Geoff Lawson is the new Pakistani coach

Re: Breaking News: Geoff Lawson is the new Pakistani coach

Now that we have a bowler as the coach, are we going to hire a batsman to be the batting coach?

nahhh..... chalo ok bracewell, harper, moody, kapil dev and madan lal have coached national sides. However still no *fast *bowler :p

Amal bhai did you get your answer?

must read:

“I don’t put up with stupidities nor do I have time for anything less than the best”

After the doom and gloom of the last few weeks esp. Lal Masjid deaths, a refreshing news. wish Lawson best of luck in his new assignment. It seems the majority of GS people got their wish

Shoaib Akhtar thrilled with choice of coach, says khoob guzray gee jab mil bhetein ge deewane do
http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/302299.html
Shoaib Akhtar, the Pakistan fast bowler, has said that he is delighted by Geoff Lawson’s appointment as national coach, claiming only an Australian can help Pakistan beat the world’s best team.
“I am excited that he is coming to Pakistan, it’s thrilling. He can lift us to that level where we can become world beaters,” said Shoaib. “I have always loved the Australian mentality. They only play to win and even if they lose they put up their best till the end. I am confident that Lawson will help us beat Australia because he will know their weaknesses and strong points.”
Shoaib said that teams from the subcontinent, especially Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, have benefitted from being coached by Australians. Both teams had extended stints with Dav Whatmore.
“Australian thinking is different from the subcontinent,” Shoaib said. “They acquire knowledge about minor things and work on them while subcontinental people think differently.”
Shoaib was confident that Lawson’s presence would help him and all the fast bowlers in the Pakistan line-up. "He is someone who believes fast bowlers can win matches and I will definitely be able to lift the level of my performance under him. Once the fast bowlers deliver the team will benefit.
“Even Steve Waugh and Mark Taylor benefitted from Lawson’s help when they played alongside him in New South Wales, so he must have something which worked.”
Looking ahead to the season, Shoaib said: “This current Pakistan team has a young captain in Shoaib Malik and it has worked extensively to be the fittest. The atmosphere is very good and we are gearing up for the challenges ahead.”
Pakistan have a busy season ahead: they play the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup in September in South Africa, then host South Africa for two Tests and five one-day internationals and tour India for three Tests and five one-day matches.
They also host world champions Australia in March and April next year, a series Shoaib is already looking forward to. “I can’t wait for the Australian series. I want to play in at least one series win over Australia.”

^ AOA Asif...
LTNS
(long time no see :D)

Yeah and now lets see if history proves that we actually knew what we were talking about or we were full of it...
kiya khiyal heay?

^ WA AA, not too bad yaar, just been busy with work etc. lately, looking forward to the India-Eng series which should be close (will get to see some decent cricket atlast) getting cricket-sick a bit, there's either too much of it or very little.... which simply ain't cricket

:D :D wah lawson jee wah....paisaee kay la-luch may kayoon apna berra-gharack karwa rahay ho....Right now,Lawson jee is respected for his deep knowledge of cricket...let him finish the contract of 2 years....he will be half-pagal and a psycho....dear lawson jee, for god sake, get out of this circus or you will suffer for your whole life...kin idiots kay saath involve ho rahay ho....aik to apni jaan say gaya, doosrra kaya suicide karay ga....whoever will get involve with pakistani or indian cricket should be ready for a disaster.... poor lawson..

^ topi waley uncle, joke maara hey? hasna hey kya ab :confused:

Unfortunately, I really mean it…:slight_smile:

:d:D:D

hans lo nikema jee apnay buzurgon pay…:teary1: :teary1: …I wish all the best for lawsone jee leikan kay karoon, after following pakistani cricket for 25 years with so much passion, thorra sa mayoos ho gaya hoon…

Buzurgou…App Tou Bachoun kee Terhaa Mind hee Kaar gaaey Hain…Koi Baat Nahin India-Eng series should be good enough to bring a smile to ur face:D

I know what you are saying about Lawson’s appointment in Pak…I hope this doesnt happen for the sake of Pak cricket.

BTW, “Toopi Waley Uncle” was just pure Awesome:D:D:D:D

Pardon my ignorance but why does the Pakistani team need to have a foreign coach? Can a nation of 170 million with cricket as religion not bring forth a coach?

yaar, that 170 million is already very busy in converting that 170 to 340 million....

Wasn't Mohsin Kamal a coach for Bangladesh?

Thanx for the info fkhan2 :)

Press Conference on Geoff Lawson’s arrival

Media Release - 20 August 2007

An arrival press conference has been arranged for Geoff Lawson, the newly appointed Pakistan Cricket Team Coach on Tuesday, August 21, 2007 at 5:30 pm at National Cricket Academy, Lahore.

All PCB accredited media representatives are requested to kindly attend the conference.

SOURCE: pcboard.com.pk

New coach greeted by loss of four players

Lawson arrives amid unrest

Geoff Lawson arrived in Pakistan late on Monday evening to take over as their eighth different coach (12th appointment) in the last decade amid familiar unrest in Pakistan cricket.

Lawson landed to the news that four Pakistan players had signed on for the Indian Cricket League (ICL) and face the possibility of life bans for doing so. Inzamam-ul-Haq may have been nearing the end of his career, but losing Mohammad Yousuf, Abdul Razzaq and Imran Farhat, could not have the start Lawson was looking for.

Lawson, however, brushed aside the development, saying, “I look forward to meeting the squad soon. Whatever happens, the players who turn up will count for me and not the ones who go and do something else.” Lawson is due to hold a press conference today after joining a Pakistan team training session.

Shoaib Akhtar, a “vital cog” to Pakistan according to Lawson, is also embroiled in another disciplinary battle with the board and there is speculation that another handful of Pakistan players may yet switch to the ICL.

Lawson, who took 180 wickets in a 46-Test career, was a surprise appointment last month, edging out fellow Australians Dav Whatmore and Richard Done, to replace the late Bob Woolmer.

SOURCE: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/story/307609.html

Re: Geoff Lawson is the new Pakistani coach

Lawson in Pakistan

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/2632346cb3c4bebfcd.jpg

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/2632346cb3c617089b.jpg

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/2632346cb3c6eca50c.jpg

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/2632346cb3c79c95f0.jpg

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/2632346cb3c8218c23.jpg

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/2632346cb3c54720da.jpg

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/2632346cb3cbddd40f.jpg