I had this discussion on chat with a friend, and she said that girls don t want/like long engagements for like example 5 years
Now I was wondering why not?
I know men have problems controlling their hormones, but is that the only reason?
I mean cant they wait for like 4/5 years and then get married?
Or are they just shallow and cant wait :o ( or am I being shallow )
I mean its not that long, and if one loves another/cares why not wait till time is right?
I agree with your friend. If you are around a girl you really like, chances are you wont wait to wait 5 years, neither would the girl.
However, it CAN happen, but I dont think many girls would like to wait that long, nor their parents. Especially girls today. We've all heard about 15 year engagements in the past, but its not so common today.
*Originally posted by Munni: *
I agree with your friend. If you are around a girl you really like, chances are you wont wait to wait 5 years, neither would the girl.
However, it CAN happen, but I dont think many girls would like to wait that long, nor their parents. Especially girls today. We've all heard about 15 year engagements in the past, but its not so common today.
Like I said na, If I she asks me to wait for 10 years I ll wait then :o If she really wants to wait, or if there is no other option
but apparently I m the only one who thinks like that :D
Personally i m soo not for long engagements..the whole gettin to kno process.. an in the 4-5 yr engagment... u get to kno the person.. an after 3.5 yrs u realizee ahhh this person is SOOOOOOO not for me.. n u break it of.. waste of time... shaddi ke baad to banda phir bhi compromise ker hi leta hai..
Why would anyone want to be engaged for more then 2 years? I mean thats crazy. I see it this way if a person wants to get married, then that means they are stable enough to get married, so why a long engagment? I for one perfer a year tops. Only b/c its just enough time to do and get everything ready and 2nd no need to long engagments.
long enagements SUCK, especially if you have been going out with your fiance for 4 years!! I will be engaged 2 and 1/2 years before my wedding!! :-(
if its an arranged marriage, then i think the engagement should be at least 1 year so that way they can at least figure out if they are even compatible or not!
*Originally posted by Praetextatus: *
Like I said na, If I she asks me to wait for 10 years I ll wait then :o If she really wants to wait, or if there is no other option
but apparently I m the only one who thinks like that :D
*Originally posted by Deviliciousss: *
Personally i m soo not for long engagements..the whole gettin to kno process.. an in the 4-5 yr engagment... u get to kno the person.. an after 3.5 yrs u realizee ahhh this person is SOOOOOOO not for me.. n u break it of.. waste of time... shaddi ke baad to banda phir bhi compromise ker hi leta hai..
some times people are concerned that if there too much of a gap between angagement and wedding than the guy or the girl may change their mind. I suppose that can happen
Preaxtatus: Focusing onour desi society and cultural Values...even lifestyles, a long engagement is said to be unsuitable due to the petty issues of both the families.
During the engagemnt, the girl is torn between obeyin both her in-laws and parents (in case of a difference of opinion) and both families do tend to get overwhelmed at lil problems..usually resulting in a break up or tension between the couple which may effect their marotal life later on as well.
So for a Pakistani cultures..long engagements arent that suitable, maximum an year an a half.
Bu tthen it also depends on the families and the values they have.
Hmm, being a finance guy i understand that the longer the tenor, higher the risk premium
Lambay arsay ke chakkaron i mean engagement main thori tension younh hoti hai ke donon aik doosray ko ‘kaafi’ achi tarha samajh jaate hain aur kal ke hoor main insaan ko tension i mean kharabian nazar aane lagti hain…is liay compromise aur adjustment which is generally in order from both the parties may not be there.
Jaldi jaldi game karni chahiay yar…itna risk kaun lay?
Khanzada: Let me help you out chanda. To limit your risk, get some indemnification fom the fiancee in the form of a pre-nup-nup and a chastity belt. And re-insure your risk by getting a hoochie on the side. I also have something on offshore accounts in the caymans with a local vamp to spread the risk, if you are interested. :)