Forty Hadeeth on the Islamic Personality

*HADEETH 16: The Muslim's Struggle and His Devil *

From Iyaad ibn Himaar al Mujaashi'ee (radiyallaahu ;anhu) who said that Allaah's Messenger (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam) said: Indeed my Lord ordered me to teach you that which you do not know, from that which He taught me this day, (instructing me): 'The wealth which I confer upon a servant is all lawful for him, and I created all My servants having natural inclination to the true way but the devils came to them and turned them away from their (true) Religion, and they forbade for them that which I made lawful for them, and they ordered them to associate in worship with Me that for which I sent down no authority.' Allaah looked upon the people of the earth and hated them, the Arabs and the non-Arabs, except for some remnants of the People of the Book, and He said: 'I sent you only to put you to the test and to tests others through you, and I sent down to you a Book which cannot be washed away by water, which you will retain and recite whilst asleep and whilst awake.' Allaah ordered me to destroy the Quraysh so I said: 'O my Lord they would break my head just as bread is broken.' So He said: 'Turn them out just as they turned you out, and fight them and We shall aid you, and spend and We shall provide for you. Send an army and We will send five more like it. Fight along with those who disobey you. The people of paradise are three: The ruler who is just, who spends in charity and is guided to do good; and a man who is merciful and kind hearted towards every relative and Muslim; and the chaste one who does not beg despite having a family to support. The people of the fire are five: The weak who does not have the will to avoid evil, those amongst you who are merely followers (of others), they do not seek after family or wealth; and the dishonest whose greed cannot be concealed even in the case of minor things; and a man who will betray you morning and evening with regard to your family and your wealth (He also mentioned miserliness or telling lies) and the person of evil manners and foul speech.'

Reported by Muslim (Eng. Trans. 4/1488/no.6853).

NOTES: So this is very ancient conflict, continuing since the time when Allaah, the One free and far removed from all defects, created Aadam, 'alaihis-salaam, and what occurred between him and Satan is well known. This conflict will be intensified or diminished depending on the servant's closeness to or distance away from his Lord. Consider also his (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam) saying: Satan has despaired that those who pray should worship him, but he seeks to provoke animosity between them. So let this be a warning for us, and its opposite be glad tidings. We must not leave any way for Satan to enter upon our hearts through our actions, granting him neither full nor partial access. Indeed his deceptions are many and his traps abundant. So beware of this, O servant of Allaah, and do not let Satan trap you with his snares and his tricks, and your impregnable fortress against him is: Remembrance of Allah.

Allahu Alim

'Rabbee zidnee`ilmaa'
My Lord! Increase me in knowledge.[20:114]

The Prophet (sallallaahu 'alayhe wa sallam) said:
"Whoever sets out on a path to seek knowledge, Allaah will make easy his path to Paradise."
[Saheeh Muslim]

*HADEETH 17: Remembrance of Allah *

From Nu'maan ibn Basheer (radiyallaahu 'anhu) who said that Allaah's Messenger said: Supplication (ad-Du'aa) is worship, your Lord the Mighty and Majestic said: "Call upon Me – I will respond to your ionvocation." (Ghafir 40:60)

Saheeh – reported by Ahmad (4/267, 271, 276) and others

NOTES: Supplication is the head of remembrance of Allaah. Indeed he (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam) said: "And I order you to make mention to Allaah much, and the like of that is a man being chased by the enemy who are hastening after him until he comes to a protected fortress and so he protects himself in it. Likewise is the servant, for he does not protect himself from Satan except through remembrance of Allaah, the Mighty and Majestic.(Ahmad and Tirmidhi - Saheeh)" So a Muslim remembering his Lord, the One free and far removed from all defects, places him in a position of safety and protection which Satan is unable to overcome. So this prevents him from many sins and numerous negative traits pertaining to the tongue, the limbs and the heart. Therefore: The Muslim Does Not Fall Into Backbiting.

Allahu Alim

'Rabbee zidnee`ilmaa'

"Whoever sets out on a path to seek knowledge, Allaah will make easy his path to Paradise."
[Saheeh Muslim]

*HADEETH 18: The Muslim Does Not Fall Into Backbiting *

From Ibn 'Umar (radiyallaahu 'anhumaa) who said that Allaah's Messenger (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam) said: Whoever intercedes and prevents one of the punishments prescribed by Allaah, the Mighty and Majestic, then he has opposed Allaah regarding His orders. Whoever dies with a debt due on him then it will not be repaid by deenaars and dirhams but rather by good and bad deeds. Whoever disputes for something which he knows is false then he remains in Allaah's anger until he desists. Whoever accuses a believer of something that is untrue then Allaah will make him dwell in the pus flowing from the inhabitants of the Fire and he will not leaver until he retracts from what he said.

