Forward bloc on the cards in PPP/ War within PPP (merged)

I am not sure what the guppies think about all that is being said by the PM candidates, and the open hostility between Ch Mukhtar and Fahim?

My take on this matter is that Fahim will not carryout his threats.

Mukhtar says the PM should be from Punjab to show that PPP is indeed a party for all Pakistanis, whereas Fahim believes the PM should from Sindh as people of Sindh feel hurt by what has happened to BB and want a Sindhi PM.

No doubt Fahim is very upset, and has accused PPP leaders for betraying him, despite his years loyalty to the PPP and holding the party together whilst BB and Zardari lived abroad.

Despite his veiled threats that he may break away from the party, Fahim will remain with the PPP as he is timid by nature, and his show of grievance with the party leaders is against his timid character.

However, what worries me is that it will be Ch. Mukhtar that may cause problems within the PPP if he is not chosen as the PM candidate.

Let’s hope for the sake of PPP, Zardari names Mukhtar as the PM candidate.

Re: War within PPP.

PM ship will go to Sind, ( last premier and current preseident are from the same province), Zardari needs a temporary person who can hold the position until he himself get re-elected in by-elections.

Hanibal bhaijan. This is a very interesting thought, and you could well be right. However, if somebody from Sindh is appointed the PM it is looking unlikely that Fahim will be that person. Instead, if it is to be a Sindh PM, it could be Aftab Shaaban Mirani especially if he wins in the re-polling which is happening in his constituency of Shikarpur on March 12.

So if Zardari does not nominate somebody before March 12, he could well be looking at appointing Mirani instead, if Mirani wins. Also, it will be easier for him to ask Mirani to step aside if Zardari himself chooses to be a PM candidate in the future.

However, as I mentioned above, I really is a lot of trouble in PPP if Mukhtar is not appointed the PM cadidate?

Catchy title!

Little substance to support it. It's called many hopefuls for a position of PMship.

BTW, PML(Q) is struggling to form Govt. even in Balochistan because PPP's negotiating and chances are it might take Balochistan too.

Fahim is without a doubt the best and most deserving candidate PPP should put forward for PM. The post was promised to him and should be given to him as Zardari mentioned they would straight after BBs death.

Fahim ran this party while BB and Zardari lived abroad. He could have been PM long ago had be betrayed BB, but he didnt, he stood by his party. its time they appreciate that loyalty!

And the PM should most definetely be from Sindh!

My thinking is that Zardari is deliberately not deciding this issue and may be behind-the-scenes giving encouragement to Ahmad Mukhtar so that the near-decided candidacy of Amin Faheem is rocked by uncertainty. The whole idea being that enough confusion is created so that people say "Zardari sahab, may be you should become the PM to save the party". We all know Mr 10% is highly ambitious and despite the debonair outfits and polished statements, the guy is inherently a crook and wants to mint as much money as possible. Office of PM is the best vehicle to make sure he has access to all kinds of corruption and he would hate to give up that office to a second-fiddle.

Irfan, completely agree about Fahim, but party loyalty is over-rated. As a rule, we don't make the best and most deserving candidate as PM. The person who becomes PM Pis the one who can successfully drag down others and take the top spot for himself. Name and geography is more important than loyalty. Plus I am not convinced there is a killer argument one way or the other whether PM should be from Sindh, Punjab, Balochistan or NWFP. I do believe that the President and PM should be from two different provinces just to share the happiness around.

A simple Pakistani - 70-75% of our population

Firstly Amin Fahim is a vadera and he wins not due to his popularity and wiseness but due to him being a vadera. He can win from any party not only from PPP, coz he is a dictator of a small tribe. So I cannot see any specialness about Amin Fahim.

Secondly its so sad to see PPP leadership playing with the innocent people's emotions by enchanting the slogans of Sindh and Punjab's right, just for their own sake to become Prime minister.

I will assure you guys, these guys have bad intentions the only solution to this problem is to release Iftikhar Mohd Chaudhry, we need an impartial body to monitor these politicians continuously.

Do not you think that changing Prime Minister of Pakistan like a Bata store's sandal.....like make him PM not him OK him...... it seems to me that there is a bunch of illiterate people sitting on the top and just for the sake of Premiership they r fighting like hell.

