Girls working after marriage?

Hello guys :smiley: I just wanted opinions on what you guys think about women working after marriage? I mean I’m personally becoming a pharmacist, so I most definitely want to work after I get married inshallah.

But my cousin sister who is a doctor says its one of the most difficult things to do. To balance married life and work, shes also recently had a baby :slight_smile: but she actually contemplates on whether to go back to work or not.

What do you guys think? Any personal experiences of girls who still continued working or if they gave up working? :slight_smile:

I am a girl I am married and have two kids, and I work.

O wait, no I am not

Re: Girls working after marriage?

why bother :smack:

Come on people enough with this stuff. The last few weeks have been only about divorce, women working, inlaws, sex and virgins. Isn't there anything interesting left. Reminds of Oct 2011 when everyone was talking about impregnating and stuff here on Life and Relationships
Lakin apni apni choice hai. Lage raho sab.

In my defense I haven't been on here for ages so didn't get a chance to see the rest of the threads lol
Now that I'm reading the threads I guess there is alot on here about this

Sorry for that rudeness. It's just it's the same constant loop again and again.

Lol it's okay!
I just thought it would be interesting to hear others opinion on this matter, but I truly see this topic already repeated on gs, that too quite alot,

I think you should go for it Safaa. Im sure it makes for interesting dinner time convo. and if the husband and family are supportive and help with things it doesn't make it impossible. However, i am a single female with no plans to marry in the next 2 years till i settle so maybe im not the best person. It is the criteria i give my parents for when they ask to search for someone for me. That the person is ok with me working and is willing to share household responsibilities.

Aisi baatein yahan hui thi about virgins aur woh saab? shocked yeh toh bahut shareef jage hai.

safaa: Plenty of topics get repeated on this forum so it's not a big deal. Nothing wrong with the question you posed.

As for your question itself.....this is a individual matter b/t each couple. I'm married & have a full time job (no kids). My husband has no problem with me working. Since my husband is supportive, I don't have any issues balancing my work/family roles. I receive plenty of help from my husband when it comes to household chores and other errands.

As for life after children....of course at that time things change. I know women who put their career on hold until the kids were 4/5 years old and then went back to work once they started school. But most women I know went back after their maternity leave and get child care help from other family members OR daycare OR personal nanny. Again....it all depends on what a couple decides works best for them.

Not sure if you're already engaged but since you want to continue to work after marriage....I recommend you bring up this topic with a potential rishta and see how he feels.

women have been working and raising kids for generations. do you think you might be deficient in some way?

your cousin had a baby and wonders if she shouldnt work anymore? what will she do in say 3-4 years when baby goes to school?

I would let my wife work....in the kitchen. Personally I would only want a housewife.

One thing I will say is that after marriage, home responsibilities increase a lot. At least I perceived that. Before marriage I worked full time and while I did help around the house, my mom was the one that cooked dinner daily, and for me the nightly duty of cleaning up after dinner seemed relatively minor. Then on the weekend I'd take a morning and clean the whole house, which was fine because once I was done, I was DONE. I was not a super neat person.

Upon getting married this past year, it feels like everything has changed. Even though my husband helps A LOT, it still feels overwhelming to work for 10+ hours a day, then come home and prepare dinner, cleanup, grocery, laundry, housecleaning, etc. My brother in laws live with us while my parents in law are in Pakistan, so I feel like I'm mothering children because they leave their stuff everywhere and it drives me crazy because I do not think they contribute anything to the housework.

Once the household duties are your responsibility, it's a big change, especially in my case living with inlaws. If perhaps it was just me and my hubby, I could afford to take more lazy days with dinners out, etc, and my hubby carries his weight with home duties so that'd be fine. But with having more responsibilities to inlaws now it puts more responsibility on me.

The point of the above rant is that I feel life can change pretty drastically after marriage, depending on your personal situation. For me, the constant routine of work plus managing a home resulted in me feeling so overwhelmed that I've recently requested to switch my job to part-time, just so that I can have more time to have a life outside of work. Mind you, I don't love my job so I'm okay with working there less, and thankfully the reduction in salary will not affect our living standards so I have the flexibility to do this. I would never have imagined doing this before marriage, but I just have so many responsibilities now that I don't have time to myself anymore, and going part time is how I choose to balance things.

If you want to work, work. My hubby is 100% supportive of me whether I choose to work full time or stay at home full time. If you have support and can balance it, that's great. I think what your cousin sister is trying to tell you is that life changes a lot after marriage, you have more responsibility, thus managing a full time job can become harder. But everything is what you make of it.