Reported by Ahmad (no. 5385) and others.

NOTES: So the lethal plague of backbiting destroys one's good deeds, destroys brotherhood and destroys one's reward. So the true Muslim does not backbite, nor does he allow backbiting to take place in his presence. So let those people fear Allaah, those whose bodies do not develop and those whose spirit is not fed except upon spreading rumours and inventing lies against the servants of Allaah claiming that 'this is for the benefit of da'wah!' How strange! What benefit to the da'wah will be achieved through slandering, backbiting and mentioning bad manners to others? Do you think, O you who backbites the people, that you are far removed form defect? O you who can only see the deficiencies of others, do you think that you are free from any mistakes? '…rather you are full of deficiencies and the people have tongues!' Also from those things which must be known is that: The Muslim Does Not Pry into the Matters that do not Concern Him.

Allahu Alim

'Rabbee zidnee`ilmaa'

[Saheeh Muslim]

HADEETH 19: The Muslim Does Not Pry into the Matters that do not Concern Him

From Abu Hurairah (radiyallaahu 'anhu) who said that Allaah's Messenger said: From the perfection of a person's Islaam is that he leaves alone that which does not concern him.

Reported by at-Tirmidhee (no.2318) and others

NOTES: So he halts at his limits and does not exceed and pass beyond them. He knows that prying into that which does not concern him and asking about it is not fitting for him. Rather it is forbidden for him and something he has to avoid. So he complies with Allaah's orders and keeps away from what he has forbidden, since: All of His Actions are for Allah.

Allahu Alim

'Rabbee zidnee`ilmaa'

[Saheeh Muslim]

*HADEETH 20: All of His Actions are for Allah *

From Abu Hurairah (radiyallaahu 'anhu) who said that Allaah's Messenger said: Whoever loves for Allaah and hates for Allaah, gives for Allaah and withholds for Allaah, then he has completed eemaan.

Reported by Aboo Dawood (Eng. Trans. Vol.3/p.1312/no.3664) and others, with chain of narration being

NOTES
So this hadeeth clearly shows the manner in which the believer conducts all his affairs and behaves in all his dealings, all of them are for Allaah and he does not give a share in any of them to other than Him, the One free and far removed from all imperfections. In all his affairs he distances himself from seeking after personal gain and enjoyment. In his loving and hating, giving and withholding he seeks only Allaah's pleasure and His Paradise. He does not seek after the worldly positions, wealth or reputation! Then if he falls into the like of this he repents and turns back (to his Lord), so: The Muslim Repents and Turns Back to Allah

Allahu Alim

*HADEETH 21: The Muslim Repents and Turns Back to Allah *

From Abu Sa'eed al-Khudree (radiyallaahu 'anhu) who said that Allaah's Messenger said: The example of the believer with regards to eemaan is like the example of a horse with regards to its tethering stake; it roams around and then returns to its tethering stake, and the believer is negligent and then he turns to his eemaan. So feed the pious with your food and treat the believers well.

Reported by Ahmad (3/38,55)

NOTES: So he does not persist upon sin, or treat it lightly. Rather like the rest of the children of Aadam he commits many sins. However he is frequent in turning back in repentance to his Lord. So what has preceded will clearly show us: The Essential Characteristics of His Personality.

Allahu Alim

*HADEETH 22: The Essential Characteristics of His Personality *

From Abu Hurairah (radiyallaahu 'anhu) who said that Allaah's Messenger said: Two characteristics are not found together in a hypocrite: good manners and understanding of the Religion.

Reported by At-Tirmidhee (no.2685)

NOTES: So his manners are the manners of the righteous people, and his behaviour that of the servants of the Lord of the worlds. He emulates the pious and follows in the footsteps of the sincere. His heart and his behaviour agree, he is not like the weak who take pains to put on a good appearance whereas their hearts are empty! His knowledge and understanding of the Religion is deep and springs from a good and sensitive heart, and precise memory. However his good manners and knowledge and understanding of the Religion do not prevent him from: Honest Jesting.

