One of my Indian friend’s brother went to India from the USA recently. He had bought a digital camcorder for his own use from the USA for about 600 bucks…
When he went there people told him to try selling it, he sold it and ended up selling it for one lakh rupees…which is almost double of its cost price…
that compensated for his ticket home…
My friend is now going to India and she is taking several of these camcorders to sell there…
I still have to collect info about this from relatives in Pak about whether this idea will work in Pak too, but it sounds like a really good idea…
Just thought I’d post it here so others could do the same if they wanted…
^yeh to sareeh shylock wala interest hai… i don think it’s right :halo:
..in any case, this seemingly risk-free arbitrage doesn’t appeal to me…and i personally think that people are generally savy enuf to gauge value of an item (this instance seems like an exception though)
While i do think you may be able to earn a decent profit (for such high-value items, profit to the tune of about 30%) on a per item basis…however please don’t think you would be lucky to buy yourself two-way free trips
Hmmm Why don’t you think its right? What’s wrong with it?
I didn’t suggest conning someone or fooling someone about the value of the item, its just that this stuff is avlbl for cheaper in the US [especially if you buy it through e-bay etc] than it is in Pakistani markets…
And you do spend time and effort looking for a cheap deal and taking it to Pakistan which is also worth some price…
Its kind of similar to how people get shalwar kameezes made for cheap in Pakistan and sell them for much more when they bring them to the USA…
This kind of stuff is very common. I’ve never done it myself because I just was lazy but I have seen students bringing marble, leather items in small quantities to sell in the USA and sometimes people take electronic goods to sell in Pakistan…
Its simply a good and completely OK business opportunity in my humble opinion…
What about paying custom on it Faisal bhai? Won't there be a decent profit margin even after the customs clearance?
And in this case my friend's brother only took one camcorder so he didn't declare it at customs from what I know...
I don't really know the legal details of this venture...When I'm going to Pakistan in the future,I'll try enquiring into the matter if I have enough spare money to buy an extra camcorder....Ofcourse if its not legal then I wouldn't recommend it, but if the thing can be carried out legally, I think it would be a great way to get some extra cash...
Taking one camcorder is different than taking several. If you have a long enough stay outside Pakistan, I believe you are allowed to take one camcorder for personal use. After that, if you sell it or keep it, thats your choice. But to take several camcorders... well, thats inviting trouble, especially cz they x-ray scan the luggage in Karachi and Lahore.
After paying customs duty, the only margin left on the camcorders is the shipping and the margins of the middle-men (but then again there are volume discounts too) .... all the shopkeepers in Pakistan who are legally and regularly selling these camcorders are paying the same in $$$ as cost and then paying customs and shipping to get these in to Pakistan. So the profit margin will be as much as a normal shop-keeper. Also bcz most shop-keepers also don't offer any kind of warranty or after-sales service, so it evens out for the buyer. To buy it from you or to buy it from a shop. The difference is variety. If you have what the buyer needs he will be willing to buy it from you if you offer a comparable price.
In this case, I don't think the margins will be terribly exciting. Decent, yes. Phenomenal, probably not. Will it get you a free trip? I really doubt it.
Thanks for the info Faisal bhai. If I personally end up doing it, I'll probably be taking one camcorder only [which is also only a slim possibility considering my out of college and currently jobless state :D ] but I think even if I am able to make 20,000 - 30,000 rupees profit it would be great for me, as that'll cover almost half the ticket atleast...
These custom people are jack asses. We took 5 webcams to Pakistan, as gifts and stupid custom people would'nt let us go without paying the stupid tax. We were'nt even selling them.,I guess they can't be sure about our true intentions. At first we were prepared to pay the duty, but soon realized the fellow did'nt want the duty money. We said screw it, and bought everyone a t-shirt instead. We picked up the cams when returning. Duty in Pakistan is killer.
Try taking a few camcorders, and watch them pounce on your tail for duty or bribes.
Oh yes, about your scheme. It is a good idea as electronics in Pakistan are expensive, but it will require alot of research and contacts to operate with success.
Faisal has pretty much explained what you asked me in his second post. :~) aur waisay bhi if i don think its right to yeh mera marzi hai
hskhan: with this quantity..no one can be really sure of one’s intentions
Electronics in Pakistan are expensive? well let’s just say that now only selective electronics are relatively expensive here (common costs as taxes and transportation aside)…baaqi to franchises ke khulne ki waja se cheezain munasib daamon he milne lagi hain. Wallah o alam :halo:
^ From personal experience they are expensive. My cybershot p7 was $100cdn more in karachi than in toronto. and this is 7 months after I purchased mine. Variety is also limited in Pakistan.