how to handle the situation. Although she cooked everyday, she never asked me if I would like to have something special. Now my mother knew about this as I shared everything with my mother and sister. I remember my wife told me at the beginning to tell her if I want anything in particular but I wasn’t comfortable in putting up any demands so I didn’t say anything then. But during this fight where my parents got involved my mother mentioned this. I do give credit that immediately after the fight, she did sit down with me and drafted a menu of things I like and even though the menu was not followed 100%, I do not have any complaints there.

I did make a few friends in the US who were either brithers or husbands of my wife’s friends. The only ā€œmeā€ activity I have during the entire week is one game of golf, otherwise I am always available to help my wife if she needs it in any household chores which I want o do to keep myself busy but my wife wont let me, even though she has not said no.

When we moved into the house, it was very girly, even the bedroom was painted pink. Although she did make a few adjustments in the house it is not entirely there, we are still using pink bedcovers.

My wife’s biggest complaint against me, that has been the reason for many fights, is primarily respect. I have never ever spoken to her in a loud voice, except for a few times when we fought and I was provoked by some baseless allegations against me. I love her and have never done anything knowingly that would annoy her. If there is anything that annoys her then probably she should tell me and I am the kind of person who won’t repeat it but our communication has kind of broken down and every time we talk, she brings in old stuff, that we have already discussed and kind of resolved and blames me, from there onwards the fight just escalates and issues don’t get resolved. During the fight she speaks non stop, barely letting me or my mother talk. We don’t even get a chance to say what we want to say. My mother is a very nice person, but she is also losing her patience with my wife and her aggressiveness.

As I have already mentioned how close I am to my family, I share everything with them and give them a true picture of what is going on in our life. I have not hidden a single thing as I am an honest person and they know. My ammi has even advised my wife to get up early in the morning as she sleeps late and get up late as well, but she has not listened to that. My mother has advised her how I need love but my wife seems totally uncaring when it comes to my needs. She perfectly knows how difficult it has been for me in America. It is not like she or her family didn’t know that my skills to finding a job immediately are zero to none. We never hid anything from her or her family.

Her other complaint against me is that I am not very intimate. Heck my whole life has turned upside/down, I am going through depression who has the will to become lovey dovey. Inshallah as time passes and I am in a better frame of mind our relationship will improve.

To all those who are going to say that my mother should stay out of our fights, please note that even though my mother knew everything as I was updating her, she didn’t get involved herself. It was my wife who ran to her complaining about me when our fights were getting out of hand.

My in-laws don’t know the real situation that we are going through, mainly because my wife don’t want to tell them the truth and is protecting them. She does not have the courage to face the reality and tell them. She is protecting them. I do have a decent relationship with my inlaws and I have gone out on golf games with my brother in laws when they visited our town.

I am getting sick and tired of my wife eventually bringing up old issues in the fight which we have discussed before. Once discussed I think they should become history. Why is she not satisfied, why do old things keep coming up?

Oh one more thing I hate is comparison. My wife has a habit of comparing me to let’s say her friends husband. She is kind of a meesni and passive aggressive about it and doesn’t say it outright, but it is still hurtful. Like the other day she mentioned what a nice house her friend’s husband has bought and what a wonderful car they have, without ever mentioning that the money is not her friend or her husbands but actually from their parents. Oh yeah and a few weeks back she was going on and on and on about her brother’s accomplishments. Enough already soI had to shut her up by telling her how hurtful it is to compare me to somebody else. It is not like I am not trying

So people what do you see wrong in our marriage and should it be resolved? There is a lot more that I have not said and probably not presented her picture properly but truth is she has her own faults.

We fight, we cry, we both love each other very much. We want to fix things but don’t know how to? So please give some advice.

Re: Give me an insight

pah ji sounds like you’re looking for a slave —
Try building a life together not having her follow your menu 100% :rolleyes:

Sounds like you have some growing up to do.
cut out the middle man — you’re relationship should be between you two only no one should be running to the parents telling them anything…

and for you to be pissed off because of a comment she made to your sister –
well it was a joke first of all and you’re sister started it first. If you can’t take the heat stay out of the kitchen.

You guys dont seem to have any serious problems - eveyrhting will work out inshahallah.

PS I married a pakistani bred jatt and I’ve grown up in the USA so I understand you’re differences but she seems to be sensative to your needs as well — keep trying Allah mian will help you. Ameen.

