Yo I don’t know if this comes across as rude or racist however when I go to the mosque for jummah I notice there’s this strong odor of curry and hummus at the mosque, it’s really strong and can be distracting for people that don’t eat a lot of that kind of food at home, I feel like most of the congregants don’t notice it and mosque admin aren’t doing anything about it. I feel like a mosque should smell good, it’s part of the experience of praying in a mosque but every time I go there it’s just uncomfortable.
Do you guys notice thisnat your mosques? This is what it’s like at most of the mosques in my area.
Our local masjid places food on tables that are set outside the mosque…or in the center that is adjacent to the masjid. There is sometimes a fragrance of bukhoor/incense and some can find that to be strong as well, but it doesn’t bother me. Perhaps you can somehow (in person or via email or even anonymously) kindly suggest that the food be placed outdoors. It’s possible that nobody has said anything about it before and they might open to making that change.
It’s admirable, MashaAllah, that you still go to the masjid. I’m so proud of you, Third Yarn.
The thing is that it isn’t food lol, they don’t serve food there. It’s probably the congregants who are mostly desis and arabs. I feel like if they aired out the mosque and febreezed it down then it’d be much better.
hmm…at first I thought you were talking about your masjid. Easy fix: buy air fresheners, and maybe people will take a hint!
Telling someone they stink or their breath stinks is always gonna be tricky to work around. You could always stand by the entrance and spritz people with cologne as they walk in! I dare you
Edit: I think my brothers attended a masjid that had oud for people to use. They would smell real nice when they’d come home, and I’d ask what it was. So basically a guy would put some oud on his hands and go around shaking others’ hands giving salaam. That’s option #2.
Pull aside the khateeb before jummah and ask him kindly to address the sunnahs of coming to masjid with regards to hygiene, clothes, smells, appearances…etc. Option #3. Now I’m out of options.
The thing is that it isn't food lol, they don't serve food there. It's probably the congregants who are mostly desis and arabs. I feel like if they aired out the mosque and febreezed it down then it'd be much better.
Lol thanks it's an obligation.
Ohhh acha. I used to teach at an Islamic school and every Friday there would be a food sale, but again, it was mostly outdoors.
I dunno what to tell you. On a jummah, you're gonna have more people and jummah khutba/prayer takes place during lunch-ly hours so people may have come after eating their curry and hummus. :p
Maybe you can ACTUALLY suggest that the mosque be aired out or febreezed or have them scented plug-in thingies....(warm vanilla notes infused with undercurrent of curried sweat)? Place a clothespin on your nose? But that would hurt. And you'll make enemies. You could just be a mouth-breather every Friday afternoon? I know!!! Wear a mask that blocks out most of the smell. Tell em you're a surgeon. But then you'll look suspicious. Wait! What if that mask is a niqaab? Hmmm? You'll blend right in! And you can find yourself a girl that way. Kill three birds with one stone: no odor/ibadat/holy matrimony.
^^I tried... TS...I really did. :(
And yes, I know it's an obligation..but not everyone adheres to it. And Alhumdolillah you do. So, I'm still proud of you.
All jokes aside..just be honest TS. I don't think it's offensive to make the requests/suggestions you mentioned above. Depends how you word it. They make try to do something about it.
Ohhh acha. I used to teach at an Islamic school and every Friday there would be a food sale, but again, it was mostly outdoors. I
dunno what to tell you. On a jummah, you're gonna have more people and jummah khutba/prayer takes place during lunch-ly hours so people may have come after eating their curry and hummus. :p
Maybe you can suggest that the mosque be aired out or febreezed or have them scented plug-in thingies....(warm vanilla notes infused with undercurrent of curried sweat). Place a clothespin on your nose...but that would hurt. You could just be a mouth-breather every Friday afternoon. Wear a mask that blocks out most of the smell. Tell em you're a surgeon. But then you'll make enemies....you can't take all of them curry-eaters on all by yourself. But wait....unless that mask is a niqaab.? You'll blend right in. And you can find yourself a girl that way. Kill three birds with one stone: no odor/ibadat/holy matrimony.
^^I tried... TS...I really did. :(
And yes, I know it's an obligation..but not everyone adheres to it. And Alhumdolillah you do.
All jokes aside..just be honest TS. I don't think it's offensive to make the request you mentioned above. Depends how you word it. They make try to do something about it.
Girrrrrllll...I've been scarred for life when I went to a masjid for jummah, one which I don't normally go to. A guy had entered the ladies side, and there was such a commotion! Threats of calling the police, arrest, homicide (none of which were made by the ladies) From what I got the guy was looking for his daughter because someone kidnapped her.
Makes a really good scenario for a novel...whaddyathink?
Edit: Have you ever watched the movie American Desi?? The scene when he goes into the girl's dorms and her parents drop in... HILARIOUS!
Yo…Third String…what Punjabee is hinting at here is that it coulda been a lot worse…and you just need to be grateful that you’re only fending off curried hummus and not a kidnapper.
Rather then asking admins or peoples visiting Masjid, we can do our part of job like use of air-freshener or carpet freshener (powder type perfume) to keep atmosphere pleasant. Indeed there is great reward for those who keep Masjid clean.
It is narrated in a hadith that "A black man or a lady use to clean Masjid. He or she passed-away. One day Prophet Muhammad :saw2: asked about him or her and people replied that he or she passed away. The Prophet :saw2: said to them why you didn’t informed me? And then He :saw2: asked to show me his or her grave and He :saw2: offered funeral prayer for him or her.
What we understand from above hadith that indeed there is a great reward in keeping a Masjid clean. Even our Prophet :saw2: offered funeral prayer after when He :saw2: came to know about him or her.
Furthermore, In Glorious Qur’an it is mentioned “**Wal-Sabikoon As-Sabikoon **(56:10)”, means “As for the Foremost, they will be the foremost!” (Sabiqoon (the foremost) implies the people who excelled others in virtue and love of the truth and in good works and responded to the call of Allah and His Messenger (peace be upon him) before others).
So why to wait for others if we can do something and get more good deeds before they get it. And it is a noble work in sight of Almighty Allah and His Prophet :saw2: