Forum names

With GS attracting so much non-urdu/pakistani audiences in recent years, i think it would be wise to consider renaming some of the forum names that are in urdu at the moment, especially these ones:

Khel Khilari should be made Sports. I know there is a description on the main page and all but people hardly read that. Also the quicky should be changed from Khl to Sports or something along those lines.
Shor Sharaba** to something english.

I was going to say **Cricketnama **to **Cricket **but i guess we already have the word cricket in cricketnama.

Just a suggestion.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Re: Forum names

Agreed.

Infact, there is more shor sharaba in Café than in Shor Sharaba :>

gupshup itself shud be renamed to chit chat just to be more in line....

Your sarcasm isnt taking you anywhere janaab Armughal. If thats the case then why arent ALL of gupshup’s forum names in urdu?

I dont have anything against urdu. Just trying to standardize things a bit.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Khabardaar jo ‘Gupshup’ ko change kiya :mad2:

Haan agar guppushuppu kehna hai tau theek hai :blush:

Chee won't GS lose it's ethnic flair..I know thats not really relevant to general posters..but still?

Zakk, Captain Lota has a point.

I dont have anything against urdu. Just trying to standardize things a bit.

All parent forums are in named English except Shor Sharaba and Khel Khilari. And one more thing, sub-forums for Poetry are in Urdu.
I dont see how standardization disrupts the ehtinic flava or flair whatever you call it.

Hmm fair enough..maybe they should put (ex) mods names with the forum..5abis jokes Funguy Generally...Tech-Getting Gizzy with it lol

LOL at Getting Gizzy Wit it for Comp Forum

5waterty’s Bhangra Forum :bhangra:

Captain, I think the non-urdu/pakistani’s can learn a few words of Urdu.

edit.

not a bad idea.

This is the age where new words are being created on a daily basis and making their way into Oxford's and Webster's dictionaries. Words such as, 'You can google it on the internet' to 'yade yade yada' etc. are all recent additions. Why can't we have our own words here on GS? As long as the majority gets it and the minority understands it.

:blush: sac hai, main gori hoon, lekin main urdu sikh rahi hoon, tau main bahut khush hoon jab main urdu gupshup par sikhti hoon:)
aur urdu sabse shamandar zabaan hai :love:

And here I was thinking there could be a new forum called 'mauj masti'. lol

or the “corner room”

chalo jasoos uncle now tell us your old nick :stuck_out_tongue:

^ lol, what you mean,

BTW one of the two names should be changed. its very confusing.

Name one "lusi"

Name two"lussi"

I feel these names give ethnic flavour to the forums and I am in favour of retaining them. I am sure non desi people joining this board soon become familiar with these terms. Thanks for your suggestion.

^ exactly, it is not rocket science.

:snooty: