Fusion of culture and religion - Disco Naats

Re: Fusion of culture and religion - Disco Naats

Lets see what KKF has to say on this matter.

BTW, whats your view on STA's comment about Qawwal = Jhoota?

I did an article on the history of quwwali a while back, I think its not a bad thing, nor do I think using a different rythm in your vocals is a problem, what I see as a problem is Disco naats.

A naat cannot be played in a disco... unless the dance haal was serving as a masjid like in old times when they had not built proper masajid and would pray in large halls etc.

A Disco and a Naat are as unnantural as having an 6 speed automatic gearbox and a horse and cart... you cannot do both.

:omg: The situation is not that bad.. disco naats are rare.

^ The fact they are even existant is worrying... you would be very suprised.

I used to think Naat and Quwwali were seperated by the fact one had music and the other did not... but today many Naats have music and this is an alarming trend.

The posted na'at is recited beautifully.

I remember the trend of using filmi song tunes for na'ats ever since my childhood days.
I can't think of any right now.
But I remember thinking as a boy "Ye to Noor Jahan ke gaanay ki tune hai". :)

^ The fact you remember Noor Jahan… :lifey:

You Sir have lived!

What are you talking aboot yaar ? The legend still lives big. :)

Rhyming nohaas on the tunes of songs I have most heard :frowning: But this is first time even a naat khwan is caught red handed :emmy:
Naat khwani being the second sacred, after recitation of Quran, shouldnt really be impure by the intervention of such parodies and elements of music involved. I remember there are a few naats in my mom’s cell phone, I cannot simply stand and want to tell my mom to stop playing them, (because it is just like “played” instead of naat being recited) but well I have to keep my mouth shut out of respect for her :frowning: And its hard to convince her since for her, in whatever piece there is the mention of Allah and Rasool is sacred and holy. There is no second opinion anyway regarding these naats where music is added. They are simply a blow to the taste.

Qawali is something altogether different and separate.

NO they are NOT. It will torture my brain doing so or I could bring numerous musical ones, for you, here :frowning:

Is this Naat based on the tune of a song?

Its stuck in my mind and I kinda have a feeling that its based on Lata’s old song. :frusty:

With all due respect I have for naats, I have also noticed that :

Naat-e-Sarkar ki parhta hoon main ==> Mere Mehboob Qayamat hogi.
Madina saddi jaan ae ==> Kaddi tey has bol ve

lol yes it is :rolleyes:

I was actually talking about the ones like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7YX4jn7YIBU

Can you please post that song so I can be relieved from this confusion :frusty:

I tried and couldnt. check the link.

alright here it is.

I mean the song on whose tune this naat is based:

Disco Naats -Astagfirullah

why :ast:

Haven’t you hear Mufti Shoiab Mansoor’s fatwa : Music main koi burai nahin, lyrics ache hone chahiye… kinne kinne jana billo de ghar is bad, but kinne kinne jana Allah de ghar is great and quite motivating

:nahi:

I just know that dont listen to such naats which are copied from musics or have background musics

But most of the time it does not click that the naat you are listening is copied from a song (based on songs tune). Like the naat I posted in OP used to be my favourite naat until I heard Lata’s old song. the lyrics are superb and its beautifully recited, but now whenever I listen to this naat, it reminds of that song. :bummer: