Gettin' Hitched

well salam all,
we are shortly going to chicago inshaAllah, well the thing is there is a family interested in me…but havent seen me in realtime…as you would say. my mom isnt even telling me that the family is going to check me out…just the fact that oh yeh that family will come and meet us. she is so particular on what i will wear and my hijab style for that matter.

its going to be quite awkward…any of you experience this? :snooty:

Re: Gettin’ Hitched

mmm, well mine was more of a surprise :bummer: I’d advise you to wear what you normally wear, whether its sleeveless salwar kameez, jeans n kurta or a hijab, so be it.. Be yourself, dont look like something you think they’d like coz it’d be a lie :slight_smile:

Re: Gettin' Hitched

Well no actually being a guy but I hear my mom and dad holding stratgic meetings disscussing postives and negatives of girl rishtas that they have looked for my mamoo. They do it ever evening after a visit to the larki walons house. Most of what they talk about is:-

1) Attitude of Ghar Wale (Receptive, Warm, Friendly, Hospitable, Indifferent, Uncaring, Cold, etc)

2) Physical Appearance of Gril:- (Impression (modern or paindoo), Looks, Features, Colour, Height etc)

3) Conduct of Girl:- (Shy, Quiet, Accomodating, Chai laee ya nahi, Baat ki ya nahi, etc)

Thats what they always talk about. Finally they chose:-

Very warm and receptive household and slightly shy but not paindoo good-looking girl that did not bring chai.

Good luck!

yeah my mom used to do this especially when it was a family really interested in me and if the guy was a doctor :cb: I dont have any advice to give u cuz a sneaky lil chick i somehow i got out of em ..

^ no chai..? tsk tsk ... :D :p

thank God it never got to that....

^ :smilestar: that comment was meant for pakap…but shrugs oh well..it can be applied to your situation too :smiley:

:hehe: it’s funny how everyone (not just desis) gives priority to doctors

I simply refused to be a showcase trophy for a guy.. so no i havent not and will not ever go through this experience.

My cousins and friends have gone through similar experience.

Everyone sits there and scan you. Guy tries his best to make an eye contact.

YOU get scanned from every angel *grin

• ami ji knows not to ask someone to come over or anything like that my answer will be simply NO.

• but this cousin who stayed at our house for sometime got to know me a little and then kabooom---- i ran away from it as fast as i could

lol we have to meet them regardless...its not something like they will sit and i will come in...ew thats is cheap...i hope its casual dinner :)
cus i would like to see how the guy is...aswell...i have seen him in pics. o.0

thanks for your tips...even though i didnt ask for any lol

no nia...I'm not replying here.

muzna - mein ne kia kar dia?

bbbb- this is not a news section if you didnt post here for our views phir post kio kiyaa?

bbbb thats nice, but dont do anything that u normally wouldnt. Act like yourself.

now for me that would be being completely jungli, so I dont know :-s

why is this whole 'checkin out' thing so limited to physical appearance? what good is the skin color gonna do if the people who are goin to spend their lifetime together don't understand each other? i think parents should let the guy n girl talk on the phone first...if they think they can relate to each other then larkay walay should be asked to come over...otherwise it sounds really awkward n uncomfortable to have a stranger checkin n judging u based on your 'appearance'...physical appearance can be a part but it can never bethe heart of any successful relationship.

well bbbb…i kinna experienced that once..n in ur case, my mom didnt tell me dat they were gonna cum and check me out but rather they r cumin to see us..n then she told me wat to wear..bla bla..i mean i knew wat she was upto!

how embarassin is it when u tell the person whoz being checked out..neway, i personally hate this idea..i mean who cares bout the guy, its all bout how the girl is..so unfair:snooty:

anyway, i got hooked up with my cousin..n thank god for that! and since he’s back home, nothing embarassin hppd..we still talk thru e-mails and phones…

i honestly think that checkin out the girl when the whole guys family is there is very old-fashioned. lets move on…