my manager is going for a vacation and i have to be the temporary manager while she’s gone
the thing i’m concerned about is that right now i have a really great relationship with the two members of my team, its seriously awesome mashallah. i love em both n there’s none of that competition, back biting, other bad stuff among us 3 that goes on in offices. we’re completely tight alhamdulillah. its jus us 3 and our manager and she’s also a cool manager. we’re a great team i reckon mashallah.
the thing is…i dont want to spoil my relationship with these 2 guys on my team at any cost, i really like it the way it is, completely relaxed and on equal terms coz we’re all at the same level. right now we joke around with each other and make fun of each other and everything and help each other out a lot as well.
but when i’m the temp manager for that short period of time, i’ll have to keep track of their work, ask them to submit things on time and all that. i dont think i’m a bossy or unreasonable person n both those guys r great so inshallah i think it shud be ok but i also have never been in a managerial post before and ofcourse im gona try my best but like i dono i hope i dont mess it up and that it turns out ok…inshallah
im happy that im being made the manager even tho temporary but ive been thinking abt this ever since i found out … my relationship with my teammates is really precious to me and i dont want it to get spoilt or a distance to be created coz of this… inshallah it wont. hmmmmm
have any of u guys made such a transition at ur workplace? how was it? specially from the aspect im talking abt in the post…
word of advice, DON'T indulge yourself in any long term planning. as i understand its a temporary assignment just to keep office running smoothly. If you may decide to do otherwise that could effect your work relationship with your manager based on assumption that you are in pakistan. Don't be too restrict as that will effect you relationship with your team, once the assignment is over. on your 1st day arrange a team meeting and explain to others that you are there to bridge the gap. but don't be too leaniant and make it clear in a friendly manner that if something goes wrong you woun't hesitate to slap their wrists.
all the best
one more thing I forgot to add. Before your manager goes ask her about all outstanding correspondance and follow-ups. You don't want to be approached by someone later asking for a particular issue that you have no knowledge of.
oh yeah, she's taking care of that, she's really efficient and professional, she's already told me she's gona brief me abt everything and fill me in :) thanks Zombie
[QOUTE]
have any of u guys made such a transition at ur workplace? how was it? specially from the aspect im talking abt in the post...
yes, I was acting Snr Installations Engineer for about three months a very good experience indeed. Then I relocated and now I am managing my own team as Snr Technical Adviser. but I miss all field work now. :-(
make sure that your manager meets with you and the 2 ppl who will be reporting to you. he should meet with u separately to discuss your role and all, and listen to you, then he should meet with the other 2 and tell them that they will be reporting to you in the interim, and then have the meeting with the three of you, so everyone is on teh same page.
This way when u have to supervise these ppl, they will know that its not some whim but you are all managing your manager's expectations.
Treat them as colleagues, no pwer trips and no I am the boss attitude. You may have to use it in some situation but lets leave it for such times.
Umer bhai woh asal mein ahmadjee pichlay paanch saaloN se apnay aafis mein safai ka kaam kar rhay haen aur un ki promotion nai na hui is lyay he's getting jealous na :D samjha karein :D
koi gal nai ahmadjee, hasad na karein mehnat karein :D maybe quitting ur burger ways will help too :D
Mr F cool ideas, thanks :) our manager did meet up with all of us and explained everything, still some issues left to clear out though, which will prolly happen later this week i think.
ahmadjee :p company kee toh kismat jaag uthi hae :p
Congratulations ... you have accomplished a lot since you moved to KHI .... cool
In my career I have gove from a colleague to being the manager and I know what you are feeling. For me the transition was bit hard because of my tight friendships with everyone. In your case you should not worry about that at all. If you have true friends in your office they will not let you down. If you have faith in them, then they will have faith in you.
Since this is a temporary assignment, I would recommend that you run the team/business the same way as tour manager does. Make sure that you understand how your manager runs the show, what are the priorities, what are the risks and how do you mitigate those risks and what are the individual responsibilities and expectations. Document everything. And as previously metioned ask your manager to call a team meeting and to let everyone know that you are the manager in her absence.
Also understand the difference between a good manager and a good leader. These two very different skills. Being a good manager, does not necessarily means that you are a good leader. I have met many good managers at through out my career, they are good because they get the job done and meet their objectives, in other words they know how to delegate, when to delegate and how to keep track of the delegated work.. Having identified this difference, I believe that leadership skills are as important as good management skills and they are developed over time. I believe in "Lead by Example" philosophy, it has been ingrained in me after 13 years of Army service. What it means in this context, is that you must not forget the human factors that effect the every day work life. As a manager you must learn and understand the personalities that make up your team and use that knowledge to get your business objectives fulfilled while providing a sense of fulfillment to each and every member of your team. A happy team is a more productive team. Lets face it, we spend more time at work, then at any other place except when we are sleeping. We must treat our work place as a family unit and breed a family environment.
Best of luck .... I know you do not need any ... you are the best of the best
hey thanks for such kind and gracious words Boston indeed very sweet of u..thanks very much :k:
hmm…i havent achieved anything major..but thanks anyways
and u r right abt being a good manager and leader…true dat,
and thats very good advice that if i have faith in them then they’ll have faith in me..
thank you
Work is work. Professionalism is professionalism. You can have good relations with staff being a manager. Although, cz of added responsibility, a little professional approach would be required and well, your colleagues must understand that. If they do not, it is their headache not yours. They must understand that you cannot joke around as much as before. Even if you do that, trying not to effect your earlier relationship, it would effect your responsibilities as a temp manager. Try not to be too sweet when you are at work. It doesnt cont. What counts at work is your work and your professionalism.