From Allahbad to Islamabad

Let’s just assume for a moment that “[Urdu-speaking] Mohajirs [in fact] were the vanguard of the Pakistan Movement, which advocated the partition of British India in order to create the independent nation of Pakistan for Indian Muslims [as per Encarta research]”.

How come Allahbad, UP didn’t become the capital of Pakistan?

It is high time that the vanguards guarded themselves from the cooked up theories.

*Originally posted by ravage: *
....How come Allahabad didnt become the capital? .... Anyhow, presumably because it is not in a contiguous Muslim area .....

So the people of Allahbad couldn't partition their own state but they successfully partitioned the whole Subcontinent. Boy! They were really powerful and assertive.

As I said, myths about creation of Pakistan are abundant. Even Encarta can have trouble keeping its story straight.

P.S. Ravage I admire your love for Pakistan. Unfortunately you “presume” too much about the history of Pakistan. All that just to support your “suni sunaa-i kahani”.

sue the encyclepedia/microsoft. mujhse kyu lartey ho..

btw. my point was about the urdu speaking people being from urban areas, whereas you had somehow taken my statement of migrants coming from urbanised areas to relatively underdeveloped areas as an ethnic slur. And you had contested the numbers that came in, which again I substantiated from a source as opposed to your fixation with coming up with rhyming words and believing that you’ve actually made a point.. :slight_smile: (which works fairly well in most cases)

heres the paragraph again:

Provide a reference of equal/comparable stature phir baat karo. apni taraf say hanknay ka faida? suni sunayi kahaniyon kay itnay khilaf ho to lao na likhi established kahani apni.

sahibzaday, isi liay partition kia tha country because people at that time believed in the nation, the ideaology more than ethnicities..

A correction, besides Urdu speakers, bengalis and Sindhis were also at the vanguard of the Pakistan movement

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
A correction, besides Urdu speakers, Bengalis and Sindhis were also at the vanguard of the Pakistan movement

Punjabis, Pakhtuns, Sindhis, Bengalis were just sleeping day and night. Only one group had the wherewithal to be the van-mud-guard. Thanks to Encarta the history's truth finally comes out.

haha obl, why so bitter?

my original point stands substantiated with figures and references that the migrants were from urban areas settling in relatively under developed areas at the time of partition. you've been crying since without providing a single scrap of sourcing unless more rhyming counts.

agay rotay raho agar nahi mili mud guard ki trophy. sanu ki.

zakk, every part of what used to be India was critical. mudguard shudguard kuch nahi honda si.

was karachi less urban than lucknow or kanpur? i really doubt that. possibly UP walay were more educated than the locals to fill the voids in jobs left behind by hindus.

funny how india never had a parallel for this mohajir issue.

ravage: I don't disagree with your argument..just stating facts ...The original Muslim League was created in East bengal and the Sindh Assembly was the first province to support the Pakistan resolution.

The League was essentially a reaction to the Congress's domination and discrimination towards Muslims in Muslim minority provinces. As such in Muslim majority areas like NWFP and Baluchistan, you had no Muslim League tehrik till quite late..

india was a bigger country and absorbed proportionally vastly fewer people queer.

and apparently the business class in karachi was majorly Hindu/Gujrati which correspondingly went on the other side. The Muslim gujratis remain tho.

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
ravage: I don't disagree with your argument..just stating facts ...The original Muslim League was created in East bengal and the Sindh Assembly was the first province to support the Pakistan resolution.

The League was essentially a reaction to the Congress's domination and discrimination towards Muslims in Muslim minority provinces. As such in Muslim majority areas like NWFP and Baluchistan, you had no Muslim League tehrik till quite late..

Sindh technically also classifies as a 'minority' province no? because of its association with Bombay in the elections. Im guessing that might have contributed some.

The devision of different provinces or counties was based on the following criteria.

Where there were more muslims would be part of pakistan.
Where there would be majority of hindus would be part of india.