Allahu Alim

HADEETH 23: Honest Jesting

From Abu Hurairah (radiyallaahu 'anhu) who said: We said: O Messenger of Allaah! You jest with us? He said (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam): Yes except that I do not say except what is true.

Reported by at-Tirmidhee in as-Sunan (no.1991)

NOTES: So falsehood has no share of this, and lies cannot approach it. So his jesting is with words that are true. Nor does this mean that he is to expend all his time in lightheartedness and jesting. Rather in this and in all matters he follows the footsteps of the Companions, May Allaah be pleased with them all, and their way in this regard was: A Time for This and a Time for That.

Allahu Alim

'Rabbee zidnee`ilmaa'

[Saheeh Muslim]

Dear sister in Islam,

asslamu alaikum wa rehmatullahi wa barakaatohu!

These ahadeeth are amazing....mashAllah!
I love the way they connect directly to the next one...mashAllah!

JazkAllah Khair!
May Allah Ta'ala reward you Generously, For He is The Most Generous!

May these postings be helpful to the Muslims on the forum and inshAllah may it bring people closer to Allah and raise their ranks and imaan. ameen

keep them coming inshAllah.
JazakAllah Khair once again!
:k Alhumdulillah!

waslamu alaikum
your sister in Islam

*HADEETH 24: A Time for This and a Time for That *

From Hanzalah al-Usayyidee who said: Abu Bakr met me and asked: How are you O Hanzalah? I Replied: Hanzalah is guilty of hypocrisy! He said: Free is Allaah and far removed from all defects! What are you saying? I said: When we are with Allaah's Messenger (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam) and he reminds us of the Fire and Paradise it is as if we were seeing it with our own eyes. Then when we depart from Allaah's Messenger (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam) and attend our wives, our children and our business, then much of this slips from our mind. Abu Bakr said: By Allaah we also experience the same. So I went with Abu Bakr until we entered upon Allaah's Messenger (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam). I said: Hanzalah is guilty of hypocrisy O Messenger of Allaah (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam). So Allaah's Messenger (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam) said: And how is that? I said When we are with you, you remind us of the Fire and of Paradise and it is as if we are seeing it with our own eyes. Then when we depart from you and attend our wives, our children and our business then much of this slips from our minds. So Allaah's Messenger (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam said: By Him in whose hand is my soul if you remained continually as you are when you are with me and in remembering (Allaah) then the angels would shake hands with you upon your beds and upon your roads. But O Hanzalah, (there is) a time for this and a time for that, (there is) a time for this and a time for that, (there is) a time for this and a time for that.

Reported by Muslim (Eng. Trans. Vol.4, p.1436, no.6223)

NOTES
So both of these times are regulated by the orders of Allaah, as has preceded. His time for serious matters is regulated according to the Book and the Sunnah, and his jesting is kept free of anything forbidden and accompanied only by that which Allaah has prescribed. So he does not, through negligence, allow his jesting to become a way in which he falls into sin. Indeed how could he do this when: He Does Not Take Sins Lightly.

Allahu Alim

'Rabbee zidnee`ilmaa'

[Saheeh Muslim]

*HADEETH 25: He Does Not Take Sins Lightly *

From Sahl ibn Sa'd (radiyallaahu 'anhu) who said that Allaah's Messenger (salallaahu 'alaihi wa'sallam) said: Beware of sins which are treated as being minor, just like a people who encamp in the centre of a valley, so someone brings a stick of firewood and someone else brings a stick until they are therefore able to bake their bread. Likewise sins which are treated as being minor and for which the person is taken to account will destroy him.

Reported by Ahmad (5/331) and others

NOTES: So it is just as the noble companion 'Abdullah ibn Mas'ood said: The believer sees his sins as if he were sitting beneath a mountain which he feared was about to fall upon him, whereas the wicked sees his sins like a man who finds a fly settle upon his nose, so he does this (one of the narrators said: He brushes it away from his nose). The Muslim should realise the greatness of hid Lord, the One free and far from all imperfections, and His tremendous Power and Might, and he should not think of the sin as being great or small! Rather he should think of it with regard to the One he is disobeying. Those sins which are ignored by the weak hearted cause their destruction by removing eemaan and fear of Allaah from their hearts. When a person regards sins and acts of disobedience as something slight the he is one who is oppressing his own soul, and that should never occur, since: The Muslim Does not Commit Oppression.

Allahu Alim

'Rabbee zidnee`ilmaa'

[Saheeh Muslim]