I have a question to you all.......Please tell me..... I gave vote to democracy...when my future will become bright...when I will be given rights to live like a human being out off Police's lawlessness fear...out of increasing dearness in society...out of street crimes....out of everyday's bombings......!!!!

Ya Allah help.

No, we don't need Iftikhar Chodhary, we need judges who refused first PCO.

Do not you think that changing Prime Minister of Pakistan like a Bata store's sandal.....like make him PM not him OK him...... it seems to me that there is a bunch of illiterate people sitting on the top and just for the sake of Premiership they r fighting like hell.
Yes, some so-called-politicians/leaders/dictators are enjoying the "king-maker" role and probably feeling high on that keeping everyone else on their toes, but then that is not unexpected when election results are a mixed bag (no clear majority).

I have a question to you all.......Please tell me..... I gave vote to democracy...when my future will become bright...when I will be given rights to live like a human being out off Police's lawlessness fear...out of increasing dearness in society...out of street crimes....out of everyday's bombings......!!!!

If you really gave vote to democracy then you have to be patient for probably a decade or so, don't expect a fruit in a month or year. It takes time to bear fruit.

Ya Allah help.

Aameen.

He was once PPP was having close links with Musharaf.. but just before BB death she and Nawaz had started getting their priorities against Musharaf & Co in line.. Fahim is known for his links with army and Musharaf.. he met Musharaf on teh day she died and few times since then.. as PML-N are deadly against his contacts with Musharaf Zardari is relunctant to allow him run for PM seat..

Amin Fahim could have been PM many years ago, if he went with Musharrad over BB. But he didnt. If he chose his party before, why would he not now? And he met Musharraf all these times with permission/knowledge of Zardari/BB. After her death, he met her to try and calm down tensions between PPP/Sindh and Musharraf...very honourable of him in my opinion

Zard-Aari is a new PM candidate and I am willing to bet all my possessions tht he will be the next PM :D

@ captain 1 :

Why not Iftikhar Choudhry (IC)? Its the requirement of the time that he must be restored along with the other judges with the 1973 constitution, and should give the decision of Supreme court's (pending) verdict for current president's status to hold his office as a president of Pakistan by electing himself from previous parliament.

Why our President enforce Emergency just a day before his verdict has to appear in the court? Why the Supreme court announcing the verdict got sacked? According to which Law all the judges were put under house arrest for more than 4 months? I think these are the enough facts, or otherwise one can assume that in Pakistan there is a law of Musharraf and thats it. This worse situation has never been created ever before in the history of Pakistan and no doubt we never had such a bad intentioned President ever, who is just concerned with his presidency without worrying about any disaster happening in Pakistan like fuel crisis, energy crisis, food crisis, humanitarian crisis and now law and order situation.

We got Klashnikov culture from our previous dictator Zia Ul haq and now suicide attackers due to this Musharraf.

I am not saying that judges are crystal clear in their characters, but I know once they will be in Power the first good thing they gonna do will be to remove Musharraf and declare him as a bogus President. That's why we need judiciary to be restored.

Also want to add: Changing PM candidacy is arisng from a single party not from "mixed bag results".

jazz dont forget we had suicide atatcks and drive by's between the period of Zia and Musharraf as well, or have we forogtten the sectarian carnage in te 90s?

I am actually all for Zardari becoming PM...just pick a dude..and lets move forward..time for a change, lets go already

oh and before someone comes and thinks i am being sarcastic. I am not...its obvious that ppl of sindh like him, same for ppl of baluchistan, thats 2 provinces. they did nto give votes to PPP due to makhdoom amin fahim, but because of bhutto family which zardari is a part of. that leaves 2 provinces, punjab and sarhad. ppl there overwhelmingly voted for nawaz and anp. Both of them are willign to work with PPP and its been zardari doing all the negotiation for that.

Now I never really liked his corruption and have real issues with it, but he has emerged as a staesman able to formulate alliances towads common goal. why nto give him a chance? can he use the same skill for pakistan, in dealing with other issues, indealing with treibals, in dealing with our trading partners with other countries with interests..india, china, US..

he has shown he is capable, shrewd, inclusive and able to bring ppl together. why not him?

seriously.

