fussy eaters

i’m really trying to know how one can cope with fussy eaters…

both of my kids just refuse to eat…dunno what to do…?
one day they like something n i feel sooo happy…but next time they won’t even look at it

so far i’ve tried almost everything but this problem is still there

whatever they want to eat i try to prepare but they’ll just not eat

they don’t like any fruit…only banana n sometimes apples…n even for these two i have to force them

any suggestions…???

How old are your kids?

elder one is 4 ....n younger oneneeds 3 months when he will turn 2...inshaAllah

does it depend on age.....?

give them two choices
take it or leave it
magar aram say :~)

in some kids its normal to avoid food, and its not due to the their dislike for that particular meal. soo perhaps one should try to make them realize the importance(or whatever) of eating food. and so on and so forth...they are going through the age in which one adapts himself/herself to the norms of life...they will be fine...

b/w try asking them!! :~)

*Originally posted by Afia: *
does it depend on age.....?

I'm sure that as they get older, they will take more of a liking to various foods.

r u really thinking that i don’t ask them…:confused:

oh sorry i forgot to mention my 4 yrs old dictates me the menu…keeps check if i have prepared it or not…helps setting the table …takes out a bit of everything in his plate…THEN…eats nothing…!!!

n chota jinn…he is always busy drinking just water…:o

awww :slight_smile: Afia i used to be a veryyyyyyyyy fussy eater when i was a kid :biggrin:

my family used to invent methods to make me eat… :hehe:

• story telling during the meal

• bribing with mango or my favorite…kulfi… for dessert :~)

• and the classic one, for each morsel, be like ‘ye dekho irem plane aa rha hae’, ‘ye dekho helicopter aa rha hae’ and then land the lukma in my mouth :hehe:

• and then emotionally blackmail me :hehe: being like irem ‘ye lukma maamoon ke lyay hayn’ , ‘ye lukma tumhari friend ke lyay hae’ etc etc…

and the best thing thing that works is investing some story with episodes, and then drag the story for 10 episodes or such and tell one episode per meal, that really used to work :hehe:

sighz i miss the times when my cousins and aunts and uncles and grandmother used to feed me with their own hands, itne pyaar se… :flower1:

I have always been a REALLY picky eater-I don’t like meat, and not all sabsian either.

Until I was about 12ish, my parents made me eat it-after that I didn’t bother my mom with it-either i just made something for myself, or ate something else, or like if she mad gosht ka salan, I ate the shorba. I learned to just figure it out :slight_smile:

Now that I’m away, she misses me, so when I come home she makes khana esp. for me :smiley:

i miss her :crying:

But when I was little :hehe: they used to tell me things to get me to eat. I didn’t want anda? they would tell me the chicken would get mad if I didn’t eat it :slight_smile:

Maybe try to make the food fun? This is just off the top of my head, have no idea if it will work or not, but like cut the fruit into fun shapes or something? And make up stories like my parents did :hehe:

g’luck baji!

Re: fussy eaters

If you find a solution, let us know…

Dang! some kids… :~)

Waisay, you know, I honestly believe these Pizza hut guys and those McDonalds folks have some under-hand deal with kids. I mean, we cook anything at home, and they will be naak-bhoon charhaying. Take them to Pizza Hut and suddenly they are full of appetite. Give them cheese pizza or french fries 24/7 and they will cheerfully munch it down, give them fruits and vegetables and suddenly “bhook nahi hai”. Give them milk, and they’d say “I am full”, offer them coca cola and they will gladly gulp down a 2 litre bottle without even looking up. :hoonh:

A friend of mine has 3 year daughter. So fed up with her Coke-drinking habits, they stopped bringing home or serving sodas at home. He swears that even when she is asleep at night, and one of the parents pop open a Coke can, the girl wakes up from sleep at the mere sound of a coke can opening and comes looking for Coke. He often complains, how do these kids get so hooked up on soda right from the time when they are born?

faisal bhai, my sister used to make herself sick-she used to say she was throwing up and she would cry and REFUSE to eat ghar ka khana. As soon as we left the house, she was hungry. She got over it, but she still would rather eat mac and cheese or go out to eat than eat anything at home.

Re: Re: fussy eaters

Faisal bhai eik din aap aur bhabi apnay teeno bachon ko mere paas chorna teeno ka fast food ka bhoot utaar doon gi :devil: :biggrin: :hehe:

i grew up with fussy eaters..

My mom used to make gujia..meetha samosa..coz kids often like sweets..she used to make something very interesting..she used to make biscuit dough..and then she used make sparrow and interesting shapes and used to put it on a toothpick..and used to fry it..so yummy snack was ever ready.

If they only like banana and apple..you can make things with fruits..like make puff pastries..apple pie..banana shakes etc.

Once i had a landlord..aunty used to get frustrated coz the daughter never used to eat...she was very bony..i lived with her since she was 8 months till she turned 5..kids get bored easily and they want to be entertained. You know what i used to do..i used to tell her..lets make pizza and we'll eat it..all i simply used to do is take a roti niwala..put some daal, gosht, sabji and yogurt on it..and used to feed her saying wow..this pizza is yummy.. Every dinner time me and her used to do interesting things..kids also like involvement..so when she started growing up..i used to ask her to do little things..so she could enjoy more.

