Re: Gajar ka halwah
Gajar ka halwa is good only with Pakistani carrots. The orange carrots do not give proper taste of gajar ka halwa.
^lol! carrots are ORANGE! but i totally knw what u mean -pakistani gaajar ki baat hi kuch aur hai ;)
we get pakistani gajars here and me mam makes them all the time. ooo I want some now !
I can get them here in Tooting, SW London. One of the pakistani shopkeepers imports it from Pakistan during winter. But they are quite costly £4 per kg!!!
Thats great!!!
**check it ham ne gajar k halwa ki recipe share ki hay **
CB can i make this with skimmed milk ?
and avoid the khoya bit ??
yes sheynie you can ..infact I used skimmed milk today for it … The actual taste of the halwa comes with frying , the more your fry it the better the taste will get and the worst your arms will ache ![]()
***Thx CBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB …so i can use skimmed milk,Xeno told me I cudn’t ![]()
im gonna make gajar ka halwa today first time ever
honestly speaking , whole milk gives the best carrot halwa … but skimmed if fine as well .. so yeah , go ahead try it … I hope inshallah it turns out good ![]()
Sheyn, you can use skimmed milk... i use semi-skimmed milk in all of my cooking...
CB! You've been awesome with these recipes during Ramadan! I'm so trying your gajar ka halwa...One question though: is milk powder absolutely necessary? What would happen if i ommited it?
Maroushie ![]()
Yeah you can omit it , though , what it does is , give the halwa that rich , khoya taste … but if you dont like the khoya taste then dont use the milk powder and instead when you are boiling the carrots in milk earlier on in the process ,add some extra condensed milk …
That should give the halwa the perfect taste , inshallah … ![]()
^ i tried to follow a similar recipe too by adding milk etc and unfortunatly after the whole cooking process, the carrots in the halwa looked too dark and it tasted funny but not burnt.
sparkle , I know what happened with your halwa , you over cooked it ![]()
when the carrots turn too dark but dont taste burnt , its not the carrots that got burnt its the milk content … and you must have made the halwa on high flame …
when you start frying it , it should be done on low to medium flame and as soon as you can see that the carrots have mixed really well your halwa is ready…
Nice recipe :) I make it little bit different way