The way he tackled NS, his future seemed to be very bright. If BB came through back door under any kind of agreement with Mush, the political career of BB would also be doomed. Mush will be elected for the next five years and yes he will also keep the uniform with the blessings of Maulana Diesel of MMA, Lota Chaudhry League, MQM the Butchers, Badname Zamana Corrupt Left over Lotas of PPP. President without uniform in Pakistan has limited powers. There is always fear PM being override President or booting out by Commander in Chief at any time. Well my prediction may take other way round. It all depends on present CJ.
Re: Future of Musharraf
I think Musharraf has ensured his powers as "president-only" after lots of swatting of the constitution.
Musharaf had a rare chance to become great after enjoying power for 8 long years - if he had just called all popular exiled politicians and negotiated with all political forces to have fair/impartial elections anf transferring power to the elected ones. Instead, greed overcame him and in that cause he had to commit one blunder to another with duffer advisors.. Now he will have to take of his uniform and would ultimately become a lame president with power slipping with each day passing..
Itni jaldi nahi bhaijan, Abhi to SC ka decision bhi nahi aya? CJ and SC can still save Pakistan from this dictator. Hosla Rakho. ![]()
The way he tackled NS, his future seemed to be very bright. If BB came through back door under any kind of agreement with Mush, the political career of BB would also be doomed.
I agree with you. His political strategy was to divide opposition, and he has done that masterfully. By offering goodies to BB he broke up the ARD, and prevented APDM from becoming any serious problem, and with NS and BB taking pot-shots at each other...they wont unite to create problems for general anytime in the near future.
Also, MMA is already divided with Fazlu more than willing to play ball with regime. So that lives out PMLN, PTI and JI which is not going to be much problem for the government to deal with. As for the SC, since CJ isn't on the bench hearing the case, the SC court will most likely rule in govt's favor, perhaps using old infamous doctrine of necessity. So, game is over and Mushrraf will be around for at least 5 more years unless al-queda or army itself takes him out.
decision to uniform se mutalliq hai, mai bol raha hoon 17th or is it 117th amendment ki ![]()
^ Nahi, Nahi, Nahi, CJ or SC ko ye dictator ko hatana hoga, sirif uniform say nahi balke Presidency sai bhi. CJ aur SC quom ki aaqri umeed hai ![]()
^ tsk tsk… Allah mian se umeed hata li aap ne :nono:
Paajee (Brother), mera phir yeahee sawal hay, tusee kis taraf ho? is taraf ya duje taraf? Mush Vs Opposition
Here is the news which supported my earlier prediction that Mush will win. You can add one more ass kisser of Mush, Pir Pagara’s ML AKA military’s B-team.
Now he will have to take of his uniform and would ultimately become a
dead man.
I am really surprised at mental level of those that presume that ‘If President Musharraf takes off his military uniform, than he would lose his army power base’. I do not know if I should cry or laugh on this joke? :)
Believe me, if President Musharraf believes that uniform is his power base than he would never take that uniform off. But reality is that this assumption is far from truth. If some politicians (without naming them, though there are many jokers) believe that if President Musharraf takes off his uniform than it would be end, than I can only say that they are mentally incapables jokers.
I am sure that anyone with little intelligence would realise why I believe that President in uniform or not, would make little difference. Anyhow, just to make things easy, here is why I believe what I wrote.
At any moment in time, there are three crucial posts: President, Prime Minister, and Army Chief. Normally President and Prime Minister are Civilians. If post of Army Chief would have been such that Army Chief could anytime take over, than Prime Minister would be worried all the time. It is because with over half a million army in control, nothing can come in between Army Chief and power. Anything that may try to come in between would be blown to pieces. Laws or constitution would not matter when Army Chief decides to take over the country.
But Army Chief could not take over the country whenever they like. There are many other forces within the army that would oppose that. For Army Chief to take over the country, Army Chief has to have support of many people at crucial positions in the army. Army Chief knows that taking over the country would be against the constitution and thus, anyone within the army could revolt against the Chief, though if Army Chief succeeds than those that would revolt will find their quick end, but if Army Chief fails than it would be his end too.
Anyhow, it is not that easy for any army chief to take over, else all political parties knowing that Army chief is actually true force and can deposed them whenever he likes, would be always worried and would not even going to talk about democracy. In that case, NS would not have sacked Jahangir Karamat or would not have antagonised Army by trying to sack Pervaiz Musharraf.
Present situation. I believe that President Musharraf knows who are his generals and all officers at crucial posts (actually, it is he who appointed them). Obviously, to get to the post of Army Chief, President Musharraf must be having this capability to judge his officers (I believe that President is quite capable and shrewd person). Even when President would take off his uniform, most army officers would be more loyal to President Musharraf (who was once their Chief) than any Civilian President, Civilian Prime Minister, and new future Army Chief (Constitutionally President is commander in chief of Army, above Army Chief).
Most likely, the person whoever going to get appointed as new Army Chief must be loyal to President. Most likely other top generals and generals at crucial post who are appointed by President himself, must be loyal to President Musharraf too. Actually, there would be number of officers who might be more loyal to President Musharraf then new Army Chief. Even if new Army Chief decides to go against President (though that is really silly to even think of), than he would find many in army who would become obstacle to him, and thus this new army chief may end up with failed coup that could lead him to dungeon.
According to constitution, when President decides to sack parliament, President does that because he has control over army (as being commander in chief of Army) and thus has that muscle power to do that (along with constitutional power). Though if Army decides that they would not back President, President could not do anything. I am sure that most likely President Musharraf would always going to have that authority over Army that he would be able to use army for whatever reason (as that would be his constitutional right as President as well as him having army background would help).
