Gift Ideas...

Does anybody know of any good gift ideas that one could bring from Pakistan…my relatives in Pakistan keep asking me to give them an idea of what to bring for me, their already bringing clothes, any other ideas? What would you order?

More clothes :)
Also cds/dvds.

For me, it would have to be a churiyan stand. They have some really nice and intricately carved ones in Pakistan. You can't find stuff like that here ..... at least, I haven't seen them.

Urdu books of poetry along with a good Urdu-English dictionary.

Chooriyan! Also ask for the latest sort of jewelry, coloured ones with rhinestones that sparkle like crazy!

Mehnaz don't you get tired of dusting the bangles once you put them on a stand. Or do you cover them with some sheer plastic? Heyactually thats not a bad idea. I should put the bangles back on the stand and try it myself!

vcd/dvds of pakistani movies

shawls?

artificial jewelry or hair accessories (they have so many nice, elegant styles, and it's so cheap!)

pirated DVDs or CDs of the latest in American/Pakistani/Indian movies and dramas?

marble decorative pieces?

1) Bakri
2) manjan
3) lungi
4) Lota
5) patang
6) chakhee
7) manjhee/charpai
8) sindhi topi
9) dugdugi
10) lattoo
11) niswaar
12) rikshaw
13) miswaak
14) iter
15) surma

enjoy

I need two shawls. Anyone going to Pakistan???

Chalgozay.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

6) chakhee

9) dugdugi

14) iter

Pir Sahab, baqi sabb to mein samajh gayee thie.. but what are these? :o

Femme, I always keep my churiyan in their original plastic covering … even after I wear them, I am very particular about making sure they are wrapped up properly afterwards. With the stands, it is very easy to keep the plastic on them (just slide the pole through the middle). On top of that, I keep a plastic sheet over the stand to cover them.

Nowadays, they have some really nice glass stands. I like the wooden ones better though.

Paki Maryam, ask for some food too. Habshi halwa, laal roti, chilgoze, sohn halwa … the list is never ending. :yummy:

Re: Gift Ideas...

*Originally posted by paki maryam: *
Does anybody know of any good gift ideas that one could bring from Pakistan...

An authentic Afghan rug. I read somewhere that all the authentic Afghan rugs are now made in Pakistan. :)

1) Bakri
2) manjan
3) lungi
4) Lota
5) patang
6) chakhee
7) manjhee/charpai
8) sindhi topi
9) dugdugi
10) lattoo
11) niswaar
12) rikshaw
13) miswaak
14) iter
15) surma

enjoy

I see, sub apni apni pasandeeda cheezayn bata rahay hayn :)

iter = oil based “perfumes”
dugdugi = a small “can” to shake ‘dice’ when playing “Ludo” (don’t tell me you don’t know what Ludo is :mad: )
chakhee = desi equipment used to “grind” wheat to get flour

clear?

Fraudia: Did you mean “chakhee” or “charkhee”?

Whatever he meant… he is not getting it :snooty:

Clothes, choorian, CDs/DVDs of Pakistani or Indian music/movies, etc.

1) Bakri
2) manjan
3) lungi
4) Lota
5) patang
6) chakhee
7) manjhee/charpai
8) sindhi topi
9) dugdugi
10) lattoo
11) niswaar
12) rikshaw
13) miswaak
14) iter
15) surma

enjoy

How about langgaree gotna?

As much as I’d like a new wardrobe, I think they’ve already got me enough to satisfy that request. CD’s are a good idea, it slipped my mind, good idea. :flower1:

I already have a churiaan stand but I ordered churiaans. :flower1: