Ganga Sagar

[thumb=H]518746791634_9942930.JPG[/thumb]

AMRITSAR, INDIA: Pakistani Member of Parliament Rai Azizullah Khan (C) poses with Indian Sikh officials Prakash Singh Badal (R) and Bibi Jagir Kaur (L) as he holds the ‘Ganga Sagar’ in Amritsar, 17 December 2004, after arriving from London. The alloy vessel of Govind Singh, Sikhdom’s 10th spiritual leader, was flown to Amritsar city by Rai Azizullah Khan, an MP from Pakistan whose family had kept the religious heirloom in a British bank for safe keeping since India’s independence in 1947. AFP PHOTO/STR (Photo credit should read STR/AFP/Getty Images)

Muslims at their worst.

Now how is this going to help the relations between the two countries?

*Originally posted by fallenpieta: *
Muslims at their worst.

why do you say this?

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
Now how is this going to help the relations between the two countries?

i think its not about relations between two countries, its about relationship between two religions.

i personally think it is a good move. Respect to other religion, thats what we need.

Respecting another religion and practicing their religious rights with them are two different things. When was the last time you saw a hindu/sikh keeping fast during Ramadan or praying Isha?

I dont think he is doing anything wrong. I dont think he is practicing their religion either. I would be very happy if a sikh person had saved something that was of historic importance to Islam and then returned it to the muslims. For us may be its just an alloy vessel, but for sikhs it means alot.

Take part in any non-muslim religious ceremonies is forbidden.

There was one time when Umar :razi2: was reading the bible. When Prophet :saw: saw this, he was not pleased and told Umar :razi2: not to read the bible.

actually, this is probably the most common gesture with which Hindus try to pay respect to their Muslim friends - fasting for at least 1 day during Ramadan. obviously there is no reading of Islamic prayers, but the fasting is meant to be a sign of respect and solidarity. I did it once this year, and my Muslim friends appreciated it very much. in fact, i believe at many universities there is a small event called Fast-a-thon where non-muslims fast with their muslim friends (without any religious significance).

it's not a big deal, it's just a small gesture that shows respect and tolerance for one another - it doesn't mean you accept their religious beliefs. similarly, the man in the picture is obviously making a nice gesture, but without embracing the religious significance of the situation - and i'm sure this is understood by the Sikhs in the picture as well. but they would appreciate it nonetheless.

Reading bible was different. The reason why he was reading bible was so that he could find points to argue with chrisitians and to find proof about Islam and prophet Mohammad(PBUH) that are present in the bible. At that time there was no need to find proofs when prophet Mohammad(PBUH) was alive and getting direct revelation from Allah and had the knowledge given directly to him by Allah.
At a muslim stand point, only those activities are forbidden that contradict Islamic preactices. For example praying to any one other than Allah. You are talking about the same Umar who was asked by a christian priest to pray inside a church and he said he would pray inside, but he doesnot want the future generations to look at this as a reason to change this church into a mosque.
I have seen soo many non-muslims that fast with us during ramadaan and attent our iftars regularly.

that is one awesome gesture nikhil :k: and it is a big deal.. a gesture as one as this means a lot to many muslims..

I know this guy and his family personally.. hes a great human being and a good practicing muslim.. pictures dont tell the whole story.. in short this guys fore fathers protected Guru Gobind at times of great diffuculty when Mughal armies were oppressing minorities.. as a reward he gave this pitcher (lengthy story). Sikhs respect this guy a lot..

Is he going to give it back to the Sikh community in Amristar?

Re: Ganga Sagar

no hes not going to give it to anybody.. there is supposidly - some omen attached to this thing..

paki indian bhai bhai :hug:

The holy Prophet was known as the Sddiq and Ameen, do you think that he would not have kept his word if he was dealing with a non-muslim? I think this was a noble deed from the MP and his family.

:hug: Kya baat hai janwar bhai , aaj sare poorane threads me comments mar rahe ho. sab khairait.

Speak for yourself dude, Mohajir Hendostani bhai bhai hongey, yeh loag to iss qaabil bhi naheiN ke inn pe thooka jaaey, bayhurmati hoti hai hamaarey thook ki. :snooty:

Aaj kal Karachi waaloN ko HinduoN pe bahot piyaar aa raha hai, waapis Hendostan hi kiyoun naheiN daffa ho jaatey.