Freedom of press in Pakistan.

Is the press really free in Pakistan?

I have heard the only reason the press is getting away with stories that might criticize the government is because many newspapers/media are overseas based, over which Pakistani govt has no jurisdiction.

Is this true?

Re: Freedom of press in Pakistan.

The press is freer today than it was 5 years ago, and while this wave of free expression was started by satellite channels, local channels and print media have caught on to it as well, and the government for the most part has kept its hands off of them.

Its still not as free as it should be, but its better than before.

Pakistani media is more free then hindian media. In INdia they wont let journalists and movie people show you documetaries on Gujrat genocides in india

and now PBH u have opened the debate for indian guppies..... :D
now we all will fight again..india vs. pakistan khetle hai.
we are talking about freedom of press in pakistan why bring india in....

homer J simpson from springfield,

yaar, all these hindians come here to bash pakistan, yet they don't look in their own dhoti.

IN pakistan the media shows everything including rallies in favor of rape victims, yet in india they won't show footage of gujrat genocide on national tv.

bhai merey if indians are bashing u don;t have to go down to their level...anyways if u want to give a reply---u shud give logical replies not emotional ones...because then they make fun of u and pakistanis...and thats the thing i don't like....man u forgot in pakistan PTV which is our national channel government badalne ke saath news bhi badal deta hai....make a note of it when BB or ganja come back into power in future (if they ever come back)....its our National Television who had banned Imran Khan before...just because he was asking for accountability from Govt

jai hind
screw you pak brave heart

a dozen morons like you and pakistan will sure get flushed down the toilet. fortunately God wouldn’t make the same mistake 12 times.

Now here is a real example for Freedom of Speech, from the people who brought you Liberate Afghanistan and Iraq 2004:

FBI Seizes Indymedia Servers in the UK
Thursday morning, US authorities issued a federal order to Rackspace ordering them to hand over information hosted on Indymedia web servers to the FBI. Rackspace, which provides hosting services for more that 20 Indymedia sites at its London facility, complied by turning over two Indymedia servers to federal authorities, effectively removing those sites from the internet.

Indymedia, a global network of independent non-corporate media organizations, had been asked last month by the FBI to remove a story about Swiss undercover police from one of the websites hosted at Rackspace. It is not known, however, whether Thursday’s order is related to that incident since the order was issued to Rackspace and not to Indymedia. According to Rackspace, they “cannot provide Indymedia with any information regarding the order.” ISPs have received gag orders in similar situations which prevent them from informing concerned parties about what is happening.

It is unclear to Indymedia how and why a server that is outside US jurisdiction can be seized by US authorities.

The last few months have seen numerous attacks on independent media by the US Federal Government. In August, the Secret Service used a subpoena in an attempt to disrupt the New York City Independent Media Center before the Republican National Convention by trying to obtain their IP logs from ISPs in the US and the Netherlands. Also, in the past month, the FCC shut down community radio stations throughout the US. Despite these setbacks, Indymedia and other independent media organizations have enjoyed recent victories against Diebold and the Patriot Act.

The list of local media collectives affected by the FBI seizure includes Ambazonia, Uruguay, Andorra, Poland, Western Massachusetts, Nice, Nantes, Lilles, Marseille, Euskal Herria (Basque Country), Liege, East and West Vlaanderen, Antwerpen (all Belgium), Belgrade, Portugal, Prague, Galiza, Italy, Brazil, UK, and Germany. Additionally, several streaming radio stations, a Linux distribution site, and other services hosted on those servers were also affected.
http://www.zmag.org/content/showarticle.cfm?SectionID=4&ItemID=6377

So the press in Pakistan is not free.

Thanks.

LOL, where did you get that one from? Look if you are going to make suppositions then please do so by all means but dont refute actual evidence provided to you in support of Pakistani free press.

Have a nice day!