For those of you who went away to college...

Was it difficult for you to move away from your parents? I love my parents very much and I’m going to miss them so much when I go away to college. I’m only moving an hour away but it still makes me sad when I think about it sometimes. I know its going to be good for both of us because I will get a chance to become more independent and my parents will get used to not having me around all the time. I’m the only child so I think that makes it harder. How did you guys deal with the seperation?

Re: For those of you who went away to college...

bas sabar kiya tha aur ho raha hai. cant do much.

aap kitna dhoor gaye thi?

^ main uk main hoon aur maa baap pakistan main. bohat mushkil hai unke baghair rehna ek bhi din khushi ka nahi dekha :(

ps. not telling you this to make you depressed. :)

you can visit often.

I missed them, but I did not need them constantly. I loved it. There were times of separation that were harder than others, but overall it was a great experience.

i was 14 when i moved out to another city about 320 miles away. it was hard on me initially.

agreed. i matured a lot and became much more independent. also, i made some AWESOME friends. living together with your friends is something that you can only do in college and then it gets hard after that! enjoy it! =)

first one month was extremely difficult and i remember first time i spoke on the phone with family after moving away, words were hard to come out. But later, every one gets used to of it.

Let me add that living far from the family is a very important phase of teenagers life and they learn a lot during that period.

Yaad tau bohat atay hain.... eik hee tareeqa hai.... Keep yourself bussy.

I went away to college at 16. My parents were in Dubai and I moved to Oregon. I saw them once a year after that. I have to be honest, I was 16, I didn't miss them. I enjoyed my time away from them to make my own decisions and grow personally. After college, when I was about 23, my parents moved closer to Canada and I saw them more often. But now, in my mid 30s I feel like I missed out a lot and am always trying to spend more time with my parents.

thanks for telling us about ur experiences. It's never too late for a good and kind act. i lost my parents at an early age so i didn't get a chance to serve them. believe me, as i'm sure u already know, parents want nothing from their children EXCEPT to see them on a regular basis which is indeed the biggest bliss for them. :)

Sure life changed but I used to visit regularly and living on your own is something everyone needs to do.

Arguably some of the best times of my life.

Shiiiii memories!

You'll make friends, and you will have a blast. The lectures, the learning, the atmosphere.

Of course I didn't enjoy the full experience of living away - but drove everyday (so maybe not the best person to advice you, but from what I saw of my friends, they loved it) - Uni was a good time. You will love it.

I moved to a different country, yes it was difficult, there are things I wish I would have done differntly, I missed my parents and friends so much that Imissed out on a lot of good that was around me. You are moving an hour away you can visit them like every week, which is totally awesome, but I would suggest make new friends, visit your family and friends whenever you can and try to enjoy the opportunity you got, no need to be depressed about it. If you are missing them too much you can drive home at the end of the day and spend time with them and go to college in the morning if you feel like it.

University is a very good time in a lot of ways, have fun...

I didnt miss them as much - just a little bit.

I was home every single weekend. I talked to them in the morning and night.

Thank you for your relpies everyone!

Reha, my parents want me to come home every weekend. How did if affect your social life at college? I'm kind of worried about it because I feel like I'm going to miss out on stuff.

i studied in a different country but i made friends who became very close and we were always looking for new activities and places to go, so as long as you're not bored and you enjoy your independance, you won't even miss them that much.

i sometimes got lonely if i was eating all alone at my place so i would chat with them on skype, but i think the most important is to keep yourself busy and go out and learn new stuff like sports etc

awwww...bless you.

I had no issues being away, I was happy to be alone and independent! Not that I don't love my parents but I never really felt homesick.

Having lived on campus, I'd say all the social life was during the weekdays. On the weekends nearly everyone would go home, the uni would become deserted and only people too far away from home remained behind. You won't be missing anything.