I wanted some opinions. Pakistan has always been proud of it’s defence and army. We are the country that fought battles with India and won. So, the attack on GHQ, what was on my mind is that it is the Army Headquarters and the security is supposed to be so tight. Yet terrorists were able infiltrate it and hold hostages as well. Who is to blame here? How were they able to even get that far, where they did get? Why were 10 lives of innocent soldiers lost yesterday? ( Inna Lillahi Wainna Ilaihi Rajeoon )
Should the Pakistani public be afraid? It was the third militant attack in Pakistan in one week and that also at the HQ. What is next?
I wanted some opinions. Pakistan has always been proud of it's defence and army. We are the country that fought battles with India and won. So, the attack on GHQ, what was on my mind is that it is the Army Headquarters and the security is supposed to be so tight. Yet terrorists were able infiltrate it and hold hostages as well. Who is to blame here? How were they able to even get that far, where they did get? Why were 10 lives of innocent soldiers lost yesterday? ( Inna Lillahi Wainna Ilaihi Rajeoon )
Should the Pakistani public be afraid? It was the third militant attack in Pakistan in one week and that also at the HQ. What is next?
I really believe that the security personel in pakistan are not professional enough and they do not have the state of the art equipments to deal contain the devilish terrorists.
I think the army should be vigilant.
There is also role to be played by the public to allert the police or special force to deal with the terrorist attackers. There should be a special NATIONAL nr. where people of Pakistan should call for free whenever they notice something fishy going on.
For example the neighbours of the GHQ building in Rawalpindi saw many movements of double cabin cars and people unlaoding material but did not do anything to allert the authorities.
I think the stupid (sorry nothign personal) government needs to educate the awaam and ask them to keep watch in their neighbourhood.
So you mean something like homeland security in Pakistan where people are trained to keep an eye out in their neighbourhoods for something dodgy? That is really weird and sad at the same time that people did not report suspicious movements and activities outside the GHQ to the authorities.
Yaar people need to be educated by the media and by going to the neighbourhood.
Yes neighbourhood watch is an idea.
I mean we have to learn from the West they are good in this believe me
(i am sure i have made many GS memebers very happy with my comments lolz) Yes West has lot of expertise in this and also in the West they spend millions in awareness campaign to tell the population to be on their toes.
Just a little example, have you seen PTV these days? They are promoting the idea of peace and anti-terrorism. They have come out with catchy promos and this drama called Khuda Zameen Se Gaya Nahi Hai and it shows the Pakistani Army battling the Taleban in Pakistan. It is a step forward at least? I know West is advanced and we must learn from them. Take the good things and keep the bad things away.
RAWALPINDI: Muhammad Aqeel alias Dr. Usman, heading the gang of terrorists attacking GHQ, is also involved in several heinous incidents, who is now finally caught in the clutches of the heavy hands of law.
Coming from Tehsil Kahota of Rawalpindi, Muhammad Aqeel alias Dr. Usman is the former sepoy of Army Medical Store. He was the mastermind and leader of the gang of terrorists, who had attacked the Sri Lankan cricket team and, thereafter, Aqeel alias Usman along with the accomplices avoiding arrest had fled to Waziristan. Aqeel accused of planning attack on the former President Pervez Musharraf was also wanted in the case.
Lahore police said that Aqeel alias Dr. Usman belonged to Punjabi Tahrik-e-Taliban, which was set up three/four years ago and it had close ties with Baitullah Mehsud. The police had arrested a member of Punjabi Tahrik-e-Taliban, Zubair alias Nek Muhammad involved in June 18 attack on Sri Lankan cricket team, who had made starling disclosures about Aqeel alias Dr. Usman.
There is no defense against the situation when our religion is being abused by the terrorists.
You have to keep an eye on every mosque, every madrassah, and every Mullah.
There is no way in heck the terrorists can start a journey from the f'd in the @r$e Tribal Area aka FATA and come all the way to Pindi without local support.
And guess what?
---- the "local support" comes from the three places just mentioned above
The 3 M's --- Mosque, Madrassah, and Mullah.
Only when we strictly control 3Ms, that we'll have some semblance of of peace.
Otherwise we are doomed as a country.
And
Hamari dastan tuk na hogi dastano Main.
And
People from the rest of the world will say, Pakistanis had it good, until the 3Ms destroyed them from within.
Oh ok so he is in custody now. That is good, just one pawn of the chessboard right? We have to still clear the board in order to totally eradicate this menace from Pakistan.
I think the Mosque from the 3M should remain because we indeed need to still be muslims and stay true to our religion but the other two Ms the Madrassah and the Mullas should be taken care of. They are giving a bad name to my religion and they think they can take Islam in to their own hands and do whatever they like.
Agreed.
By the way, no body says to destroy the mosques. Mosques should be strictly controlled and heavily regulated.
Free hand and free money being given to the mosques is a HUGE source of terrorist evil.
Sorry Burqaposhx I think I jumped to conclusions and became judgemental and thought for some reason mosques could be destroyed. Definitely they should be controlled and regulated. Every big mosque needs security, just like I have seen in the Middle East.
No army is invincible, esp not when it has support from other sources. I have stated before logistically it is impossible for the Taliban to create new weapons/ammo and produce C4 or even TNT in their enviornment. The requirements to produce weapons have to be done in factories with machinary not with human hands.
I have already stated that logistics of having 10,000 men in a very small area, requires a considerable amount of funding.
They are well armed. They are well trained, and they are getting financial and material support from external sources. Its rather hard to fight the Taliban if you can't cut off their supply chain.
Some people in media have been calling it a security lapse but i think this criticism is unjust. They never managed to get even close to main GHQ. The hostage situation too was in area near second check post and it was handled professionally.
The terrorists made it to the intelligence wing building and Brig. Anwar ul haq was killed here …considering that there was prior information that there was going to be an assualt on GHQ … this would be a monumental security lapse
When Brigadier ul-Haq heard shooting, he interrupted a conference he was conducting and went into the corridor with an aide, according to the relatives’ accounts. When he saw a man in military uniform with his back turned to him, the brigadier told him to flee, but instead, the man turned around and shot the brigadier, the relatives said