For those who few days ago were claiming "there is no censorship in India..."

Few days ago, they were bashing Pakistan and crying rivers over censorship because some cable operators blocked BBC.

And now where are the last holders of freedom-of-expression-torch now? LOL.

BindaazChakar?

India to ban ‘offensive’ Internet material*
NEW DEHLI: India on Tuesday vowed to ban offensive material from the Internet after Facebook, Google and other major firms told the government they were unable to screen content before it was posted.

Communications Minister Kapil Sibal said talks with the Internet giants had failed to come up with a solution following complaints that he had lodged three months ago over “unacceptable” images.

“My aim is that insulting material never gets uploaded,” Sibal told reporters in New Delhi. "We will evolve guidelines and mechanisms to deal with the issue.

“They will have to give us the data, where these images are being uploaded and who is doing it.”

Sibal said the government supported free speech and was against censorship but that some material on the Internet was so offensive that no one would find it acceptable.

He said he had shown some of the worst images to the Internet companies, who had said they could not control distribution.

“Three months back we saw that Google, Yahoo!, Facebook had images which could be an insult to Indians, especially religious-minded people,” Sibal said.

“We told them to find a way that such insulting images are not uploaded. We gave them some time… but there was no response.”

Sibal said the firms had shown that their “intention was not to cooperate” and that they had explained they were only “platforms” on which people could display material.

“I feel that this in principle was not correct but it is very clear that we will not allow such insults to happen. We are thinking and will take the next step,” he said. “We will not allow our cultural ethos to be hurt.”

Sibal showed some of the offending material to journalists, including fake images of naked politicians and religious figures.

He added that “sometimes when asked for data in respect to terrorists… there is hesitation (by Internet companies) to provide that data.”

Google India confirmed Monday’s meeting with Sibal but made no further comment, while other Internet firms were not immediately available.

The Hindustan Times on Tuesday said the Internet companies had rejected Sibal’s appeal, saying a huge volume of information was uploaded on to the Internet and that they were not responsible for judging its content.

At the meeting, Sibal raised the example of a religious website that turned out to display pornographic images, the newspaper said.

It added that Sibal had earlier complained about a site that attacked Sonia Gandhi, the influential president of the ruling Congress party. He also requested that humans, not technology, screen content before it was posted.

Abhishek Manu Singhvi, spokesman for the ruling Congress party, said the government was only acting “in respect of absolutely illegal, defamatory, pornographic or other similar kind of material.”

BlackBerry maker RIM has also been embroiled in a dispute with the Indian government over access to encrypted email and instant message services that New Delhi fears could be used by extremists to plot attacks.

Sibal’s requests for Internet screening quickly attracted a storm of criticism on Twitter, with many users expressing anger over any attempt to restrict usage. (AFP)*

Re: For those who few days ago were claiming “there is no censorship in India…”

To be fair, one of the pictures they showed in order to illustrate how offensive some of these uploads are, was of Manmohan Singh, Sonia Gandhi and a bunch of pigs running through Mecca.

See… India vows crackdown on offensive internet content - BBC News

Should we oppose censoring such pics aswell?

Re: For those who few days ago were claiming "there is no censorship in India..."

some of the pictures are so offensive that it could incite hatred, and India is most sensitive country when it comes to religion. The material that incite hatred should be censored in my opinion, but also, in disguise of censorship, government can censor political thought and any other anti-government stance of the people

achterbahn, still there is no censorship and any law they make or pass in parliament should stand in Supreme Court, if challenged, In India, supreme court can declare any law passed by parliament as null and void and government has to obey it:)

Re: For those who few days ago were claiming "there is no censorship in India..."

Actually, I am in favor of blocking hateful content. And those sites which promote such hatred should be blocked unless they mend their ways. This has always been my point of view.

But here are few Indians who jump up and down and start giving us lectures about freedom of media and what not and never miss a chance to tell us lies that India never censors any media.

This is why I started the thread and wanted to know the point of view of those guys such as BindazChakar and few others who were very emotionally lecturing us few days back on the BBC thread.

What does BBC stand for - Bery Bery Crude?

Do they have "V=B" thing in South India as well?

Used to know few Indians who were always very excited to see gorilas in a "Bery big Joo".

Actually V = B is more of a Bengali thing - I was chanelling my Bangla inner self.

Amazing whenever it is Muslims doing something Med911 is against it. The moment his brothers do it he defends it.

^Interesting. Does the k word roll off your tongue routinely, or is it a slur reserved for special occasions?

Its specifically for Gupshup and even then used only when Med911 is posting. So yeah rather routine.

@achterbahn - how is removing obscenity or hateful content censorship? Remember Paksitan recently decided to ban objectionable words (which I fully supported & said so).

That is governance NOT censorship

Say it again...

*Removing/blocking obscenity or hateful content is NOT censorship.

Go ahead, say it again...

I am listening..., ;)

*Google has received government requests to remove 358 items from its services, including those in YouTube and Orkut, during the January-June period, according to a report by the Internet search giant.
*As many as 255 requests cited government criticism as reason, **a Google Transparency Report has said. The government had asked Google to remove 236 items from Orkut and 19 items from YouTube for the same reason, it added. **

*Other reasons include defamation (39 requests), privacy and security (20 requests), impersonation (14 requests), hate speech (8 requests), pornography (3 requests) and national security (1 request). *
*As much as 51 per cent of the total requests were partially or fully complied with, the report said. *
*The information assumes significance in the backdrop of the raging controversy over the screening of content on social networking sites. Communications and IT Minister Kapil Sibal has asked them to screen derogatory, defamatory and inflammatory content about political leaders and religion.

No, it is not censorship… I hear ya… :wink:

Are you related to CM by any chance? both of you make up challenges and claim victory!

two days have gone and no new thread against india by acheterbahn ?
is it sign of diminishing of hate ?
:wink:

achterbahn, you are mixing political censorship with religious hate speech I think. Hate speech is different from political differences. Political difference is that I may accuse you of supporting Kashmir terrorist and you accusing me of Baloch terrorist group. Hate speech calls for violence and hence is different. Secondly, In India, recently government failed to pass FDI in retail and put it on hold, so it is not that GoI decides and it becomes the law, Law making is very tedious process in India

I could not agree with you more - Brother Med911 is indeed very fair minded and is not pre-disposed to being against someone based on religion or ethnicity.

I think even the West has censorship wrt certain types of pornography. In some states, certain acts are not allowed.

Kaur Jee, "As many as 255 requests cited government criticism as reason" is a political censorship and not religious one.

LOL, I had not opened one single India related thread for many months, you can verifiy it by going through the list. But some of Indian trolls needed a reality check.
Generally I am at peace with normal Indians.

Allah aapka bhala karey!
This is what I have been saying all along. There is not a single country in this world which does not have some sort of legitimate censorship to protect its national interests and to keep a lid on hatred being spread against one community or the other.

^ Shukriya :)
Aashaa hai aap aur aapkay parivaar bhi phoolay/phaley!

Point conceded (though I personally have not come into the forums to specifically be critical of Pakistan censorship).

Some amount of censorship is good. I personally am against Indian Govt. giving Google et al too much of a hard time, requiring humans to check before posting, preventing comments deemed offensive against Sonia Gandhi etc. From my perspective, unless children are used in you know what industry, or there is hate speech (that promotes violence on basis of religion, orientation etc), less censorship the better.

With censorship comes curiosity, and the underworld criminals - bootlegging comes to mind. With legalization and less censorship, the wow factor goes away - and most people just go abt their daily chores.