Ghar se Bhagi hui Aurat!

Is it still a taboo, when a girl leaves home to get married with a guy she loves?

Do such ladies still face wrath of society and in-laws?

Do you see any change in ratio of such ladies (leaving their homes), after society gradually started accepting love marriages?

When society have accepted love marriages why do girls have to run away from homes?

Bhagna to tab parta hy jab sab against hun.

Re: Ghar se Bhagi hui Aurat!

At the end your loving parent, who she leaves for the sake of unknown and strange, they keep you her at their home as they used to, they support her, they face all the priblem she leaves behind but still parents even after pain, they love her as they do, i think its decreasing. May Allah safeguard us Ameen

This is so painful reality of the society!

true. but I think there is a shift in society when it comes to marriages outside biradri. This might have change the ratio of such ladies.

True that. There is this story by Ahmed Nadeem Qasmi 'Sat-Bhirai' sister of seven brothers. Set in rural Punjab, the family is quite conservative and follow traditions like girls should not leave home after maghrib. Their voice should not cross ghar ki dehleez. Finally, the girl left teh home, when she was getting married to another guy. Maa baap gave lot of bad-duas but when they knew that she gave birth to a child, they happily goes to meet her in another village.

Yes, this is so real, its exactly happens in the society, sometimes bradari waghera ka chakkar na bhi ho tab bhi, muhabbat andhi hoti hy and you get blind ,astaghfirullah!! On the other hand too mich restriction achi cheez nahi yeh bhi, app kisi ko acha bura batasakty hain, magar zabardasti nhi karni chahye, if parents get agree who she loves to marriage at first, so nothing can go wrong, at the end they have to accept the marriage!

But what is problem in Pakistan
Nearly every body is muslim and muslim marrying another muslim should not be a problem???

should not be a problem, but is a problem due to different divisions based on ethnicity, sects, social / financial differences, etc

The topic reminds me of a saying one of my uncle often utters:

Ghar se bhagi hwi larki aur bahar nikli hwi tond/pait...............Kabhi wapas ander nai jate!!!

But miracles do happen in both cases :)

I think it is very much still a taboo at least in the more traditional families, not just in Pakistan but also among Pakistanis in the west. Recently heard about someone being unwelcome at her parents' home because she had a court marriage with the man of her choice.

That said, the ratio seems to have gone down now that men and women both are becoming more independent and having more of a say in whom they marry.

But I think in west, society as a whole doesn't consider it a taboo. right?

Here we even hear taunts for 'Maryam Nawaz' from her political rivals, even though her family has accepted her marriage.

In rural areas, the result is pretty much the death of the girl.

sometimes, it lead to kidnapping of ladies from guy's house as well, as a revenge (I think this is more dangerous revenge than PPP's democracy).

I think the topic is strongly linked with education. And thats why we see the worse results in rural areas.

Well if education is in the picture it'll be less likely to elope itself as things may get settled with negotiations and talking.

Secondly it becomes more disaster when it comes to "traditions" and we can only break the barrier of these traditions with education.

Btw, does anyone remember the famous case of Afridi tribe's girl eloping with the nephew of Kanwar khalid younus (then MNA of MQM) in karachi?

What was that case? I know it becomes quite complicated if political parties have some links in these incidents.

reminds me of Maryam running away with Major/Col. Safdar...Mr. Safdar is NOT given any job in government. he also wasn't seen in his inauguration and/or any state-level functions.

looks like, he has NOT been 'dil se' accepted in the family yet.

I heard that guy was in love with Pathan girl of Afridi tribe… Girl and boy family live in same area…

I don’t know that if he was the same guy as you are making reference. Guy was about to killed by girl’s father, brother and relative. :hmmm:

Yes its the same. They both lived in D-silva town in North Nazimabad. I used to live very close to it. It sparked so much anger that it was very close to mohajir-pathan riots. The couple was quitely moved abroad courtesy of MQM fellas who managed this entire thing without any public statements, opposite to what they normally do. Pathans on the other side were very vocal

MQM never bring politics in such cases where matter is related to wedding because it hurts the party credibility… :hmmm:

aur bhatta chanda aur na maloom afraad par unko credibility ka ehsas nahi… :hmmm: