How normal is it for a girl to tell her parents to send proposal /to initiate a dialog with certain family ? Is it too odd?
Hazrat Khadija (May Allah be pleased with her sent a proposal to Prophet Muhammad/ initiated the dialog.discuss.
How normal is it for a girl to tell her parents to send proposal /to initiate a dialog with certain family ? Is it too odd?
Hazrat Khadija (May Allah be pleased with her sent a proposal to Prophet Muhammad/ initiated the dialog.discuss.
Re: Girls sending rishtas to guys
In Islamic culture its normal , in Pakistani culture may be not . But dropping a hint isn't too bad of an idea . I think girl's parents do it quite often , or they involve some other member of extended family to do it for them . Perfectly fine thing .
As Nami said, it's not a gunnah in Islam for a woman to propose. But it's a taboo in Desi culture........and is not overly acceptable even in Western culture. That said, there are other more subtle ways to display an interest......and that way it's can be less embarrassing if the interest is not reciprocated.
^ Have you realized that just by saying ''as nami said'' , can save you a lot of typing ? :@:
Usually the girl's parents dont do it themselves, a third person is picked up for this who knows both the parties
Be grateful I even acknowledged that you’re right. ![]()
Yup usually first step to submission ![]()
they do it all the time.. in fact theyr even agresive about it at times in pAk!
yeah just b/c islam allows it, doesn't mean the culture accepts it. unfair yes, but not uncommon. I agree with soni, people don't do it directly but sometimes are pretty aggressive about dropping hints, especially if the guy is pretty eligible. people might talk.
i would not tell my parents to approach the guy's family, but if i'd liked a guy i would've told him and asked him to send his parents IF he liked me too.
oooh i like that!
you know it looks really bad if the girl's family asks the guy's family in pakistani culture. they should get a third person to be the person in the middle... someone came to my mom once and she was like i want your son to marry my daughter... and yaar, my mom sooo paki... i mean, she knows her pakistani traditions.. she said no. and then she called my aunt and she was like" what was that all about? doesn't she know how its done pakistan??? she should have gotten someone else to do the asking!" she wasn't happy. lol
Amongst the ppl we know it's considered normal and no big deal, my brother got tons of proposals and no-one batted an eyelid. If I'd been interested in some random desi guy I saw at a gathering I'd have told my parents to set the wheels in motion as well :D
heheh! ya Allah! Yeh zamana ko kya hogaya?
hmmm well my parents talked to my boyfiends family...maybe cos we were family friends it wasnt so official
well i wud say the guy to approach
is maamlay mein gents first!!!!!!
well i wud say the guy to approach
is maamlay mein gents first!!!!!!
yeah man! i agree! guys should approach not the girls!
hehehe
imagine the guy later telling his kids "tumharee mummy came to my parents and asked for my hand in marriage or mera parents to yes bole!" lolololol how romantic!! hahahaaaaaa
haan na, it will look kinda weird and the kids will say mom to kaafo mod thi us zamanay mein ![]()
its normal unless you don't make fuss out of it ..
and here is the fuss i was talking about ..