How does it work, I have almost 100,000 miles with a major US Airlines. I dont know how and where to use them. I hear one is allowed to sell/buy frequent flyer miles. Has anyone tried it ?? Does anyone know how to use them ?
asif
most airlines discourage selling and buying of airline miles between ppl. Its getting tougher to do so now. 100k miles is not a whole lot to really get much out of it. if you had more miles I would have suggested using them to get a vacation or something.
The airlines usually have partnerships with places like sharper image etc, you could probably use the miles towards a gift certificate and get something from there, they also have deals with hotel chains so u can get hotel stay coupons as well.
You may want to see how many miles does it take for you to get a free flight to a destination you are really interested in. if you have enough miles for it, redeem the miles, if you are a bit short, u can buy the miles from the airline.
100K miles is not a lot?. I think you can cash two business class to Hawaii easily. That would be an awesome vacation.
Mr. Fraudi was probably referring to a trip into space when he said 100k isnt enough.(You'd actually need 10million for that, according to US Airways-they have that as an offer)
Asif,
call the airline rewards line .. the number would be on your monthly statement somewhere or the airlines website..
they have partners so you may buy merchandize instead of choosing travel (an option for those who can't get time off for travel).. or if you travel u can upgrade from economy by using something like 10,000 miles per upgrade.
People are right 100,000 are enough miles to give two people economy Continental US/Mexico/Canada/Alaska round trips and then some.
100k is not a whole lot. its not a small amount but its not going to get you to Europe or Brazil in busy season. check teh blackout dates as well.
warna jao mexico ghoom aao.
My advise would be to nto kill your miles on lame azz trips to mexico and alaska etc, you can add some more iles and go to some place worth visiting. as far as mexico and alaska go you can buy cheaper tickets rather than blow yer hard earned miles on a full fare ticket.
you have accumulated a heck good number of miles..which could in turn be redeemed for upgrades or even free tickets. contact the airline and they should give you all the info.
Thank you everyone for your wonderful suggestions.
Fraudiya ji - vacation to Alaska is lame azz ?? Bhaiya ab kya aap Mars ki sair karenge ?
i was watching that movie insomnia..and its shot in alaska....it looks so damn beautiful...i wouldnt wanna live there but you can go there in the summer....you wont even see the moon for months
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Thank you everyone for your wonderful suggestions.
Fraudiya ji - vacation to Alaska is lame azz ?? Bhaiya ab kya aap Mars ki sair karenge ?
sir ji, believe me you dont want to go to alaska right now.
when you do want to go, i.e. summer the air miles you will use will be at a fullfare basis, and blackout periods may apply. It may make more sense to buy a discount ticket which will be at a third of the published full price rather than kill your freq flier miles.
What I meant by places woth going was that if you keep the miles for a lil bit more you and a significant other can do a 3-4 city tour to south america or Europe and that will be a good usage of those miles. Of course thats assuming the presence of a significant others and no problem visas for those countries.
but if you want to go to alaska now, go, whatever floatrs yer boat baby. You asked for opiniosn, you got some, now if you dunn like one, ya dunn hafta follow it.
funguy and hskhan had some ideas, ask them to post some worthwhile trips at a time when you want to go. long weekends etc :)
Hazrat funguy nar farmaya
*100K miles is not a lot?. I think you can cash two business class to Hawaii easily. That would be an awesome vacation. *
PakistaniAbroad kay alfaaz..
*People are right 100,000 are enough miles to give two people economy Continental US/Mexico/Canada/Alaska round trips and then some. *
So PA says that u can get 2 economy tickets to fly in "continental" US or alaksa etc, funguy suggests that you can get 2 business class tickets to hawaii :)
there is a diff between economy tix to dubuque iowa, and business class to hawaii innit :)
as I said, check the deals and whether they are worth using up the miles or get some more miles to use it for soemthing really fun..
Fraudia Sirji - Aap to lagta hai Naraaz ho gaye. Sirji, I was just asking for more clarification, and thank you for that. Btw - My miles are with Continental and I think I can use those miles for something better.
yaar asif bhai aap say kaisi narazgi..I was noting people who were talking smack without really giving you any real advise.
100k miles are hard to earn, I just would recommend that you use them in the best possible manner. I am giving advise from my perspective, and your situation and interests could be different.