I call mine ammiji but recently started calling her maan-ji like my husband. It doesn't feel weird for me to do so since I call my real mom 'mom.' Maybe I would feel differently if I were from a desi family. My husband calls my parents mom and dad so I guess the reverse is true for him.
Re: girls.......
My wife calls my parents Ammi Jaan and Abbu jaan .... seem like I am only non-jaan in there :(
before i called my MIL by her name (she asked for it) ... and now that my fiance and i are about to be married ... she opened the option for me to call here mama. and i took it.
so now i call her mama ... just like i call my own mother mama.
it was strange at first .... but it gets more and more comfortable.
Re: girls…
I call my mum, Mummy and address my fiance’s mum as “your mum”, It might change to ammi once i m married but dont really like the idea ![]()
My wife calls my parents Ammi Jaan and Abbu jaan .... seem like I am only non-jaan in there :(
im sure u r wabaa-le-jaan :D ... yeh lamba hai na..issiliye shayyed aapki begum pahle ke alfaaz skip ker dayti hain
and on topic... for us "aunty" works
I call her aunty too. My sis's mil insisted her from the very first day to call her ammi,which my sister does say but not still comfortable about it
i call her aunty cuz calling her ammi just isnt comfy for me.. but its slowly seeping in .. lately when im just really into my work and cant find something i will call out to her and instead of saying aunty i say ammi... take a min and then say aunty.. happened so much so i may just start calling her ammi in a few yrs... its just natural i guess... she isa motherly fig.. u rely on moms when ure sick, happy, cant find something.. so its just basic instinct.. i wouldnt worry bout it.. just calsl her what u are comfy with and rest will follow :)
yup i call her aunty as well .. she is very sweet though and very loving .. sometimes voices in my head start telling me to call her mom, but , I am too shy to get too close yet ...
I'm not married yet, but when I am I will call m-i-l whatever feels right.
I call her "aunty" right now but after shaadi.... I don't know. My fiance calls his mom "mom" ..but I can't imagine calling her that because I call my own mom "mom". My fiance says the same thing vice versa. lol.
I call my MIL aunty.. I feel kinda awkward calling her mom but I guess its just cuz im not married yet..just engaged. After marriage, things might change.
im sure u r wabaa-le-jaan :D ... yeh lamba hai na..issiliye shayyed aapki begum pahle ke alfaaz skip ker dayti hain
.... and on topic... for us "aunty" works
ur mom is ammi but mother in law ammi gggggg
hehehe