Only a select few families don't like girls working after marriage but most are fine with it. So yeah work after marriage is fine.

I live in south florida. We get hurricanes. In my lifetime, there has been ONE category 5 hurricane, and it leveled Homestead, FL - Hurricane Andrew.

But EVERYONE has insurance for hurricane coverage and everyone has invested in some good hurricane shutters, and has a back up plan on what to do if hurricane category 5 comes through here again.

Now, divorces are WAAAAY more common, even in our community, than category 5 hurricanes. But there is this CONSTANT desire on the part of the community - men and women - to discourage women from working or at least obtaining an education and SOME work experience.

Just always remember, a divorce can devastate a woman. Worse if you have kids, and no back up plan, no employment options, esp if you are living abroad, and I would say it can be pretty bad even in Pakistan if you’re without much support.

I have one friend that divorced a guy when she was in residency, and he took half her money in the settlement - half of the wealth that her FATHER gifted her, because of the state laws. She was left devastated, but, she had her job. And she’s fine now, and re-married.

I have another friend now, who is divorced, and her divorce happened during grad school, and she lost her position there. So now, divorced, and jobless, and getting a job is hard at this point. Healthcare fields can be bad, if you fail and are not passed in a school, you can’t get admission elsewhere, and the record follows you.

You’re in pharm. Let’s say, you get into pharmacy school, and you get married DURING pharmacy, and your husband cheats on you, or his family gives you grief, etc etc. And you’re going through separation/divorce. Let’s leave kids out, that complicates things. You are at HIGH RISK for failure, because the focus you need for school - you wont have. You lose the pharmacy school gig, you cannot apply for another pharmacy school position, because you will have to declare that you went to this prior pharm school and they kicked you out.

Same goes for jobs. Your cousin who is a doc, if she is burnt out, and she keeps practicing, all it takes is one lawsuit, or one bad year and getting fired from a job, and she is knee deep in crap, because in these health fields, you cannot HIDE an experience. You CAN’T hide a job, people will make phone calls and find out what happened. They’ll call your prior contacts, and they will say “Well she was going to pharmacy school, what happened?”, and then the truth will come out, so you can’t even lie about it.

Plus with providors and even now pharmacists, NP’s, PA’s - there are full databanks tracking all activity - and if there is a problem with a license, you’re named in a malpractice suit, you got fired, you were on probation in your school, DOWN TO MINOR ACADEMIC DIFFICULTIES - will be known to ALL. And later on, it will be HARD to find a job. Especially when your husband and his family dump your behind on a sidewalk, which sometimes, they will do.

I have lots of horror stories.

The above is just an example of what happens if you’re married DURING your schooling, and what can go wrong. Not saying you should not do marriage plus school at the same time.

And if you don’t even go to pharmacy school and you get rishta-fied and sit at home, all it takes is one divorce or a disability in your spouse and you’ll be crying why you did not pursuit the pharmacy offer.

Pharmacists have stable careers, you’re employed for life, and low liability, you’re not perscribing narcotics if you aren’t comfy with it, and you get great benefits and awesome hours. The pharmacist I talk to at Target around here goes home at like 3 pm. So ample time to fit in a family life. And flexible hours. :k:

Plus, there is a whole line of academic pharmacists who do research and teach in medical facilities, so it can be a pretty exciting job.

All, I'm saying is, in Florida, we get hurricane insurance, even if there is a 1/30 year chance of a category 5 hurricane. Divorces are more common. Make sure you're insured.

Can it be done? Yes

Is it hard? Yes

How hard? Depends on how cooperative ur future spouse is and how much u love what u do

D2LK syndrome

So RS like i was saying girls should work after marriage because it keeps your mind busy, makes you learn how to multitask, and its important to get a bit of Vit D. Doing housework all day may inhibit that process. The only time you might get to go out might be at night and you might only see the chand whose moonlight will not give you Vit D. We think there are only 24 hours a day, but think of it this way there is actually 1440 minutes or 86400 seconds each day. Each second we could be having a valuable thought or doing something memorable.

So many of our talented mods multitask and manage work/life balance so well such as Paheliji as mentioned earlier in the thread. Paheliji karti hain to sahi hoga. Right hoga. After doing all that multitasking she still manages to do an impeccable job as moderator with her microscopic vision for detail and editing prowess.

[NOTE]Please stick to the thread topic. Thank you. [/note]