Garmeyoon ki chotyan a.k.a Summer vacations

What are the fond memories of summer vacations when you were a kid ? Or incase you are still young how do you anticipate them ?

In my case, last day(s) of school (just before vacations) used to be very exciting and I used to dream about sleeping till noon, slumber afternoons and watching tv and movies… as the vacations progressed, we used to plan visit to northen areas or murree. and then there were playing games in the evening and staying late at nights etc.

Re: Garmeyoon ki chotyan a.k.a Summer vacations

Yaaad'ay Maazi Aazab hai Yaa.Raaab
cheen lay Mujsay Haafzzaa tu mayra

Gosh, when we were kids, we'd move our mattresses into my parents room (since it was the only 1 with an AC)... I'd read alot alot alot of books...wheN i got to HS, life was VERY boring, since I never went out, just stayed at home all the time.. in college, summer was dominated by school, taking classes, hanging out w/ frends etc.. this summer i went to Lahore for the first time in summertime.. so it was a pretty good experience :)

i spent my childhood in india. summer holidays meant that dad would be bringing home big cartons of sweet juicy mangoes. it meant getting painful cholera/typhoid shots that put us out of action for a few days… followed by 2 months of fun at the city swimming pool. it meant a much anticipated trip to my grandparents’ house or a road trip to somewhere. it meant that reading novels/fiction was no longer prohibited. afternoons were made for day trips on bicycles, and picnics; long evenings for loitering around with friends on the terrace, and telling ghost stories when the lights went out. all the kids in the bldg would take their sleeping bags to the rooftop and we’d sleep under the stars. carrom and other games. my parents were strict, movies were not allowed at all during the school year, but during summer holidays we could watch 2 movies of our choosing. oh and summer holidays also meant daily 2 hrs of lessons at home with a tutor :bummer:

the end of summer vacation was fun too… the usual anticipation of report cards and grades, shopping for new uniforms, new shoes, new books - putting covers on em and labels, new compass boxes, new satchels, occassionally a new bike!

no wonder i hated new york when i first moved here! it just wasn’t the same…

man i wish i was raised in Pak.. :hinna::hinna:

^ that was india ... not much difference thoough

Thanks folks for sharing interesting reflections.

Few of the pastime during lazy summer afternoon were
reading novels , imran series, akhbaar-e-jahan or digest. sometime listening to all india radio at 3 pm for indian songs . Tv would start at around 4 pm and then there was cartoon series or children;s programe. On weekends we would watch rented inidan movie or hongkong based movie english movie (jackie chen stuff) because it was usually was rated G. I have Some fond memories of them. Armour of god, mad mission series etc and many others were very entertaining movie. We also watch lots of bollywood movies , but we used to make sure ke film gandi na ho. Back in those days long kissing scenes were consider gandey scene and we had to forward them on vcr. beyond that was unthinkable.

^ code red bhai sounds very much like my childhood times ....from age 7-15 was the best time of my childhood that is from 1986-1992 period after that my big brother and cousin both came to US and I stayed in pakistan.And you covered most of the activities that we did minus the bollywood movies our grandfather instilled in all of us a pathological hatred of indian movies at an early age ...God bless his soul ....
we made models of airplanes and ships when we were young , so I remember the trips with my brother to "khori garden" a market in karachi to buy balsa wood and other stuff we used to build airplanes .....ships were made usually of styrofoam ..cheap and easy to cut and model and floats too !
imran series ..looool ....i remember some of the covers ....do they still print them ? another of these adventure novels i remember is "shaheen aur zamarud kay choor" a gripping adventure by some ex-servicemen to foil a gang of smugglers in northern areas ...yup like a pakistani biggles .....do u remember the late night english series like "air wolf" and "hardcastle and macormick" usually after 2300? or the movies on thursday nite ? .....good times !

Yes I am aware of that, but regardless, it sounds like a bachpan in Pak would've been fun/interesting. As it is, i've blocked out most of my childhood (since it was boring!).

Memories :)

I used to play outside in "shikker dupehr" in fields and streets of my village. I used to make mitti kay badonay and roll around in mud in our baghicha. I used to dig holes and make wells or traps. I used to catch butterflies at daytime and jugnu at nights. I used to play chuppan chppai with my siblings(who’re all older than me) and etc.

And I used to hate doing* chuttiyon ka kaam*. :cb:

Kya yaad dila diya codey tum nay. :hinna:

I used to play chuppan chppai with my siblings(who're all older than me) and etc.

I still play these games with my kids and niece and nephew :)

Plus we also play Baraf Paani , Pakran Pakrai , Catch catch Wrestling with real hard hitting.

Although there is a gap decades between my childhood and now their childhood but I like playing these games very much now with the same spirit, with ultra fast running as we used to do years ago.

lol baraf paani and pakran pakrai. i remember them. not to forget Ready - Go, Stapoo for gals and pithoo gol garam :hehe:

Well summer vacations would like news of Eid for us. so extremely excited about the whole idea of having two months of no school :smiley: my parents were kind of really strict in studies matter so in whole day we were to give few hrs to studies, dad would teach us early morning mostly after breakfast.

After that we were free to watch tv, main attraction being indian movies. there were no VCRs as such in every home and renting it from street shop was a normal practice. So once in a week we were allowed to bring VCR with 2-3 movies. Movies daikhnay ka bhi apna andaaz tha. saaray kaam khatam kar ke movie on hothi thi and whole family would sit and watch together.

We would spend few weeks in our village with dada dadee too. Man I cannot forget those days. I never felt same excitement if i am flying to a foreign country for trip or tour the way i would be excited to go to village n meet cousins n grand parents. raat ko neend hi nahin thi aathi out of joy.

Teachers would load us with LOTS of homework to do in those two months. doing that home work on big rigesters was also a fun. buying a rigester with beautiful binding cover, carefuly writing your name on the first page, and do all the homework in really neat manner, all was supposed to be part of the whole activity.

we were all gals at home so playing with Dolls was one of our favorite time pass. In vacation mom wont stop us from playing with them as much as we want. we did alot of doll marriages in summer vacations. the shadi would be like a proper shadi. The bride doll would come from other house (friend’s), mom so many times made rice and halwa for our shadi guests :hehe:

As hareem said, we have also made mattee ke bartan. My goodness that was craze. Karhee doppehar mein we would go to roof and play “Ghar Ghar”. In doopehar coz that time parents would be taking rest after lunch (which was again very common in homes) and hence best time to do things of your choice :wink:

and yes, in summer vacation Mom would make sure we all finish one Quran. So early morning it was a must to recite Holy Quran with mom or nani or daadi who ever was visiting us during vacation.

i have already started planning my vacations, its about 2-3 weeks left and we are having our finals and so on.. so for three months i have planned to read lots of books, watch all new movies, spend time with family/friends, having bbq, perhaps sudying in prep. for next term... and oh, baking is a must and ofcourse lots of sleeping!!

but i sooo wish we could go to pakistan this summer :(