Forgetting one's own soul?

:bism:
59:19 **And be ye not like those who forgot Allah. and He made them forget their own souls! Such are the rebellious transgressors! **

— He made them forget their own souls, their ownselves? hmmm… This particular ayah also is the basis of the philosophy of Khudi (or self conciousness) of Allama Iqbal.

Don’t forget yourself.

Khudi ko kar buland itnaa kay har Taqdeer say pehlaY
khudaa bandaY say khud poochaY ‘bataa teri razaa kiYaa hai?’

Don’t forget ALLAH and He will make sure that you do not forget yourself and you will be successfull.

Have Muslims forgotten their Khudi?

Interesting.

Re: Forgetting one's own soul?

No opinions?

I was a anticipating some pearls of logical wisdoms. Guess, it was Iqbal who played the trick or was it Khudi?

well, if He made them froget their own souls, then who is complaining against whom?

Re: Forgetting one’s own soul?

amazing that you read the second half and ignored the reason why He did that.

^ I read everything. Now, if u have some good argument, lets hear it

argument. lol

bhai go back and read the first msg again and yet again.

I am asking for personal opinions and understanding.

THERE was a Question up there :smiley:

AQ, interesting ayat and one that perhaps explains Iqbal's poem pretty well. Jazakallah Khair.

Surah 2: Ayat 2: This is the Book; in it is guidance sure, without doubt, to those who fear Allah.

Bhai , i read again and again. There is nothing there. Now, I don’t share your Awe and wow.

Maniac Bro:

That was exactly my point. Thanks for pointing that out. So, do you agree with my question that We Muslims - as an Ummah - have lost our Khudi? And that is the very reason ALLAH:swt: has forgotten us. We wait and wait for ALLAH’s help against the invasions of non-believers (culturally and/or militarily) but since we too are fighting with ALLAH:swt: Himself, it’s wrong expectation from our side?

Summun Bukmun Umyun Fahum laa ya’qeloon

thanks for reading and participating.

Yes we have lost our ‘khudi’ as you call it and as i suppose Iqbal called it. We dont strive for Deen / Iman ourselves and expect it to be God send. Then when trials come upon us we expect Allah to help. Offcourse Allah is the most forgiving and merciful and he helps and provides his blessings, but he also makes it clear that he helps those who help themselves. We arnt helping ourselves.
We’ve lost the essense of islam. Its very apparent…even in the more knowledgeable amongst us.

Please translate.

brother: that was not directed to you :slight_smile:

Yes but i still need the translation :)

Al-Qur'an 3:141. "Allah's object also is to purge those that are true in Faith and to deprive of blessing Those that resist Faith."

I was listening to a Surah yesterday (can't remember which) where Allah says that He does not take away a blessing from anyone, but due to their own actions.

:bism:

2:171 The parable of those who reject Faith is as if one were to shout Like a goat-herd, to things that listen to nothing but calls and cries:** Deaf, dumb, and blind, they are void of wisdom.**

Summun = Deaf
Bukmun = Dumb
Umyun = Blind

Fahum laa ya’qeloon = they are void of wisdom

u guys have started swearing at Allah's expense

:jazak:

if you find that ayah, please do share it. I will try to find myself too…