How about you make different shaped cookies for them..

most of the time i have noticed that kids don't like proper khana..but snacks...i have seen that now in book stores..they have very interesting and colorful cook books for kids. So maybe you wanna a book or two.

IREM
THE ONLY BRIBE THAT WORKS FOR THEM IS CHOCOLATE OR SUMTIMES MAY BE COLA........BUT HONESTLY SPEAKING THIS BRIBE IS NOT ALLOWED MORE THAN ONCE PER DAY ..IN MY VIEW COZ THESE THINGS JUST SUPRESS THE APPETITE....EVEN WORSE...!!!
MANGO.....????? THEY HATE IT...!!

Faisal

you r so true.......!sigh

let me try a thousand more methods......i'll tell u the result

you ungrateful kid....!

Qurius

you have some ideas.......but sure u can realise how painstaking job is to treat this type..........oh..!!
but as they say...no pains no gains.....hmm.......let me try

n thanks all......:)

May be its you who fusses about their eating habits as they about their food. The fact is that childern don't need lots to eat. I haven't seen a single child eating everything thats on their plate. Kids don't have the same appetite like adults. The more you try to feed them the more they will avoid all the food that you cook. You cannot force the food, if they are not hungry, just wait till they are hungry enough before feeding them, make them do exercise everyday, go for a long walk with kids before lunch and dinner time and afterwards they will eat anything u give them.

:bummer:

By the way, I can give you a few pointers. Those who have met my kids will tell you they are reasonably ;) healthy kids.

My kids are ages 7, 4 and 3 now. And obviously at this age they can eat on their own. Pizza and fries aside, the way we do it is to get some nice healthy foods (like fruit chat, cookies, and other finger food) and place them in easy reach for the kids so they can eat chaltay phirtay around the house.

The eldest gave up milk when she weaned off the bottle. For several years she refused to drink milk. So instead of forcing her to drink milk, we turned to alternatives. Like cheese slices, lassi, macaroni and cheese. Even cheese pizza. These are as good as milk. Then we got her excited about drinking with a straw in a glass, and now she, masha allah, drinks flavored milk (with rooh afza) twice a day, khud maang ke aur shauq say.

The youngest is a bit picky on what she wants, but at her age, we tell her to "try" new things, and more often then not, she does get hooked up. So now at dinner table the kids love to eat desi khanay, like qorma, pulao, roti, vegetables and others. They have begun to show appetite for spices too. Previously we will make two versions of each salan, one with less spices for kids, and one normal. But now the kids just wanna eat regular spices, so its more convenient now.

The thing to remember is at their young age, the kids can not go on a bhook hartaal... so they gotta eat something. If you don't wanna give them unhealthy food, then just prepare the food you want them to eat and place it at easy reach for them. When they get hungry they will munch it down. It also helps if you make them run, play and generally exhaust themselves. That opens up their appetite big time. After two hours of play outside, my kids will generally eat anything in sight. This also helps them to sleep better, after all the excitement and thakann. Do make an effort to cut down on unhealthy food like candies and sodas. They ruin their teeth very quickly.

As long as the kids' weight is within the normal range for their age, there is actually nothing to worry about, even if you think they are not eating properly. If all else fails, talk to your doctor. There are some medicines which increase appetite.

although i'm over 25 now my mom still has problems in getting me to eat properly....
just like today morning when i came without taking breakfast....
she gave me almost a dozen alternatives, but i guess u just cant get fussy eaters to et....

oh we are talking about fussy eaters who are kids. ever have to deal with fussy eaters who are adults?

I know a certain jackass who has some metabolic issues (prolly among the smaller issues he has) and has to eat every 2 hrs or he gets in a real pissy mood. sadly the jackass is my cousin's husband. the 2 weeks he visited us were a pain, not onlydid he dictate the menu but everytime we would go out, he needed to eat out, and mickeyDs wont do, it hasta be a sit down restaurant.

The summer that the idiot was around, wifey had time off and I was busy at work so she took the two around shopping and what nots and was ina tough situation i.e. husband's cousin's husband..so she had to foot teh bill each time. lunch and dinner..every day. funny thing is when I was around and he was bytchin about being hungry i pointed his lame punk ass to a mcdonalds and he showed up sulking a few mins later with small fries.

It bugs me when grown ppl make their problem everyone elses problem.. I know other people who have to eat stuff due to metabolic conditions or diabetes and carry something with them, or would go get soemthign without creating a scene. shameful to see a 38 yr old act like a kid.

I still recall that when we were in their city, we only ran into them at my uncle's house once and they never bothered to call, drop by or anything. Cheapskates :)

I suppose not only fussy eater but also a cheapskate

i was just kidding :~)

i think all these replies from guppies would help you to decide how to handle both of your jins :~)

best of luck and have fun!!

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
I still recall that when we were in their city, we only ran into them at my uncle's house once and they never bothered to call, drop by or anything. Cheapskates :)

i don't know how ppl can be sooo selfish!! its veryyy annoying! the best thing to do is to give them the taste of their own medicine.....though even doing that sometimes is hard...