Friends and their reputation

Re: Friends and their reputation

My parents, who though of my friend as their daughter, wanted me to do this as well but I decided I wanted to talk to her myself. If your friend is respectful and your families have that close of a relationship, maybe your parents CAN talk to her?

How are your friend's parents doing?

hey soconfused, yup lots of things you mentioned here do sound a lot like my bff... and our community here is very small too, just like you mentioned. i will surely talk to her again but i already have numerous times as i believe it is my duty as a Muslim. initially, she did say that she will stop drinking and break up with her bf. however, she started drinking again and now is dating another guy who is pakistani but shares the same habits as her.

i do think McPendo is right, some people do not change. it's saddening since i truly love her as she is my best friend. i do have other pakistani close friends who are not like her, but i am closest to my bff as we know each other longer than i have ever known anyone else.

how they are doing in terms of? her family is simple, financially ok and they're religious people. her mom is a grandmother, bff's elder sis is a banker and a perfect daughter. also, bff has a sis who is 2 yrs younger than her and she now drinks etc as well. it saddens me as their parents are such nice people (her mom is from bombay) and so is her older sister.

but i guess people, no matter how much we care for them and try to put sense into them, cannot be changed if they themselves do not want to change. Allah unki madad karein :)

I would def tell your friend that people in ur community know and that it might get to her parents. That'll save you the embarrassment.

Friends come and go. But the friends you wish to keep should be those who want to keep you around as well. :)

It reminds me of the part of the Quran where God tells us that there's some people that have the signs in front of them but it falls on deaf ears. You do your fardh as a Muslim but that's it. I found myself being a "pity friend" and it was miserable. I was talking to her because no one was and I was worried bout her, but her lifestyle and choices (poor decisions) were stressing ME out. So I had to let go. We used to text every day but now I only hear from her if she thinks she's pregnant (happens more often than I'd like to think).

Normally I would advise this but after a point, there's no sharam or lihaaz left. My friend had her mother WALK IN ON her and her hindu bf doing the nasty at her house...was almost thrown out of the house but did she learn her lesson? nope. Instead, it completely took away any sharam or pardah and now she does what she wants without any fear of her parents or their reputation. When people cross the line and go SO FAR, there's very little chance of returning unless God intervenes and guides them.

i like that u refer to the Quran and our religion. my dad always reminds me that Allah has said in the Quran that we should not befriends with the disbelievers. (Surah 4:144)

What did her dad do?

the difference between OP's friend and mine is that OP's friend's parents are religoius. My friends parents arent. The dad drinks. He wanted to throw her out but the mom (who walked in on them engaging in inappropriate activity) cried and created a fuss, said she was going ot kill herself. And that ended that. My friend didn't learn anything.

bei bri bri achi suggestions di hn sb logon ne itni achi k main ziada perh b nei paya. khair baji ji ap apni dost ko chor kr kisi or achi lrki se dosti kr lo. bt khtm. dost apni mehfil se e pehchana jata hy. or phir ye na ho k kbi ap b us k sath reh reh kr waisi ho jao. so atleast save ur self.

Friends and their reputation

Inshallah aisa nahin hoga k main us jaisi hojaaon. Magar ji aap sab ke mushware wohi hain jo meri ammi ne diye hain aur jo main bhi soch rahi thi.

in conclusion I'll be reducing my contact with her and also try putting more sense into her

as u wish but as long as u are connected with her. People will think of u as think of her later or sooner.

stay away from her, and stay away from her activities.

this is gonna be one confusing mess for kids growing up in a majority non-muslim school/uni environment, with a household that believes in such awesomely pristine values.

Qur'aan does NOT prohibit frienship with non-muslims...Qur'aan says, "do NOT take non-believers as your WALI"...now, the word WALI means Guardian/Avisor...NOT Friend!

If a Muslim couldn't be friends with disbelievers a Muslim man wouldn't be allowed to marry a Christian woman, would he?

thank you for the clarification. :)

In this day and age a Christian is not the same type of Christian that was around in the Prophet's time. The reason why it was allowed for a muslim man to marry a christian woman was because the beliefs of muslims and christians at that time were extremely similar and any children that came from that union would not be confused by two different religions and sets of moral values. These days however a muslim man couldn't really marry a christian woman unless she was like the christians in the time of the Prophet ie thinking and mind set etc.

To the OP: Try and talk some sense into her, she's your friend so you should try and help her but if its not working then well... that's that.

My friend used to be fine then she found a guy and they've been going out for two years now.
I didn't find out till last year when she told me.
She said that I wouldnt approve and thats why she didnt tell me. I do not approve and she knows.
Now she wants to marry him but is dragging it out.
I asked my husband about it and he said it seems like she wants the fun but none of the responsibility that comes with marriage and that's why she's dragging it out. She doesn't really want to marry him, she just wants to enjoy herself.
What can you do?

Thats judgmental of you o.O

I don't think the Muslims are the same as they were before at least I hope not... I would like to believe people aren't being massacred or overrun because they believe in a different religion.