ISLAMABAD: Explosives were found under the vehicle of Geo News’ senior anchor and journalist Hamid Mir in Islamabad Monday, Geo News reported.
According to reports, Hamid Mir went to the nearby market in his car and after returning home, the neighbor’s driver spotted a suspicious bag under his car.
The bomb disposal squad was immediately called in to remove the bag after which it was revealed that the bag contained half kilograms of explosive material that was diffused by the squad.
The material included a battery, a 35 no. detonator and ball bearings.
IG Islamabad assured of registering the case and appropriate investigation of the matter.
Speaking to Geo News Hamid Mir said he would continue to raise his voice for truth and justice.
Mir said he had gone for some work with his driver and parked his car for a little while when the explosives were placed where he sits.
“Its a message to me as well as Geo and the journalist community in Pakistan,” Mir said.
Re: Geo News’ anchor Hamid Mir escapes car bomb plot
Allah rehm kare.
kahin publicity stunt to nahin? Hamid Meer aur sach ki awaz..... Haajmola lao
^ nahi yaar, I think Hamid Mir is a good journalist. Of course everyone has secret agenda and alignments.... But he generally has been okay.
I am glad he is safe.
Ab kam-az-kam aek saal is ka dhandhora peeta jaey ga ![]()
But am glad that he is safe…if it is really authentic.
Bewaqoof tha , Khamoshi say mar jata .
I have much earlier in another thread
A half killo explosive found fixed under car of Hamid Meer with device
No need of comments if you have viewed Hamid Meer talking on Tv last two months .
[Explosives found under Hamid Mir’s car
http://images.geo.tv/updates_pics/11-26-2012_77088_l.jpg](Geo News: Latest News Breaking, Live Videos, World, Entertainment, Royal)
An example
yeah the alleged bomb was allegedly powered by the water kit and snow white and seven dwarfs. are you really going to believe it cos GEO said so? maybe hamid mir will be nominated for nobel peace prize, he is def gonna make it to the FP's top global thinkers list, if malala can make it why cant he :P
Why would anyone attack him? He already supports Taliban.
May be it is a publicity stunt, or may be he is given the message of fate like saleem shahzad.
Cant be certain, but it is bad either way.
glad he is safe.
TTP accepts responsibility of attack bid on Hamid Mir | DAWN.COM
PESHAWAR: Speaking to Dawn.com on Tuesday, Tehrik-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) spokesman Ehsanullah Ehsan claimed responsibility for the attempt to attack senior journalist Hamid Mir a day earlier and warned of more attacks on anyone pursuing the secular agenda.
Ehsan said that Mir was following a secular agenda and was helping those who were working against the principles of Islam adding that their organisation would continue to target all those who were becoming party to propagation against ‘jihad’.
The spokesman of the Pakistani Taliban further said that those targeting the Taliban would be targeted with explosives.
Hamid Mir, a senior Geo TV anchor was returning to his house in the capital on Monday when a bomb was apparently planted while he stopped at a market for a few minutes.
The explosive device in a metal box was found stuck under the front passenger seat of Hamid Mir’s car, city police chief Bani Amin said.
The bomb disposal squad was immediately called, who successfully defused the bomb containing half a kilogram of explosive material.
It seems TTP has started attacking its apologists now, first it was qazi and now hamid Mir.
Taliban had earlier issued a threat against Hamid Mir because he was the one who first introduced Malala in his program.
Taliban issues death threat against two Pakistani TV journalists for condemning the shooting of
slamabad:Taliban leadership have ordered its militants to attack the offices of two top Pakistani TV channels Geo News and ARY and two of its anchormen. The Taliban’s message expressed anger at the TV journalists for their open condemnation of attack on 14 years old Swat girl Malala Yousafzai.Taliban spokesperson Ehsanullah Ehsan sent two long statements to Pakistani media in last two days in which he criticized me and my colleague in Geo TV Dr.Amir Liaqat Hussain in very strong words and declared us enemies of Islam.Ehsan is the same person who accepted the responsibility of attack on Malala last week in Swat.
According to an official letter sent by the National Crises Management Cell of the Interior Ministry to all the provincial governments on October 15th, North Wazirastan based Taliban leadership have ordered its Tariq Brigade to eliminate Hamid Mir as soon as possible because he is the one who introduced Malala Yousafzai first time on TV in 2009.Taliban are angry with me because i said in my TV show that all those who attacked a 14 years old girl were cowards.I also criticized the government for not taking any action for the protection of Malala.
So now that it’s confirmed by not only other new organizations, but also the group that planted the bomb, how will you proceed to eat your own words?
This is surprising . This is not style of Taliban . I am very sure that this claim is fake .
So now that it's confirmed by not only other new organizations, but also the group that planted the bomb, how will you proceed to eat your own words?
Water kit is a new joke
This is surprising . This is not style of Taliban . I am very sure that this claim is fake .
If Army wanted to kill him, they had many ways for doing that.
This could be a warning only . I should must tell you that Pindi is now again not united like 2007
Have you seen this Jirga – 24 November 2012
Ofcourse, TTP spokesman confirmed it. The be-Car bomb was real. Ehsan Ullah further stated that TTP, Hamid Mir and GEO collaborated jointly in planning this the night before. They planted the Biryani Masala underneath Hamid Mir’s car and apparently Hamid Mir checks underneath his car seat every time he sits in the car. :fraudia:
](https://twitter.com/search?q=%23TTP&src=hash)
In related news Rehman Malik to announce a ban on Hamid Mir.
^ alarming that Bait ul mehsud issuing statements from grave.![]()
This man proved last night what happened to him he deserved it TTP accepts responsibility and still he was trying to blame ISI for the bomb thing this man should be banned from TV and media
Publicity stunt:chai: