Game, Set and Match Mr. Racist!

NEW YORK (Reuters) – Fourth-seeded Australian Lleyton Hewitt survived a gutsy challenge from American wild card James Blake on Friday to book a third round berth in five grueling sets.

Hewitt, a semifinalist here last year, rallied for a 6-4, 3-6, 2-6, 6-3, 6-0 victory in three hours and six minutes to advance and set up a clash with 25th seed Albert Portas of Spain.

Blake was outplaying Hewitt when the heat and intense humidity got to him in the fourth set.

The American appeared to be suffering from heat exhaustion but gamely finished the match despite an inability to give the fitter Hewitt much of a fight the rest of the way.

“I did the best I can,” said the exhausted Blake.

After the second foot fault jugdment by a black lines man, Hewitt lost his temper. He went to the umpire and told him to change the lines man (black) on the spot.
I heard this with my own ears.
He made racist comments and told the umpire to force him to leave the court. As his competitor was black aswell he might felt injustice.

Strange that not a single word was mentioned in the article above.

“kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat”

seriously? didja hear it while watchin the match live or on a broadcast?

dump the geezer outta the ATP!

Yep! I heard it with my own ears. The commentator was shocked aswell (EUROSPORT!).

Even though I was very happy that the commentator condemned him for his behaviour. The ATP tour promoter should impose a fine on him.

This is not the right way to deal with some one. It doesnt matter if you are a celebrity or not.....finito

"kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat"

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited September 01, 2001).]

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

woah thats disgusting!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad2.gif

thats really really made me mad hearing that…i hope that this doesn’t get brushed under the carpet…something should be done…

racists i hate em !!!
y2nad

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

action shud be taken against hewitt…

thanx 4 sharing kaka-r…
God bless u all…

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

Inshallah he'll get what he deserves. If not yet then ALLAH will condemn him.

"kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat"

No actions taken against L. Hewitt.
He was asked in a press conference and denied all accusations.
Telling journalists that it was a just a casual discussion.
And saying in his defence that the discussion was a matter between the umpire and him therefor no one has a right to interfere. So that no one should feel discriminated against it.

He said:“Even if some one felt offended by my words i want to apologize.”

Although he wasn’t aware of any racist remarks made by him on the tennis court.

How sad…he get aways so easily with racist remarks

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

“kaisay na karta usko main pyar, uski haseen main sukh thay hazaar, bichar gayay hum dukh ki hay baat”