i don’t know what on earth is wrong with me. But something seriously is not screwed on right with my brain. i am absolutely dead serious. i am not exaggerating.
Someone, a very new friend, recently did something so super nice for me just two days ago. It was totally unasked for, i did not ask for it, i did not hint it, it was entirely out of the blue. It was unbelievably thoughtful and kind, just a friendly gesture. Selfless, nothing was asked for, nothing was expected in return.
What was my response? Nothing. i did not even say ‘thank you’. Instead i kept quiet, questioning inside my mind why he did that, and even suspecting that he wants something. Astaghfirullah. Basically, by my silence, i told that person to get lost; i didn’t use those words of course, but i mean - what would it have killed for me to say ‘thank you’. i just remained silent, i never said a word of thanks.
The friend was so hurt, i could tell…not because i didn’t say thanks, but because i became even more introverted and quiet afterwards. This person has never raised a word against me… and i can’t believe i treated him this way.
What the hell is wrong with me. When someone is being nice to me, i behave mean towards them. When someone is mean to me, i’m nice to them. i think people should be judged from now on whether or not they are mentally fit to have friends…if you need to pass a test to hold a driver’s licence, and you need a construction licence to be able to operate heavy machinery at a construction site, then people like me whose heads are screwed on too tight, should be deemed mentally fit (or not) to be able to have friends. People like me should just not socialize because we clearly lack the moral judgement and moral reasoning to be able to make mature decisions. Why do i always do this, i have no idea. People like me should be exiled to live on some deserted island until we reach that stage where we are able to think maturely.
Reminds me of the time my bhai spent the whole day painting my room, and when he was finished painting I said, "I dont like the color". sigh
As long as you realize you made a mistake, thats what matters now. Try not to make such things a habit. We are all human, and do these things at times. You've apologized, and as a friend, your friend should accept it, and move on. It would be wrong to hang a person for not saying thank you as well.
yaar... i met him in person today na. i said sorry. E-mail par bhi kaha, i said it in person as well.
yaar. Sometimes, jo kar lia hota hai - uss ko miTTaana itna asaan kaam nahin hota. A "sorry" does not always mend fences immediately. Nor does it, especially, make that person feel hunky dory again. Dusray banday ko tau bhi waqt lagta hai, na, to get over being treated like crap.
sigh Lesson learned for next time, i hope, Insha'Allah.
*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
yaar... i met him in person today na. i said sorry. E-mail par bhi kaha, i said it in person as well.
yaar. Sometimes, jo kar lia hota hai - uss ko miTTaana itna asaan kaam nahin hota. A "sorry" does not always mend fences immediately. Nor does it, especially, make that person feel hunky dory again. Dusray banday ko tau bhi waqt lagta hai, na, to get over being treated like crap.
sigh Lesson learned for next time, i hope, Insha'Allah.
I think the lesson should be to instantly learn some coverup schemes.
For example, if it happens again, meet him next day and say "I was so pleasantly shocked on that thing you did yesterday that I was lost for words. To show my appreciation, I have brought this little trinklet for you. Hope you like it." Yada yada yada.
Atleast you realized you made a mistake and even tried to repair the damage if any. This is what that counts. Some poeple dont even realize that they hurt people day in and day out.
Saby, That is extremely thoughtful of you. i really appreciate that comment.
But honestly, i am NOT considerate… believe me. The way i treated this person, it wasn’t justifiable. Anyways i am seeing him tomorrow again and i am making it up to him, Insha’Allah.
>>Some poeple dont even realize that they hurt people day in and day out.<<
True. But some people are like me and they will keep repeating the same mistake.
nadz come on yaar you’re the last person who should be worried about not being considerate if you’re not considerate, then i must be pata naheen kya
hmmm, stuff like this happens with everyone yaar we all get moody sometimes, but friends do understand and forgive, so dont think much abt it
and u know ur point abt being mean to the ppl who r nice to u..u r so right…this is the worst thing that i do many times too i think this is a basic fault that a lot of us commit…
khayr…u r one of the most considerate people on the planet…so dont worry abt this issue