For those of you whose parents ...

… shifted from Pakistan to another country.

How do your parents feel about their move? Do they regret it? Would they prefer to be in Pakistan instead? Or are they contented most of the time but sometimes they wish they were in Pakistan? Or they don’t miss Pakistan at all?

How is it? Please share your experiences with me.

Actually I am studying outside Pakistan and most probably I will get the PR over here in a little while (meaning logically that I will be staying here for a good part of my life). But regardless of the fact that I know that I can materialize a lot of oppertunities a lot easier over here then in Pakistan. I still can’t make myself think positively. I still miss my home & family as if I am a 10 year old kid and I keep wanting to go back regardless of any thing.

And now for those who are studying away from home:

How do you cope with the home sickness so that it doesn’t affect your education or general performance? I am asking cuz all the hard work I do goes down the drain as soon as I start getting this sickening feeling.

Just to add that I am really **Paraishan

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/teary3.gif

**So Please help …

The Future Just Happened!

Originally posted by Paraishan:
**… shifted from Pakistan to another country.

How do your parents feel about their move? Do they regret it? Would they prefer to be in Pakistan instead? Or are they contented most of the time but sometimes they wish they were in Pakistan? Or they don’t miss Pakistan at all?

Well my rents were here fo a loooooong tyme so no they dunt feel home sick 24/7 bah yesh dey doo wunna return to pak…

How is it? Please share your experiences with me.

Actually I am studying outside Pakistan and most probably I will get the PR over here in a little while (meaning logically that I will be staying here for a good part of my life). But regardless of the fact that I know that I can materialize a lot of oppertunities a lot easier over here then in Pakistan. I still can’t make myself think positively. I still miss my home & family as if I am a 10 year old kid and I keep wanting to go back regardless of any thing.

And now for those who are studying away from home:

How do you cope with the home sickness so that it doesn’t affect your education or general performance? I am asking cuz all the hard work I do goes down the drain as soon as I start getting this sickening feeling.

hey lil bro… listen ap… da best tingy to do uz live yo live da way u shud b… meaning, join an ISlamic Circle or anything involving Islamic activities n spend much of ur tyme in2 studyin Islam… Ur lyfe is like a coin u kan spend it n e way u wish bah u can unly spend it once, n also… do NOT under ANY circumstances watch indian or paxtani or hollywood or any other type of drama or movie, n avoid tv as much as possible… to top it… it would b veeeeeeeeeeeery great if u spend sum nytez awake prayin tahajud [the nite prayea]…deyrz gReaT rewards fo it

aight m out… salamzZz

[This message has been edited by Paxtani Mentality (edited July 23, 2002).]

My parents plan on moving back this year, Inshallah. They believe getting a degree (Abbu) and providing us with the fundamental standing is enough. Now that we're all grown up, they want to wrap up and go back to their parents and extended families.

try talking to ur family via msn..i do that..it helps a lot..

keeping urself busy makes a diff..i assume u have summer vacations right now…u would feel better when the semester starts …(inshallah)
and cheer up buddy thats life

***I dunno where I’m going. I dunno what for. But I’m making progress.

and yes…change ur nick from Parashan to Khush

and stop thinking that u are sad…try to be happy..

***I dunno where I’m going. I dunno what for. But I’m making progress.

Thank you Pakistani bhai. It felt good to be called a lil bro specially when you have been trying to serve as the bara bhai for all your life (the so called role model :hehe

. I really appreciate your advice and I think it is the best I have received yet (Not to offend any one else

).

Thanx once again.

I do hope that they can go back and live their lives peacefully as they deserve to live after all the qurbani for you guys. And by the way it’s a really brave move. Some people can’t make the move back once they are settled with the luxuries and comforts of their homes abroad.

And thanx for sharing your story

I know I know

. I already do all this but I am still homesick. But you know what all these replies have made me feel better already

Thanx.

But if I change my nick then I’ll loose all the 257 posts under my belt.

. Ahhhh… I am cursed to be Paraishan for life sob sob

so if parents move back to Pakistan while their kids are abroad dont the kids worry who will take care of the parents?

Cut/Paste from the other thread.

My parents moved because all of us were outside Pakistan. Sister in England, elder brother in Norway, and us two brothers here in the US! They followed us after living alone for a year and realizing its no fun!
Since they have moved, it has been an up-hill struggle for 'em.

1) Age Factor - The time they migrated my father & mother both were in their 60s. Hard to make a change so far down in their lives.
2) Language - Dad has adjusted, my Mom can not.
3) Lack of Community - where I live its kinda like a pind of USofA; and the community is basically young students or professionals. No one of their age or interests is around. If we were living in NYC or LA .. probably won't have such issues.
4) System Change - Being in the Armed Forces in Pakistan, my father especially had a very different set of mind on how things work in everyday life. He still hasn't gotten over that part of the social shock.
5) Medical - USofA is not a welfare state. Medical is expensive and it makes things worse when you are not a citizen. This is not a problem if you are in Canada or most of the countries in Europe for instance.

About studying away from home, here are a few tips:

• Get involved with the Pakistani Community, if possible get close to some of the families living in your area.
  • Call home often. :)
  • Make your schedule so busy that you don't find time to be home sick.
  • Internet has made wonders in getting the world a smaller place. Get your folks, family and friends on it & you won't miss 'em often!

I was telling someone else the other day that the last time I put less than 40 hours on my time sheet was my freshman year. From then on, regardless of how many courses I am taking I worked 40-50 hours. This was on top of all my social activities. Couldn't sustain my GPA high enough but it didn't give me time to worry about anything else.

Originally posted by Fraudz:
so if parents move back to Pakistan while their kids are abroad dont the kids worry who will take care of the parents?

I dunno if this was directed towards me, anyways ..by parents, i meant the whole family.

And yes, I think taking care of ur parents, when their time comes, is the least one can do in return for all they do for us.

[This message has been edited by X_Communist (edited July 25, 2002).]

Thanx ahmadjee for pasting your reply here as well

I have been through same situation as you are in now, I came here in london 4 years ago, completed masters after a year(that was really hard first year abroad) and started working here, now without much of thinking I guess I bought a house and still wondering wether I will be staying for life? I cant immagine though!! I will not certainly but no one knows about future.

home sickening does effect your grades, just try to be more involved with similar minded people, make friends,, it takes time and you will be fine soon.

I have same question, now, shall i move back to pak or ask my parents to come over here to live with me.
the reason I am staying here is not only for good job and stuff but for my own traveling interest which is more easier from here. being only son of parents I do have family responsibilities so here or in pak I have to live with my parents. and after getting married there will be another opinion to it too.

any way parashan its not only you i am also pareshan .. anyone with suggestions

End is Begining!

[This message has been edited by Shak killS (edited July 26, 2002).]

Thanx for the encouraging words yaar. I think what you can do is reason with your parents about shifting. If they can be convinced then well and good but if they can’t then offcourse you should move back specially cuz you are the only child. And the travelling thing can be done from Pakistan as well. A lot of goras come to the IndoPak area for trekking and stuff.

Anyway its up to you how you handle it.

**AND JUST FOR THE RECORD THERE IS ONLY ONE PARAISHAN AND THATS ME

. GUPSHUP ISN’T BIG ENOUGH FOR TWO.