This is a very frequent occurance… and I am sure most of you have seen it.
So today at the Friday prayers, when iqamaa was called people started moving forward to fill the front rows. Pretty normal. Then everyone settled into their position and the salah started with the “Allah o Akbar”. And then…someone in the second row moved to the first. Someone in the third moved forward. But as soon as the imam started Sura-e-fatiha, this movement stopped. Result was there remained a gap of two people in row 5.
I have noticed that people from Arab countries are quite casual about moving up and down even during a raka’at with their hands at the waist. While people from Indo-Pak-Bangladesh are very particular not to move around while they have started the raka’at.
Hmmm can't say I've seen many gaps, the place I go to give ample time to get everyone settled before namaz begins, especially when there is a full congregation.
Today for Jummah is was heaving due to the kids holidays, many outside on the pavement and cramped inside.
According to all school of thoughts (as per my knowledge), after we have started prayer and a gap appears infront of us, We STILL gotta fill it in.
How to fill it in?
I know the views of Hanafi fiqh, not sure if it is same in others.. and that is that you move in a way that your feet must be touching the ground all the time basically something you would call "feet-crawling."
*Originally posted by Anwaar Qureshi: *
I know the views of Hanafi fiqh, not sure if it is same in others.. and that is that you move in a way that your feet must be touching the ground all the time basically something you would call "feet-crawling."
Wallah-O-Aalam BithThawaab!
Ive read something similar. The reason cited for that is that 'qiyaam' is mandatory for the completion of salat, and it cannot be broken. So you have to take one step forward, and rest your feet together, before taking another step forward, and resting your feet, till you arrive in the front row.
And its true...I too have noticed on a few occasions where gaps have been left in between, and people havent moved forward to fill them up because salat had already started.
there is some hadith i read (forgot the reference and cant guarantee its authenticity) but goes something like Allah loves the step taken to fill the gap of a row....
i have seen some indians/pakis who wont even move left or right to fill the gap if someone breaks the prayer (due to any reason)....
AsA
I've seen people leaving a lot of space in the rows. I've heard a 'Hadith' which strickly forbidds it. I have heard in various lectures that it is forbidden. My 'aamal' [what I practice] is that I leave no space. I join feet and shoulder with the person standing next to me. I'll however try to find the 'Hadith'. And post that soon. By Tuesday, i hope.
salam folks,
I'm new here and this is my first post.
i would want to introduce myself first, but then again my profile shud be enuff to describe me.
newayys,
In this case, I would say that it doesnt matter if a space was left unfilled.
Wat matters most is that were you thinking of Allah during the prayers or the spaces left unfilled ? hmmm ?
Your prayer, is a connection between your heart and Allah. It is one moment when you're forgetting your world and entering a mystical state and only thinking of Him.
Such things shouldnt bother.
Arabs used to do that, because in the early times, mosques were so small, people could hardly fit in. Imams etc would urge people to come closer. Hence, they would fill any tiny lil space. Now its like a practice.
I dont think that it is part of our prayers. I think you should do it if you're facing a space shortage :)
I do believe that the gap should be filled even during the prayers.
"The best of you are those who stand with their shoulders closest (to the one standing next to them) in the salaah, and there is no step greater in reward than that taken by a man toward a gap in the row thus filling it."
"Whoever fills a gap in the row, Allaah raises him up due to it a rank and builds a house for him in al-Jannah."
People can move in side ways too to fill up the gap.
Another thing i just want to mention is when straightening the row using the feet, we usually allign our feet at the front rather than aligning at the back. The back of the feet should be in alignment to make straight rows.
Arabs used to do that, because in the early times, mosques were so small, people could hardly fit in. Imams etc would urge people to come closer. Hence, they would fill any tiny lil space. Now its like a practice.
I dont think that it is part of our prayers. I think you should do it if you're facing a space shortage :)
Al Majeed, ye tou man-dhaDak kahani lagti hai. Kya sehra meñ zameen ki kami thi?
I've heard if you don't close ranks shoulder to shoulder the saf is incomplete and also that the Shaitan will come in between the musallies.
But I am not a religious scholar to really comment on such finer points, please take it as a mildly informed opinion.
jee Faisal bhai, MCA? lol
well where I go, Imam gives enough time for everyone to get in rows and close all gaps before starting namaz.
As for the question about Gap between people has risen up, well the Gap is not for the reason of fitting more people into a small space or anything like that.
“Together with straightening the Saffs, there should be no gap between the Saffs. Ibn Umar (Radhiallaahu Anhu) reports that Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) said, ‘Establish your Saffs, make sure your shoulders are in line and close the gaps. Become soft in the hands of your brothers (i.e. if someone moves you in order to straighten the Saff, then comply with him) and do not leave gaps for Shaytaan.”
I really find it strange that Muslims think it doesnt matter if the SPACE occurs between the rows or not. I personally believe this shows our ingnorance. We pray but we are unawer of the thing which ‘DO’ matter and we think that they dont. Pitty on us. There are sever al Hadiths which talk about the importance of the ‘rows’ and how they should be made.
Narated By Anas bin Malik : The Prophet said, “Straighten your rows for I see you from behind my back.” Anas added, “Everyone of us used to put his shoulder with the shoulder of his companion and his foot with the foot of his companion.”
[Bukhari Volumn 001, Book 011, Hadith Number 692.]
Narated By Abu Bakra : I reached the Prophet in the mosque while he was bowing in prayer and I too bowed before joining the row mentioned it to the Prophet and he said to me, "May Allah increase your love for the good. But do not repeat it again (bowing in that way). [Bukhari Volumn 001, Book 012, Hadith Number 750.]
Anas b. Malik reported: The Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) said: Straighten your rows for the straightening of a row is a part of the perfection of prayer. [Muslim Book 004 Hadith 0871]
It is also mention in:
Bukhari 12:750
Bukhari 11:685
Bukhari 11:687
Bukhari 11:689
Bukhari 11:690
Bukhari 11:692
Bukhari 12:750
Muslim 4: 0871
Muslim 4: 0872
Muslim 4: 0873
Muslim 4: 0874
Muslim 4: 0875
I manage to find that out in two books of collection only in less than an hour. If we try to work a bit harder I’m sure we would have enought evidence in Quran and Sunnah where we have no need to say ‘In my view point’
The best amongst the followers of the Muhammad [s] were the Sahabas [ra]. If they were so worried about the rows then how can we not be. Secondly the salat no doubt brings you closes to Allah [swt] but remember if that is not said and performed how the Muhammad [s] I’m sorry to say you should not expect to be closer to Allah.
What makes you think Imams used to do that. Even Muhammad [s] did that. With only few sahabas [ra] praying behind him. Please do not invent your own logics.
What you think is wrong. I have quoted some of the Hadiths and other refrences along. YOu may look into matter yourself.
Surely Allah Knows best
Stupid Idiot: I will humbly ask you to change your nick to something else, more decent at the very first oppertunity:) It's a request because the nick does not suit you:)
So, should I remove the stupid or the Idiot. Because to me both are dear and I see nothing bad with this nick. At least not from the islamic viewpoint.