Freedom to refuse

to getting married to a particular someone. wat does islam say about that?

like…how important is the consent of a girl to getting married to someone.

for example..if my parents REALLY want me to get married to this guy…the guyz family realllyy wants their son to get married to me…everyone wants it to take place…except me…to wat extent do i have the rite to just say NO. this is just “for example”..if my parents are emotionally torturing/blackmailing me…to say yes…n that it wont be their responsibility to get me married if i say no to this rishta…and i haveeee to get marrried to this guy if i want their khushi…and they wont be happy with anyone else…and they wont have a responsibility or anything if i decide to not marry this one person…
like…wat shud a person do in a condition liek that. this person doesnt have many reasons to say NO to this family…its a great family…but she just doesnt LIKE the guy…for watever reasons..lets say looks. she just doesnt find him attractive. she has the rite to say no BECAUSE of that rite?

can anyone please post any hadees or surahs or jo bhi regarding this.
i really need to know :)…i really need to know how much rights do parents have on their kids n how much rights to girls have on deciding their own life partner. :slight_smile:

Re: Freedom to refuse

This is a hanafi fatwa. No reference though. I am sure that you can find lot of references if you do a search

http://www.islam.tc/ask-imam/view.php?q=1458

Well we can leave the fatwa aside Tariq bahi , it not gona work in her case , read between the lines bruv , Bibi doesn’t wana marry to that specific bloke for what so ever reason , I don’t appreciate parents doing emotional black mailing but on other hand she isn’t able to produce a valid reason for saying NO to that chap .

Just disliking some body because of his looks is bit brainless and cockamamie. I assume she must be in her early twenties . Wish her best of luck but I say bibi , let the water runs a bit and you will see the practical side of it .

^^ When it comes to marriage, logic and facts are one thing, but if your heart is not set on something, one should give that some importance too. Rani has a right to refuse, even without having a logical reasoning.

Ehemmm... Rani Bibi, BTW, Alyish is a young, good looking, educated guy who....

What am I talking about?

Sorry.

Although yr man Iqbal said

Acha hai Dil kay saath rahay pasban.ay aqal
Lakin khabii khabar ishay tanha be chor day

But I say one shouldn’t let the heart decides every thing when it comes to marriage. Still in our culture it more between families then individuals, therefore they are loads of other banal factors, one shouldn’t disregard.

Btw thanks for your match making stuff , I m Alhamd happily engaged:)