Re: Gift when going over to someone's home
I only take edibles or plants in such cases.
Nothinf for the house.. Who knows how much of what yhey already have :o
I only take edibles or plants in such cases.
Nothinf for the house.. Who knows how much of what yhey already have :o
We usually just bring a cake from the bakery with us. If it's a housewarming party it's another story. We buy whatever is on their registry or if they don't have one we just buy what we think they might like.
I wish I had read all your replies before going to the store.
We bought a cake serving dish and they served us cake in the same one we had got. ![]()
Lesson learnt, we are doing flowers next time. Bas keh diya.
That means they actually needed it badly !
No they had one just like the one we bought. We got something according to their taste
Haha.... :D well atleast u k ow the taste matches :D
A little off topic but if u bring food/cake over to someone's house..is it rude if they dont' serve it?
No, I don't think it's rude. Let the host decide.
Re: Gift when going over to someone’s home
No, i don’t think it’s rude.. but i usually do put it out along with the ‘meetha’ i made unless i made two desserts then there is no need for a third one.. ![]()
Oh ![]()
When I was really young (7-8 yrs old), we would go to this auntys house…parents would take a cake and since I was a major cow I looooooorved cake…I’d look forward to eating it at the davat. But aunty would just stick it in her fridge, and we’d be stuck with all the desi balh blah blah sweets ![]()
Never came across this situation again, so was just curious.
i knowwww.. i have always wondered that... i think it depends on culture.
when i moved here..i found out its rude if you dont offer whatever the guests have brought! i thought it was a gora thing but the desis too... if someone brings home stuff like baked goods etc.. u feed them that ! plus whatever else you have made.
i was raised to think its rude.. like.. khud kuch nahi banaya.. doosray ka laya rakh diya samnay.
So we are invited to hubbys ex colleagues home for chai. They live in another city and we will visit them when we go there. I have met his wife once and she is nice but due to lack of time and my busy schedule I couldn't keep in touch with her so don't know her too well. We would like to take something to their place. Pls give some suggestions. I usually do home baked goodies ad presents but can't do that coz we are staying with friends.
NO cake and no mikasa please :(
this is colleague house and depends if person is Gora or no. Then different rules apply.
Let say you are going to someone's house for Iftar. Then I absolutely hate when ppl bring cake. It is such an impersonal item and what I am going to do with 10 store bought cakes. I do give a few to the neighbors or send it with hubby to work. I would much rather prefer some type of household gift that can used or regifted. There is nothing wrong with regifting folks. Most of us get invited to other ppl's houses or we visit them for different occasions.
What I usually do is make some homemade Iftari and take to someone's house even though it is not a potluck. I have seen that that is appreciated much more than store bought cake.
Any thoughts on this topic?
Impersonal is an interesting way to describe a cake...
Imagine getting ten cakes and keeping them out for guests. None of them get finished especially during Ramadan when everybody is in hurry to get to Taravih. What do you do with 10 half eaten cakes? Nobody wants to take some with them. Everybody usually wants to take home homemade stuff. While I am writing this an idea suddenly strikes...i goes you could make cake pops with leftover cake.
I take the cake.
I always take the cake. :hinna:
Oh I love the cake.Bring it over..![]()
That’s a great gesture! Definitely taking something is better not taking anything. A suggestion if possible how about taking fresh fruits or making a fresh fruit platter. This can get pricey I know. In one dinner party I didn’t make dessert thinking that everyone would bring cake or dessert. They all bought household items. I had to make hubby go to store and pick up cake. So cake comes in handy!
Sara - peace. You can bring cake if you come over to my place. I will make cake pops out of it :)
No I mean, I alwyas take hte leftover cake home. :/