Friends you never meet

So the other day I was sitting somewhere and this move “Horton hears a Who” was playing (its based on the Dr. Seuss book of the same name).

In the story there’s this happy-go-lucky elephant who’s enjoying life and minds his own business. One day while he’s out having fun he suddenly hears a scream. He looks around and tries to figure out where the sound came from and he discovers that its from a tiny spec of dust that is floating by him. Later he discovers that the spec was a planet of its own with tons of people living their lives on it, with families and friends and other community members. Horton gets to talking with the Mayor of Whoville and they become friends. (for the rest of the story you’d have to see the movie :stuck_out_tongue: ).

Watching the movie I was suddenly reminded on how our lives are like Horton the elephant or even the Mayor, over the internet in general and on Gupshup specifically. A lot of us have been members here for years. Here we have our discussions we have our daily dose of friends time. We bring all our problems here to discuss not only with people who we are comfortable with but also others who we may not even know. We share our ideas, our emotions, we shed our tears and share our joys. Some of us even have had their e-dholkis here before their wedding (:D).

There is always a feeling that maybe I (we) will have opportunities to meet all those people matter so much in our lives and who have come so close to us and touched our lives and souls.

After watching this movie it suddenly hit me that chances are that we may never meet most of these beings. And the fun part of that realization was, that it doesn’t really matter.

All of us are from different worlds and we should just enjoy the selected few times that we can spare to spend with our online friends and not put so much pressure on in-person meets. So what do you think?

Re: Friends you never meet

You are right.This is a new world. When we were young, we were always thinking how to pass the time and that is why we got much friends. now a days thanks to internet you can see some people arround you.OUr times olds were lucky to get together with friends and relatives , Now a days thousands miles are between us and our friend and relatives.

So let's have a block partyyy!

I'll bring the pina coladas!

We should have a global meet of some sort. All expenses paid by Azkar and his team.

:lajawab:
ehsan uncle was booking tickets for us but pata nahi kahaan ghayeb ho gaye :hinna:

Friend is a dying breed.

:nahi: aisa nahi hai

^ Are u saying on every one's behalf!

nahi mai sirf apni rai de rahi hoon :)

Acha, laiken waqt ke saath raye badal bhi jati hain.

jub woh waqt ayega tub badal laingey :)

I know u will.

kyon:5:

This is "our world" where we are who we want to be and we interact with whom we want and share things with whom we want......where we follow "our rules" ................

Why change a perfect world with a perfect balance with reality ******! :)

i loved horton.. “we are here we are here we are here we are here”

yeh we’ve watched it 100 times :bummer:

Hain?? So who do you HAVE TO meet in real life? Even there I am who I want to be, I meet with whom I want and share things with whoever I want and mostly follow my own rules.

The point was to find out why it bothers us that we may not see/meet our friends.

If we met some people on here, we'd be able to make a friendship "stronger" because ya like them and might want to get to know them more

So true!!