Good luck

first of all no one is asking her to keep a 100% menu. I have never complained about the food, it is just that i am not used to of certain dishes and I never complained to her in the first place, it was my mother who mentioned it when she went running to her complaining about me. I have never had to ask for anything, All my life I got it or made it myself. Dont you see how embarrassing it is to ask her if I like gajar ka halwa?

secondly, nobody is involved on their own, she involves my parents when our fights get heated up and I sort of lose control. And whn my mother tells her things that she does wrong she gets offended. Like why shouldnt my mother complain about her sleeping till noon and beyond?

as far as telling my parents everything is concerned, i have never hidden anything from my parents. I have always shared every single thing with them.

my mother has a right to know every single thing that hapens in our relationship.

I dont know abt u bhai sahib but usually when rishta's are arranged things like education, career all come into play. It doesnt matter if its love or arranged, all parents are equally concerned abt the wellbeing of their children and therefore alot of things are discussed during the process.
It looks like your wife is actually typically frustrated with the way things are going - you dont have a degree, as opposed to the fact that she does, makes a good living, supports her family and what not. I don't know why people think that if they are 'qaabil' and have good work ethics they can get any job. Living in a foreign country is hard.. its not easy especially if you cant make a living on your own. She, being your wife is supporting you and thats an amazing thing, but it seems like you do need to try a little harder. Try and take some courses at a local community college, maybe talk to a counsellor at a high school and see what your options are. Do u mind me asking how much schooling you had completed prior to coming here?
If you are planning on starting a business maybe nows the time to actually do it. Sit down with her and talk to her, and stop telling everything to your family. Your a married man, your responsibility is to your wife. I dont get why your family needs to know everything that you do or say or fight about. Its just going to make things harder on you and on her as she might feel judged upon. Also, that whole issue about what I like to eat menu thingy, why cudnt you have sat down with her and said that I feel like eating this today, could you make it? I'm sure she would love to and if she didnt have the time she would certainly keep it in mind to cook it some other day. My mom alwayz used to say one thing: Love is not going to put food on the table; education is, so if you dont have one dont expect the other to pay for your mistakes.
Also, as far as the comparing part goes, sometimes, when u dnt have something others do, it feels like your being compared whereas to the other person it might just be a comment. Unless she literally comes up2 you and tells u that u have done nothing and this person is doing this, has this many houses etc etc, dont care.
I think if you handle the situation properly things might work out. Try and see your options as far as education goes, and talk to your wife abt things, rather than your mother and sister. They are not the ones in this relationship and they are not living with u at the moment, she is though.

Wow.

dude you need to grow up. First of all there is nothing embarrassing in asking her to make something that you like.. she ain't going to read your mind telepathically.. also you are picking up on very small issues, such as the color or room, the bedsheets.. seriously.. let go of things.. when she joked with your sister at ur wedding.. what's there to take offense on? your sister joked and your wife gave an answer jokingly..

o yeah .. its hard for your to settle in America because you are not trying to settle in America.. you need to have your own space.. she loves you but she ain't gonna chipko with you 24/7.. you need to go out, make your own friends and spend time with them.. away from your wife.. give each other room to breathe...

There are just so many things wrong here… where do we start…:bummer:

Dude, both of you actually need counselling. This is beyond the scope of Gupshup.

you should try not to tell you parents everything that goes on between the two of you, although you share everything with your mother, its not a good thing to do so in your marriage. Because mothers tend to remember everything and anything minor could become major. did you wife only start complaining to your mother after she found out your mum knew stuff that was going on between you? you need to stop telling your mum because a) she'll worry about you and b) she'll interfere.
then you need to sit down and have a proper conversation with your wife, telling her that you aren't going to tell your mum or her mum anything about your relationship anymore and you would appreciate it if she didn't either.

