lets hope this is the start fo the revival fo cricket so badly neede by our team.
Former cricket stars meet Naek
LAHORE: Former captains Wasim Akram, Rameez Raja and Saeed Anwar are hopeful the present government will take necessary steps to help the game of cricket revive in Pakistan.
The former cricketers met Federal Law Minister Farooq H Naek in Lahore on Sunday to discuss the failing state of the game in the country.
The law Minister told media afterwards that the players discussed the appointment of a new Chairman and the necessary amendments in the PCB Constitution.
He also confirmed the players suggested inviting a World XI side to play in Pakistan so that international cricket resumes in the country.
The former cricketers also spoke on the occasion, providing their services free-of-cost for the revival of Pakistan cricket.
Remains to be seen. Their services for Pakistan are to be lauded. I am sure they will do whatever they can for the revival of Pak cricket. Lets not pre judge them.
Remains to be seen. Their services for Pakistan are to be lauded. I am sure they will do whatever is they can for the revival for Pak cricket. Lets not pre judge them.
NO PRE-JUDGING HERE....ONLY FACTS (which are quite bitter.....!)
Speaking of WASIM AKRAM........ussay sharam nahin ayee IRFAN aur NEHRA ko Paki Batsmen ke weak points batatay huay..for a few dollars!
ABB JUBB KUCH IDHAR UDHAR SE NAHIN AA RAHA TOU PCB KE KHAZANE KI RAH LEE....
KIYA BAAT HAI.......!!!!
To give tips is not telling others weaknesses of your own batsmen. Is there any proof that he did that or just the rumour mill. I suppose he didnt give his all for Pakistan also. Sharam aanee chaheiye ussay kay he is the highest wicket taker for Pakistan. Kya hee kya hai uss nay Pakistan kay liye.
i agree wid ehsan .... teaching someone else isnt unethical..
n even if he thought them weaknesses of pakis .... thats not unethical either...
if Lawson told us how to get ponting out ... wud that be unethical ?
To give tips is not telling others weaknesses of your own batsmen. Is there any proof that he did that or just the rumour mill. I suppose he didnt give his all for Pakistan also. Sharam aanee chaheiye ussay kay he is the highest wicket taker for Pakistan. Kya hee kya hai uss nay Pakistan kay liye.
We love to rubbish our legends.
Shame really.
I never discussed his DEEDS..which are indeed GRREATTT! by many counts...but he awashed them (at least from my sinfullly rascal eyes) that he went forth and gave tips to the neighbors...that the PCB then...did not agree to his asking price.
I have seen him quite quite closely...He is a very fine person but very dangerous on issues on patriotism.
There's a famous saying...very open in Pakistani Banks' these days;
"I WORK FOR MONEY........IF YOU WANT PATRIOTISM....GET A DOG"
I know everyone works for money...but it also depends how much one can digest!!!
I have my serious doubts on his patriotism...also remembering...very painfully... the LORD's on WC Final 1999 :(:(:(
lol ..
i was watching his interview 2day on Dawn news ... where he mentioned that how after Pakistan lost WC 99 final ... NAB cornered him ... n checked all his bank accounts .........
but seriously .... PCB doesn't deserved that any ex-player should give them free advice ..
look what they did with Waqar .. there are 100s of example like that
lol ..
i was watching his interview 2day on Dawn news ... where he mentioned that how after Pakistan lost WC 99 final ... NAB cornered him ... n checked all his bank accounts .........
but seriously .... PCB doesn't deserved that any ex-player should give them free advice ..
look what they did with Waqar .. there are 100s of example like that
WRONG STATEMENT....!
No one cornered him....
In fact he again became the captain...when the then Chairman PCB Mujibur Rahman made a break-journey at London on way to Toronto for SAHARA CUP..and declared him the captain.
I received the handout after Mujib called me from London...to give the Press Release...and that's September-1999 we are talking about! when Mujib's brother Saif was the Chairman of EHTESAB CELL and there was no NAB.....
I was MEDIA MANAGER at the PCB on depuatation from my Bank !!!
arajy, there were 10 other players on the ground, I know he was the captain and I was also there watching the match at Lords. No one performed that day, Why just blame the captain. The guy took us to the finals and do you honestly think that he would have thrown that match for anything, that would have been the greatest achievement of his life. I have no doubt about his patriotism and really dont give much credence to rumour mill.
HONESTLY...HONEST TO GOD...I too wish it was !
BTW....back at my profession (and for any other), it's basically the CAPTAIN OF THE SHIP concept which prevails!
When my Zonal Managers did not achieve their given targets etc, it was ME (as regional Chief) who faced the bad ranking etc...being answerable to the management..like my ZMs to me!
^ AS a captain he takes the blame and rightly so. To start questioning his patriotism is something which is bit far fetched in this instance. Are we trying to say that he deliberately lost the match? If so, do you have any proof?
KIYA TASVEER HAI – KIYA SUBJECT HAI !! – KIYA BAAT HAI !!
US attacks violation of UN Charter, says Naek By Our Staff Reporter (DAWN-6 October-2008)
*** LAHORE, Oct 5: Federal Law Minister Farooq H. Naek has termed the missile attacks by US-led forces in Pakistan’s tribal areas a violation of human rights and the United Nations Charter.***
“According to the international law no sovereign country can be attacked without the approval of the Security Council,” Mr Naek said at a news conference at the Directorate of Human Rights here on Sunday where cricketers Rameez Raja, Waseem Akram, Inzamamul Haq and Saeed Anwar were also present. He denied reports that Indian death-row prisoner Sarbajit Singh was being released and said he would go through the case, prepare a report and forward it to President Asif Ali Zardari who had the power to pardon him. "I will hold a meeting with Sarbajit Singh, review his case on humanitarian grounds and not from the point of view of law. We have taken the initiative in line with President Zardari’s policy of reconciliation and negotiation and with the hope that Indian authorities will reciprocate by reconsidering on humanitarian grounds cases of Pakistani nationals languishing in their jails. “I request my Indian counterpart to repatriate all the Pakistani prisoners. Let the Pakistani courts hold trial and let them complete jail terms in their own country if they are convicted. It is a matter of human rights and not law,” said Mr Naek. He said the government would introduce jail reforms so that inmates could become responsible and useful citizens after their release. The help of provincial governments would be sought to introduce reforms in jail manual because the federal government believed in provincial autonomy, he added. “Our jails are overcrowded and lack facilities, like clean drinking water and toilets. There should be call cells in jails so that prisoners could contact their families by phone or through video conferencing. There should be visitors’ rooms where prisoners could spend a day with their families. Psychologists should also be posted in jails. President Zardari and Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani have issued instructions in this regard,” the minister said. He parried questions regarding reinstatement of deposed Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry and said 90 per cent of the deposed judges had been restored while Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar was functioning as the Chief Justice of Pakistan.
unfortunately everyone who was in this group of former cricketers were either not the manager/leader in their era or they proved to the really bad one as leader/manager.
Secondly, I am against committees running any body be it PCAOB or some other. No one accepts the responsibility in case of failure and its always hard for committees to take decision quickly unless they have a clear mandate and proper working mechanism in place (such as voting etc).