Gifts from Pakistan

Anytime family comes here to America, I shudder at the thoughts of what gifts I’m going to get. They always ask, and I always say, don’t send anything.

But they still do.

They’re not very rich, and so they’ll send the cheapest crap ever…and I’ll be like…honestly?

If I say jewelry (artificial) - they’ll send karay that are meant for a 3 yr old. I don’t know what the going rates in Pakistan are anymore, but honestly, just don’t send anything if you can’t afford it.

They keep insisting, and so before they bring something retarded yet again, I gave them a list of cd’s (even though I can download this junk).

What do you guys ask for from Pakistan?

I’m not asking for clothes this time, because again, they screw up by sending me cheap crap, and I end up never wearing it. We strictly told them no clothes this time. I haven’t even worn all the clothes I had made.

Re: Gifts from Pakistan

The only thing I ask for is food like mitahi and dry fruit.

PCG you’re so funny :omg:

I don’t ask for anything. I’d rather go to PAK myself and buy stuff. My khalas have good taste in clothes so if I do get sthg. it’s clothes People who get me crappy things I give them to my servant’s wife in Pak

I ask for Shawls, Khussey, Chooriyan, Paan Masaley, Mithai, Butt ka Gajar ka halwa, Mehndi, Glitter Mehndi, Fake DVDs, Pakistani Dramay on DVDs, Pakistani mixtape cds, Pizza from my own restaurant, Capri ki dhai pakoriyan dried, and ichrey se juttiyan. Fancy chappals from Milli. ETC ETC ETC.

Mama not everone has time or spare cash to go to Pakistan just to make a wardrobe. Until another baby is born, I have no reason to go back there.

Ask for mithahi. Just tell them that Aunty/Uncle .. yahan har cheez mil jaate hai, bu achchi mithai nahi milti ... it will be easy on their budget too.

mithai or 'kaanch ki chooriyan'

can they carry mithai in their luggage? I thought it was an issue now because of threats to international security.

easy, ask for specific books.
they are not too expensive, there is no issue with fit or fabric or style
not too tough to pack or bring

chilgozay

I ask for Rugs, and Leather Jackets.

Thats about it....

Nothing else in Pakistan where there isnt a better version found in the West.

last time i asked for 50 jars of anne french. i couldn't find it here....

whats anne french

kya yaad dilwa diya :biggthumb:

I don't need to ask and my phuppos send me 3 kurtas each at every chance they get.

Hahahaha. That's cuz you are a child!!

Rugs? Not a bad idea but their taste is horrible and rugs are heavy. They have issues with paying for each luggage now...

Haha pcg

and LOL just read the chilgozay post. hahaha

I ask for urdu books/chilghozey/Pecan Halva (from specific shop)

PCG you can always use it in Washroom if there taste is horrible :) no one is going to brinf 10x10 rug for you most probably its going to 4x5 or something

Aisha pizza Dubai main nahin milta kia jo Pak se mangwti ho :p

My mum loves them too :)

U have to try the pizza from K&Q it is really different. Nothing like it :)