Karan Johar’s Latest film ‘Student Of The Year’ in a legal Controversy, The film featured a song ‘Radha’ that portrays Hindu mythological figure as ‘Sexy’.As per the reports, An FIR has been lodged against the song for hurting the religious sentiments of the Hindu community.
This is not a new phenomenon. In pre-Islam Arab, on one side they used to worship goddess like Laat and Uzaaa and on other side they used to bury baby girls alive considering them as dishonor to the family.
How do you see this double standard of society?
Do women really like to be portrayed in this way? sexy and sex symbol across the world? Do religions and culture affect their choice?
But I’m sure the song wasn’t referring to the actual goddess, it was about a random girl named Radha. Must be a pretty low number of people who found it offensive because I’ve seen Indians dance to this song on weddings, concerts, tv shows etc. The majority seems to really like it.
And yes, women do enjoy being called beautiful and sexy. Nobody puts a gun to their head…
Do women across all cultures are easy with titles like ‘sexy’? What is the Urdu equivalent of ‘sexy’?
As far as the song Radha is concerned, even BJP politicians protested against it saying it to be against Hindu beliefs. I don’t why and why its acceptable to majority of Hindu population who are still dancing on this song in their weddings, etc.
**New Delhi: **Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj today said she would raise in the forthcoming winter session of Parliament the issue of attacks on Hindu beliefs in Bollywood movies and asked like-minded people from various parties to join hands.
“I came to know about the attack on Hindu beliefs in two recent movies - ‘Oh my God’ and ‘Student of the Year’. In the latter, there are references to Radha not knowing how to dance and being invited to the dance floor to learn dancing. Why is it that the attack in films is only on Hindu beliefs and on names like Sita, Radha and Kaushalya,” she asked.
She was speaking at a cow protection program organised by the RSS here. Swaraj said some names are revered by Hindus and these are shown in a bad light in Bollywood movies.
BJP and RSS are just trying to find issues to make it look like they are the protectors of hindus blah blah.. elections are coming. extreme dramas are starting.
apart from all these political stunts, don't you think that society where ladies like Sita, Radha were / are worshiped is not so much friendly towards ladies. Just take an example of abortion of female fetuses.
I'd like to know what Karan Johar has to say about this lol.
I don't think there is a stigma associated with the word sexy any more. May be a few years ago, it was only reserved for vulgar dancers etc (and may be that's still the case in some cultures) but not any more, generally speaking. People take it as a compliment. I say people because the term is used for men too. And it doesn't always have to do with the physical attractiveness, I've heard people use the term for personality traits too.
queer pa ji, do you think that Hinduism or any other religion followed in sub-continent support such discrimination against females? Isn’t it more cultural thing that is responsible for such acts?
ek gaane kii ek line thii:
kaamnii ke sang, bhai, kaam jaage hii jaage!
jaiso karam kare vaiso phand laage hii laage!!
** bure kaam kaa buraa nateejaa,sun bhai Kaakaa
bure kaam kaa buraa nateeja, kah bhai bhaanjaa!
mere vaalid kaa ek she'r thaa:**
yehii suboot hai dunyaa ke shoGhl-e-be_jaa kaa
k muzmahil hai tabii'yat nashaat-e-kaar ke ba'd
Now this kamini is more common. I remember there was an actress with the name ‘Kamini Koshal’ as well. In star plus dramas, there used to be a kamini buwaa.. sexy buwaa