Friends & Enemies

It is easier to forgive an enemy than to forgive a friend.

This is a quote that popped up on my google app. I thought about it and I think I don’t agree.
](Quote Details: William Blake: It is easier to... - The Quotations Page)

Re: Friends & Enemies

I somewhat agree with the quote....sometimes it is hard to forgive someone you trusted.

Its true sometimes. you don't trust your enemies, you don't do much for them, you don't expect much from them...so it hurts a little ..and you forgive them easily. Even before forgiving and after forgiving you really dont care and think much about enemies its almost forgive and forget...but someone close to you ..a dear friend is always on your mind !

but hey apna marey ga tu saeeey main tu daley gaa :)

I agree with that. Unless the enemy is someone who has given you hell then mai marte dam tak nahi bholongi kameeni ko but apart from that yes if you got hurt because of a friend it hurts more kyonke jis par aitemad kya us ne hi tour diya.

Hamme tu apno ne maara, ghairon ka kya hai.

It is easier to forgive an enemy. Forget and forgive. A friend, especially a good friend or a best friend VERY HARD.

So what you guys are saying is that a friend deserves less because he/she not only broke some covenant you held with him/her that needs to be forgiven and forgotten but also your trust. So he/she is twice at fault.

Right?

So when you forgive (and I really mean you) do you forgive the act, or the person or neither?

I forgive the act and person but I don't forget

I am with NJ.

I read 'not forget' as I mistrust or that I fear to be hurt again the same way.

True - you have to careful not to make the same mistakes twice or else you are not really learning from your mistakes.

It's natural to put up your gaurd so you won't be hurt again.

I really don't think I've ever forgiven my enemies. I just don't care for them enough to give it a thought.

I don’t understand HOW it could be easier to forgive an enemy. Yes, its not easy to forgive a friend who hurts you, but everyone makes mistakes and I’d rather forgive the mistakes of those that I truly care for (and vice versa) rather than silly enemies who would have had to do something REALLY bad to be my enemies in the first place.. in which case, I wouldn’t want anything to do with them. :hmmm:

So yeah, I disagree.

^ Interesting take.

The reason I disagree is because I consider the act of forgiveness reflects more on the forgiver than the deed or person(s) being forgiven. If I chose to forgive someone, it says something about me rather than it says something about the person I am forgiving (being my friend or enemy)

I am hoping to be convinced otherwise.

very hee interesting question, i thunk , thunk and thunk and i have come to the conclusion that it is easier to forgive an enemy, dost kee to aisee kee taisee !!!

Meh..life's way too short to make enemies and not forgive/forget friends.

(I realized that on the death bed..I am serious..)

Holding grudges or anger is the worst thing you can do to yourself or to anyone else. Just let it go...we don't have much time here anyways. Better to invest that time and energy into something worthwhile.

It is a silly quote. Question of forgiving an enemy does not arise. You expect cheating, lying, dagabazi and everything else from your enemy. Not from your friends.