So Raja sahab of mehmouda abad left his rajwara and came to pakistan; since in his county hindos were more, then muslim.
that was true for abads of india; at first place and second was their geographical position, to be still a part of india.

but although in kashmir; muslims were in majority; the king of kashmir had joined india, a cheater who ignored the criteria.So plabaside is due in khasmir till date.

It has to do with muslims living in india either punjabies, kashmeries, luknawies or from any urdu speaking part; that they are the ones who started the movement and they are the ones who did all the job of bringing pakistan on the map of the world.

If they are calling themselves mohajirs as QOUM, it is wrong, but if they call them mouhajir as adjective it is 100% correct. Bye sokoon

Funny how the best Urdu literature is written by Punjabis (both East and West). Before partition, Lahore had more colleges than any other Indian city (Lahore also was over 60% Hindu). Before the partition there were many teachers/professors (mainly Hindus) in Lahore, but after the partition, they left. So education wasn’t an ‘Urdu’ phenomenon, but an urban one, because most of India was agrarian. My maternal great grandfather was the only professor of Physics/math in Lahore in 1947 who bicycled between two colleges to give lectures. It is a knucklehead’s idea to think of ‘indigenous people’ less educated. I think Encarta probably copied it from some Paki history book written by a ‘Mohajir’ trying to trump up how better ‘educated’ they were. I am sure their coffers are filled with Nobles and Bookers. I once took my Karachi friends to my village in Punjab and they were amazed to see my London U educated cousins doing farming.

Mohajir people, here’s your contribution to Pakistan: tabacco wala paan; dawn akhbar; and paper thin chapatis that I need four to make a decent nawala.

:jhanda:

Can we have a Punjabi Jhanda smiley? Izabout time.

*Originally posted by sokoon: *
The devision different provinces or counties was based on the following criteria.

Where there were more muslims would be part of pakistan.
Where there would be majority of hindus would be part of india.

I wish it was that simple.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
Mohajir people, here’s your contribution to Pakistan: tabacco wala paan; dawn akhbar; and paper thin chapatis that I need four to make a decent nawala.

Please avoid attacking all Mohajirs. Mohajir bashing can't help anyone in Pakistan.

The term Mohajir in itself is misleading. In 1947 we had Punjabi-Speaking Mohajirs (5-10 million) and Urdu-Speaking Mohajirs (100-200 thousand).

Punjabi Mohajirs moved because of mutually assured cleansing in Punjab. There was only one big wave of this group.

Urdu Mohajirs had many waves. The first-wave of 100-200 thousand was displaced due to 1947 riots.

The reasons were simple!

The riots of 1947 were mainly concentrated in Punjab and Delhi area.
UP and Bihar saw very little of the 1947 trouble. Although those areas did see a lot of death and destruction in 1946 and prior).

So most of these Punjabi and Urdu Mohajirs ended up in West Punjab.

Punjabi Mohajirs slowly settled in Punjab urban areas like Lahore, Lyallpur (Faisalabad), and Multan. They were also settled in rural Punjab like Burewala area, and few in Multan.

Urdu Mohajirs settled in Lahore, and Khanewal initially. They also got allotment of ice factories in Lahore, Multan, and Khanewal.

Soon a large number headed to the then Pakistani capital Karachi. They were also joined by even larger waves of economic migrants coming through Sindh border of Khokhrapar.

Why?

To be continued

OBL, where have I attacked Mohajirs? I am not doing any Mohajir bashing either. I was just commenting on the comment made about Mohajirs being more educated than indigenous population of Pakistan. Which is certainly not true. Additionally, natives of Punjab were not consulted by the “makers” of Pakistan. As Qudratullah Shahab said, “Paksitan Aagay Hey”.

A proud Punjabi!

Yaar, I don’t get it. I really don’t. what is this about bashing thing? Why is it OK for Pakis to bash the West – the Arabs – the Hindus… but why can’t we bash our own idiots? Wut you say? I think selective bashing is really dangerous. If not universal, it should at least encompass as much as possible, starting with one’s own. I say if we can get rid of 90% MAToos (including 3/4th of MQM) and people who live in Islamabad, we will be a much progressive country.