Forward bloc on the cards in PPP/ War within PPP (merged)

I hope this is not true. I would really like to see Zardari as PM soon.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=100622

Forward bloc on the cards in PPP

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/images/shim.gif

Amin Fahim plans to wait until Bilawal takes over party’s command

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

KHAIRPUR: The News learnt from reliable sources in the Pakistan Peopleís Party (PPP) on Monday that a number of PPP leaders from Sindh and Punjab have decided to form a forward bloc if PPP Co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari did not nominate Makhdoom Amin Fahim as prime minister.

Reliable sources said a forward bloc will also emerge in Sindh PPP, formed by the PPP MPAs-elect. It opposes the nomination of Qaim Ali Shah as chief minister. This bloc will negotiate with the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and the PML-F for the formation of government in Sindh.

There was consensus among the PPP leaders on nomination of Amin Fahim as prime minister. Asif Ali Zardari had himself said after Benazir Bhuttoís assassination that nominating Fahim was her will and he declared Fahimís name for the slot. There was no other candidate in the party for this post, he had said.

On the other hand, the sources said, the PPPP leaders contesting the elections were mentally prepared and set to accept Makhdoom Amin Fahim as prime minister. But, they argued, Asif Ali Zardari brought to the fore the names of Yusuf Raza Gillani and Chaudhry Ahmad Mukhtar, which distanced Zardari and the Makhdoom.

The media had reported that Zardariís statement aggrieved the Makhdoom and he asked for the reason behind giving names of others when there had been a consensus over his name. Zardari could not satisfy Fahim with his argument, when he said the partyís position in Punjab was weak and he was going to give the PMís post to Punjab for strengthening the party there against the PML-N.

Sources said the PPP Parliamentarians had urged Zardari in the partyís divisional meeting to announce the Makhdoomís name as the prime minister, because PPP voters wanted to see the Makhdoom as the prime minister. But it aroused their suspicions when they found Zardari did not give any importance to their recommendation.

Sources said the parliamentarians from Punjab and Sindh took serious notice at the meeting that Zardari not only did not give any importance to the will of the people, the PPP parliamentarians-elect but also that of Benazir Bhutto. It was at this point when a number of PPP legislators-elect decided to make a forward bloc in the party.

The sources said formation of the bloc in the party will endanger not only the candidature of Qaim Ali Shah as Sindh chief minister, but also the PPPís candidate for the slot of the prime minister, as the party will not remain the biggest party entitled to nominate a candidate for the slot.

Sources said hectic efforts were under way to win confidence of pro-Makhdoom parliamentarians and cement the visible crack in the party. However, a forward bloc in the PPP physically exists and its members are waiting for a final decision. The bloc will show its strength if there is a decision against the Makhdoom. It will also negotiate with the MQM and other groups for the formation of government in Sindh.

Sources revealed that Makhdoom Amin Fahim was against any division in the party and is willing to isolate himself from political activities until Chairman PPP Bilawal Zardari Bhutto takes over the command of the party.

The sources revealed that pro-Makhdoom legislators-elect have decided to oppose any other candidate for premiership. They said they were betraying Zardari and not the party. The sources quoted pro-Makhdoom elements as saying that their decision to form the bloc was not for blackmailing Zardari to change his decision in favour of Amin Fahim. They said the bloc was watching the situation and has reserved its decision.

Re: Forward bloc on the cards in PPP.

why is makhdoom amin fahim being a baby about it.
I mean the party has to nominate someone and the party has to agree, so lets see who PPP picks.

I think Zardari may be doing Fahim a favor by not picking him as PM.

It will be much more humiliating for Fahim if he is asked to move aside to make way for Zaradri to become the PM, after Zardari wins his seat in a by-election.

If Bilawal has any sense he would veto his fathers attempt to become PM. How low and desperate can we get that we need Zardari as our PM.

I supported Ch Iftikhar for his stand against Musharraf and know what you are saying but he himself took oath on first PCO and endorsed the kick-out of a civilian rule, so he has no moral upper hand compared with PCO judges now, IMO.

daleel bhai. I am sure people of Pakistan would want to give Zaradri a chance if he wins his by-election. He has as much chance becoming a PM than any other PPP leader. Who knows, he may infact deliver on the promise of 'roti, kapda, aur makan'. Let's give him a chance and see if he can deliver. What are the alternatives from PPP amongst their ranks at this moment?