I’m just curious as to how many of you do not want to invest in a house (your *own *home) if you haven’t already done so? If you’re living in your parents’ house with your wife, do you plan on getting a place of your own in the future? Why or why not?
And those who are already living separately, who takes care of your parents afterwards?
**i live with my bro and his family. alHamdolillah, i'm in a position to buy a house and live on my own but whenever i open my mouth and express my wishes, my bro asks me if i am NOT comfortable in their home and if i ever felt unwelcome? i reply in negative and then he says "aap aaraam se rahiye yahiiN aur jab bahoo [my wife] aayegii to jo uskii marzii hogii vo kaijiyegaa" :) now, i have no backbone to further insist on leaving the nest.
my bro and my bhabhi are like my parents. they have raised me when i was a kid and i lost my both parents. bhai aur bhabhi ho to aise! shukr hai Allah ka :)**
I'm just curious as to how many of you do not want to invest in a house (your *own *home) if you haven't already done so? If you're living in your parents' house with your wife, do you plan on getting a place of your own in the future? Why or why not?
And those who are already living separately, who takes care of your parents afterwards?
Well Insha'Allah i would like to invest in my house however, i do know that it will take longer to save money in order to buy even an apartment. I say that because i am against borrowing money on interest to buy house. Secondly, i live by myself and i prefer this way. My parents can take care of themselves as they are self sufficient. They have asked me to live with them and even they have had this idea that i would live with them even after getting married. But i made it clear that i wouldn't resort for such arrangement. That is why i preferred to move out before even getting married, save some money and live decently with wife to be. Up until recently, my parents connected living with them = loving them. Therefore, i took it upon myself and stood up to tell them that i wouldn't follow culture at any cost no matter how much love and care about them. My parents are wonderful people and they have raised me well. But i also have "Aql" which i must use.
my bro and my bhabhi are like my parents. they have raised me when i was a kid and i lost my both parents. bhai aur bhabhi ho to aise! shukr hai Allah ka :)**
Do such bhabis still exist in this world? Great :D
Xtron, this is the attitude I'm assuming most Pakistani men have these days, and it's a good one. I don't think anyone these days does not want a place of his own for his family some time in the future, a place he can call his *own *home. So I don't get the stereotype that "a typical Pakistani man" will force you to stay with his parents forever. Or am I speaking too soon?
I already bought home long time ago. But this I will say to those who are looking to invest in one or more houses , that it is a good time to invest in a house in a state where historically prices go high very fast like California .
My hubby's parents have their own property, in terms of financial support, he puts a set limit of money each month (which increases as his salary increases) in their account.
Do such bhabis still exist in this world? Great :D
yes, they do. you have to give love to receive love. bros also play a role in keeping the relationships intact. my Bhabhi is an angel alHamdolillah. she NOT only takes care of us but the entire family as well. agar vo na hotiiN to na jaane ham sab kaa kia bantaa...Long live Bhabhis! :)
Xtron, this is the attitude I'm assuming most Pakistani men have these days, and it's a good one. I don't think anyone these days does not want a place of his own for his family some time in the future, a place he can call his *own *home. So I don't get the stereotype that "a typical Pakistani man" will force you to stay with his parents forever. Or am I speaking too soon?
You know bbq, since most of the Pakistani gentlemen educated and raised here in west do understand the difference between following culture and our religious teachings. So, you are right i do not want to make it sound like as if i am generalizing.
I am just saying what bothers me is that, there are batches who refuse to move out given that their parents are in better position financially. Secondly, these same batches are not only lazy but rely on mummy and daddy to cook and clean for them despite they are in their mid 20s. This is NOT how young people suppose to act like. Again, i am not saying this happens in every household but this does bother me a lot no matter how much paper educated these gentlemen can become.
Like this 28 years old friend of friend i met, who actually told me that he doesn't even know how to run washing machine let alone other doing other house chores. I said all this, not in based with one instance but friends or gentlemen i met in odd numbers.
My parents have their own property in Pakistan where they live. We have our own house here. My younger brother lives with them so he takes care of my parents when they are in Pakistan. When they are here, of course they live with us.
As far as money is concerned, my father and mother both get good pension Mashallah (and they have some investments too) and on top of it, I send a fix amount every month for whatever they want to do with it as a token of appreciation.
I'm just curious as to how many of you do not want to invest in a house (your *own *home) if you haven't already done so? If you're living in your parents' house with your wife, do you plan on getting a place of your own in the future? Why or why not?
buying a separate home is not a bad idea from investment point of view but i dont see any thing wrong in living with parents as long as the two ladies can live together peacefully:)
When I get married and settle sure I will get my own place. For now I am homeless and well my parents home is my home. I shall buy whatever I and the Mrs feel is acceptable. Hell I don't even know what country I am gonna live in. I don't where I will be next year. I am not to concerned with this.
I feel people are who are able to move out but stay due to being treated nicely should leave unless they can move their weight around to help out in return ...
I think it always good to buy a house even if you don't need it immediately, and can stay with your parents. In my culture the major responsibility for looking after the parents falls on the youngest brother and his wife, although everyone does help, and do what they can.