Gardening.. No one??

Are you people into gardening? Do you love growing fresh vegetables, herbs and spices in your garden?

This section of forum is full of cooking related posts/thread and seems like no one is interested in gardening.

Re: Gardening.. No one??

Yes I planted some tomatoes , watermelons, chillies , egg plants the first season of my buying my new house , but those watermelons costed me 25 dollars each and tomatoes costed me 5 dollars a tomatoes and the cucumbers turned out to be bitter.
Then bugs started ruining my crops and since I did not want to use bug spray on them so I lost the battle and gave up on those . I had actually posted some pictures of my garden and crops in these forums. Let me see if I can dig them out.

Ok, here are the pictures of my gardening adventure.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/rangon-ka-shajar/293527-going-organic.html

^wow…brilliant. :k:

Sufi bhai

I do gardening with my kids…we’ve grown cress and planted “Lilly of the Valley” and Spider Lilly’s bulbs recently. Next we’re gonna plant sunflowers.

I'm thinking of growing tomatoes this year. Not sure if it is too late ... hmmm ...

Not too late. You can buy pre sprouted seedlings or starter shrubs from garden/home improvements stores and plant them in your garden. A six pack costs $1.50 in US.

Someone told me I could put them in my Sunroom, as opposed to outside. Is this really possible?

I tried growing tomatoes. Nothing grew. And quite honestly, I spent more money on those plants than on just buying tomatoes.

I do like to plant flowers in the garden though.

I love growing my own veg.

Last year I planted chillis,tomatoes,courgettes,aurbergines,and potatoes.The baingan were a disaster though,but everything else grew really well.It's very satisfying eating your own veg.
Will be giving everything another try this year too.
@mirch...your garden looked yummy.Doesn't matter that the tarbooz was $25....bet it tasted like $100...and if you don't want to use chemicals on the little bugs,use some detergent in a spray.Works just as well.

Really ?
If it does come out to be true I will send you very expensive bouquet. I still have time to start my veggie garden.

What other trick you have for plant diseases like black spots , copper spots , fungus ?

Yes,you just put some washing up liquid with a smidgen of water and blast the little bug(***)s.They hate the stuff.
Sorry,got nothing for black spots,other than cutting away immediately.Oh..and throw some egg shells around your lettuce or the snails will have a feast at your expense.
Um,not sure,but I read somewhere that either fat free milk or baking soda may help.

Thank you everyone for great replies. Great to see people who actually like gardening.

Mirch bhai your thread is awesome. Some really nice pics.

CharmedOne, Is it safe to do it on vegetables and fruits?

I would like to share another good way to getting rid of some bugs.. You must know about Neem Tree.. take its leaves, boil them in water for a good long time until the water color changes. Now spray it on your plants. It will surely help you get rid of some bugs because the water will be very bitter and many bugs will not be able to tolerate it :)

Last year, an army of very small yellow bugs attacked my lemon plant and this trick worked like a charm.

Thanks for the compliments.
In USA where I live there are no neem tree but they sell neem insecticide , which is very expensive being an organic option.

i grow stuff but cant really talk about it on a public forum.

Move to California you can talk about it on a public forum then. :woho:

We planted a couple of rose bushes, lilies, and another flower i cant remember the name of, starts with an H. We also have motia from last year. For veggies and herbs we have mint from last year. This year i planted sage, oregano, cilantro and basil, as well as tomatoes, cucumbers, hot peppers and bell peppers. Also strawberries. I see little things sprouting already but lets see how well they grow. IA it will be a good experience.

Never had a problem,but my dad says if you soak two cloves of garlic in a gallon of water overnight and use that,that is even better.I've never tried it though.Whatever you do,don't leave it too late.My veg are only in pots,so it's not too bad,but my Mock Orange is positively covered in aphids if I don't catch them soon.It's very painful on the wrist, squirting.

My parents are planning on planting cilantro, mint, green chillies and a few other things.

Sure worked well on the caterpillars I got on my roses last year.

aunty ji ki zabardast biryani ka secret is out :)