So … I do not think that it would make a lot of difference whatever President decides (keep or shed Army uniform). Only difference would be commitment against terrorism, as Pakistan government can only request army to crush the insurgent terrorists in the country, but commitment of army would come from the commitment of army chief, and that at present is President himself. Government can only ask Army Chief and Army acts under the direction of Army chief.
Now it would be up to new army chief to decide how much commitment he would like to give. It is possible that new army chief would be very aggressive in this matter, and would decide to bomb all those insurgents and kill them on sight, without worrying about political fall out. But it is also possible that new army chief would take this commitment with little interest, and that means, less vigorous actions by Pakistan army against insurgents. Since President Musharraf commitment against insurgents is at most soft, I believe that most likely new army chief would have harder attitude towards these retarded elements.
Kuch nai hoga. This Musharraf guy is smart. You guys just watch. The only thing that is going to destroy him is when America decides they don't need him anymore. And as long as there is Islamic extremism to fight, they wont get rid of him.
lol...what is a lota actually...
I think the civilian presidents have powers too (backed by the Armed Forces) because in the past they have sacked governments and PMs
I am really surprised at mental level of those that presume that ‘If President Musharraf takes off his military uniform, than he would lose his army power base’. I do not know if I should cry or laugh on this joke? :)
I don't know who said that but let me ask you.... why is Musharraf sticking to the uniform, give it up and keep the "nation" happy? qissa khatam karo, bila waja mai awam ka time kewn zaya karo
Brother, what can I say? The thing is that, I have a feeling that there is probably 80 percent chance that neither President would shed his uniform nor there would be presidential election (it all depends on what would happen in next few weeks). Most likely, Pakistan would have either emergency or Martial law soon. [Now please do not quote me later about what I am writing is wrong if it end up wrong, as there is still 20 percent chance that there would be Presidential election and that President might shed his uniform]. Thus, let see what happens in next few weeks
As for partial answer to your question: Well, if President Musharraf was not in uniform than what I wrote above that at present 80 percent chance is that there would be emergency or martial law in the country soon, that chance would not have been there … so, hope that you will understand what I am saying :whistling.
^ sorry answer is no where even close to the question but I agree that emergency is very much in the offing/expected.
Kuch nai hoga. This Musharraf guy is smart. You guys just watch. The only thing that is going to destroy him is when America decides they don't need him anymore. And as long as there is Islamic extremism to fight, they wont get rid of him.
yup.. seeems like another 11 year rule in the making and another C-130 going down, I wonder wat place would that be..
Also try to recall what else went down following the C-130 in the decade that followed...I don't see any reason to believe in case of any such departures or arrivals, crashes or take-offs the state of Pakistan, its public or leaders would be any different. WHY? Because at individual level there has been no change in attitude, mentality or rationality. Only the faces and support or opposition is different.
My prediction seemed to be correct. He will keep both uniform and post of President. As I said he has support of Maulana Diesel of MMA, Chaudhry Lot League, MQM the Butchers, Bandname Zamana Left Over PPP, etc. BB and NS hawa khaian.
http://www.dawn.com/2007/09/25/welcome.htm
President to remain army chief if not re-elected: SC told ISLAMABAD, Sept 25 (PPI) –The nine-member larger bench of the Supreme Court headed by justice Rana Bhagwandas was informed by Attorney General Malik Mohammad Qayyum on Tuesday that President General Pervez Musharraf will remain the Chief of Army Staff if not re-elected as President for the second term. The bench is hearing a set of identical constitutional petitions against holding of dual offices by President Musharraf and his candidacy for the forthcoming presidential election. Justice Javed Iqbal asked the Attorney General what would happen if General Musharraf was not re-elected as President. Malik Qayyum replied that President Musharraf will remain the Chief of Army Staff till the election of a new President as well as appointment of a new Army Chief by the newly elected President. He submitted that there was no age limit for the retirement of a four- star general under the Army Act. He referred to various decisions of the superior courts in support of his arguments and contended that the courts have validated the actions taken by the then President and Chief Executive. Justice Javed Iqbal observed that the Attorney General was referring to decisions which were given under the doctrine of necessity, which has now been buried. He observed that now no decision would be given by the apex court on the basis of doctrine of necessity. He said the issue before the court was of the 17th Amendment which was passed by the Parliament. Referring to the term of the President, Malik Qayyum contended that the President has completed only one term under the constitution and he intends to be a candidate for the second term. To a court query, regarding rejection of nomination papers filed by other civil servants, Malik Qayyum said the Chief Election Commissioner would be in a position to reject them but he cannot reject the papers filed by President Musharraf under Act-7 of the Parliament that has given him an immunity/protection. . He contended that the petitions were not maintainable because these did not involve enforcement of fundamental rights. He said qualification of a candidate was not a matter of public importance as well as fundamental right. Justice Rana Bhagwandas observed that the apex court was hearing the petitions for the last 10days whereas the Attorney General was still contending that these were not maintainable. He also observed that the petition of Jamaat-e-Islami prima facie was seemed to be maintainable. If the petitioners think that their petitions were maintainable then they should move the High Court under Article 199 of the constitution to seek remedy, the Attorney General argued. His arguments were still continuing when the bench rose to re-assemble on Wednesday. President’s senior counsel Syed Sharifuddin Pirzada will also advance his arguments on Wednesday. (Posted @ 19:55 PST)