You need to take charge and tell your wife that you appreciate all her efforts in trying to help you to fit in (because she has) and that you want to come up with a long term plan that will benefit you both, this will show her that you are thinking of the two of you and your future and her welfare. then you need to tell her that you UNDERSTAND her and know that she's worked hard all her life and has had alot of responsibility but you would like to help her and ease her responibilities and then tell her you are here for her.

and then you need to tell her what you do and don't like about your relationship, nicely and ask her for her thoughts and opinions in all matters. ask her what she likes and doesn't like. and most importantly listen to her when she speaks and remember what she says.

and maybe you ought to take some initiative and organise stuff that the two of you can do together..like buying neutral bedspreads.

most importantly remind her that adjusting takes time and everything is still new to you and say you know its hard for her aswell.

haha - she works, puts food on the table and yet ur still complaining.. ajeeb baat hai. & no ur mother does not need to know everything, if you want her to yes she will. You were not married before, now u are; rules and things change..

and you are still only thinking about you and your happiness you must think of yourself as a we rather than an I. your saying i'm unhappy, i'm not settling in well, i'm not okay and although you know you have a problem in your marriage you still aren't thinking of why she might be feeling like she is.

^I agree with the counselling portion.

yaar aap nay tou GS counseling ko chance hi nahi diya.. we are non-profit-and-non-useful organization working to help others somehow…

I agree with Faisal. And the biggest most glaring issue right now is your statement "my mother has a right to know every single thing that hapens in our relationship".

WRONG. You are no longer living with Mommy. You are the head of a household, you are a man and you have a wife. You share things with your wife that you DO NOT share with your mother. I totally understand your wife's aggressiveness - it is likely born of frustration that she married a little boy instead of a man. Are you too young for this? Not ready yet to leave the nest? Thats OK if thats the case...but if that IS the case then you need to figure out how you want to address it ... and you need to figure it out with your WIFE. NOT your mother.

OK mystical rain, I am surprised at your reply, maybe I was not very clear. Please dont take it as if I dont value your comments, i do, but you dont seem to understand the real picture.

Although I may not have very high qualification, my major issue is experience. That will be resolved when I spend some time and gain more experience. Secondly, since both of us have decent money, employment is not really an issue. We live like any couple that probably makes over 100k in US and we still have savings every month. Let's just say that none of us ever need to work to get money. However she has mentioned in a few fights that I have such an easy life that I have no responsibilities. What is the meaning of that when money from me is not even needed, and it is not like I will never work or have a business. I am just not qualified or good at it right now.

As far as the food issue goes, why dont people understand how embarrassing it is to ask/ demand for a certasin dish in a new marriage. Why cant she make them? Anyway that issue has been resolved, i just mentioned it as an example of some of our initial problems. I do get the dishes I like most of the time. Although it did come up in some of our fights as she questioned the involvement of my mother and telling her and why I didnt ask her directly. This tells me she doesnt even understand my side.

yes, i didnt buy a latest sporty SUV, but we have a decent car of her own, why mention that. What is so special about her brother that I have to listen on and on about his accomplishments. I have a good relationship with her brother and we have played a few holes together.

Why cant she see my sacrifices? She says that she understand my living so far away from family but does she? how do I know that she does when we are constantly fighting all the time over other issues. I want to go back to Pakistan so bad but she thinks we should spend more time together so we resolve our issues. Our issues will be resolved when my depression is over. I hate US of Hay, ****e hole. And the town we are living in does not even has the big town feel like lahore. It is like a third world country with nothing much to do. The only activity I have is 18 holes of golf a week a few outings with friends I have made like 2/3 times a month. Movies maybe twice a month, and those are not even like the latest, we always get them one or two weeks after the rest of the world has seen it.

I think what upsetting is her that u don't have a job...maybe uskae friends usko tease kartae hoon kai tumarae husband tumari kaamai kaha raha hai etc.. u know wht i mean.. ho sakta hai...

try to find a job...i m sure u will find one...

btw, how long u been married?

do u guys go out for movies, gathering etc....ya phir sif fighting hee hoti hai...

ya phir wife kuch ziada apae sai bahir ho rahi... :P control her..hehee

I agree with Mamaof3. Things that go between a husband and wife should stay between them, and i am not just talking about bedroom stuff. I would hate it if my husband ran to his mother with every problem we had between us. Mothers are partial to their own kids and even if she tries not to, your mother will be partial to you.

I think your biggest problem is lack of communication. You need to tell your wife about your problems, not your mother.

oh man so many replies, ok i will handle them one by one, give me some time to breath but I am exteremly surprised that no one is seeing my point of view. Is there no one who can see my side of things?

also people, why is everyone hell bent on me getting a job? Why do you thing such roles are defined? I have cooked and will jump to get in the kitchen myself if needed, it is just that my cooking or my job is not needed. Why do you think a woman needs to cook and a man needs to earn? I thaught I was the Pakistani jatt. haha