For No fault of Mine

I am living in a flat …but then I thought to save extra pocket money and tried to go for a house share …I visited many goras who had placed an add in the paper for a room …they were extreemly welcoming showed me around etc …then the ultimate question came .

where are u from …Are u …
1.greek,itallian,…romanian…

and tehn the ultimate truth came from my side
1.No…I am from Pakistan…

U could litrally see there expressions changing from seeing a potential friend …to seeing a ghost.

After a few hours comes the ultimate phone call declining me the room.

If I am a muslim or from Pakistan what difference does it make on there preceptions … I am also made of flesh and blood …have the same feelings and emotions that they have …

Disclaimer: I have been modest in this post :). Some of my accquaintences on GS will try to twist the argument in ridicule/name calling /sarcaysm . well!!! for the first time I would request them that if they dont have some thing good to contribute they should sstay away.

what a shame..
whttt a shame :nook:
discrimination & racism at its best … :mad:

Rab Rakha

DerVaisH

if your being pakistani was the reason for the rejections, its a shame. but i really doubt that's the case.

most desis share apartments only with other desis. a lot of muslims live only with other muslims. vegetarians only with vegetarians. doesnt that sound like racism and discrimination? oh wait, that's personal preference.

btw, who is this "sarca yasim"?

Yes I have had problems like this tooo... where r u from...

*Originally posted by queer: *
if your being pakistani was the reason for the rejections, its a shame. but i really doubt that's the case.

most desis share apartments only with other desis. a lot of muslims live only with other muslims. vegetarians only with vegetarians. doesnt that sound like racism and discrimination? oh wait, that's personal preference.

btw, who is this "sarca yasim"?

Firstly I meant the disclaimer for people like u ...dont correct my spelling mistakes first get straight.

secondly PLEASE dont come up with tottally ridiculious ideas , vegetarians stay with vegitarians , desis stay with desis , queers stay with queers , faggets stay with faggets ..........

do u think those goras ....abandond my request cause I was a non veg ...or a saten worshiper(there is a difference between personal preferences and prejuidices....as I have demonstarted in the initial part of this post) ....no it was basically cause I was from pakistan and I think I have made it quite clear in my post in very simple english but still if it was hard for u to comprehend I will make it more simple tomorrow .
till then

bye

PS This was meant in the nicest way possible ...so please tomorrow dont throw a "Queer" tantrum in the post.

*Originally posted by Pakora: *
Yes I have had problems like this tooo... where r u from...

Please be more explecit with ur posts if u want to contribute something rather then ending them with a blatent questions.

Yea...sad incident.

Next time they ask u where ur from make up a lie. Say Greece, or romania. *By law they arent allowed to ask u that. * . They cant ask u if u have kids, how much u make, what job you have. Nothing. They can only ask u Qs related to the matter. In this case they shouldnt of asked u.

Anyway. I feel ur pain. Alot of ppl have that happend to them. Getting an apartment in canada is also very hard if ur a new immigrant, esp if ur muslim, or from a muslim country.

I wish u the best of luck in findin a house to share.

*Originally posted by hskhan: *
Yea...sad incident.

Next time they ask u where ur from make up a lie. Say Greece, or romania. *By law they arent allowed to ask u that. * . They cant ask u if u have kids, how much u make, what job you have. Nothing. They can only ask u Qs related to the matter. In this case they shouldnt of asked u.

Anyway. I feel ur pain. Alot of ppl have that happend to them. Getting an apartment in canada is also very hard if ur a new immigrant, esp if ur muslim, or from a muslim country.

I wish u the best of luck in findin a house to share.

Thats really nice to hear ....I am happy that at least there is some one who shares the pain ...I think u know what I am talking about....
I am planning tomorrow to stop hose hunting and live in the dump that I am living in .....
I will tell that extra pocket money good bye.

poodenay ki,

secondly PLEASE dont come up with tottally ridiculious ideas , vegetarians stay with vegitarians , desis stay with desis , queers stay with queers , faggets stay with faggets ..........<<

what is "tottally ridiculious" about it? most people have very stringent preferences when it comes to apartment-mates. and desis are certainly one of the most cliquish folks. "vegitarians" prefer "vegitarians". a lot of people have reservations about living with "faggets" (i am sure most pakistanis wouldnt share apartments with a homosexual person). i have seen muslims and jewish people putting out ads saying looking for muslim and jewish roommates.

do u think those goras ....abandond my request cause I was a non veg ...or a saten worshiper ....no it was basically cause I was from pakistan <<

maybe it had more to do with just being from pakistan. i am sure the fellows didnt want to live with someone who referred to them as "gora". what goes around comes around, chutney. so you got rejected as a roommate. big deal. quit sounding like jesse jackson.

Dear PKC, sometimes the feeling of biaseness resides within ourselves. Insecurity is one of the main reasons, why sometimes one tends to feel rejected. It does not have to be this way. Next time, just have a friendly chat/conversation without keeping any ethnical differences, or any prejudist feelings in mind- when you go looking for an apartment. After all, we are all humans :), and the only thing you will be ever respected for is how you carry yourself.

Poodenay_Ki_Chutney i am sirprized, i live in west too have never face such discrimination or any kind of racism (so far). and i am a muslim and can be recognize easily because of my dress code.

you should find some desi, muslim or international student to share the room with. Or you can stop telling peple your identity. well, that might not work because sooner or later they will find out who you are.

My dear friends …

First let me give clarifications …

I was looking for a room in a house “house share” Not sharing a room with someone.

secondly the people who posted an ad in the newspaper had never mentioned that they wanted a vegetarian/catholic/desi in the newspaper thats why I went to see the rooms.

Thirdy please let me be the judge of there feelings , As I mentioned in my initial post that I saw it there and then there expressions changing from :slight_smile: to :frowning: :apprehension:

For all those who think that I dint get a room cause of my own insecurities …I really dont know what to tell u all…I dont know whether u r trying to fool urself or me.

For all those who think that I went to the Goras house and called him hey!!!Gora wassup…show me the room . well I dint.:slight_smile:

I know we are much worse back home but u dont expect people who carry the banner of freedom/democracy /human rights to act this way… my conclusion is that hypocricy is a very basic human trait which doesent have any geographical or religious limits.

PKC

Pods..it does matter where you r from..ie in the Sates..some placs are sadder than others..however remeber that all peoples have to face the music sometime and it is fine to be discriminated because thats the final truth ..we are all different...haalnke is se farq tau parta naheen koi!!! but as long as you r proud of your heritage youll find kinder people STILL...its all sorts that make a world colorful..right??
secondly what is interesting is that arabs should be having more problems than anyone else and they still wear their attire and hajjab and all..so it is a confusing matter...all you gotta do I think and I mean everyone by you....stand fast steadfast and be proud of your heritage and believe in it..it is a rich rich heritage...:)

anyone placing an ad for a house share has a right to accept or reject a potential co-tenant on any grounds.

I mean could the reson be something else than you being pakistani, there is a good chance of that. Maybe they felt that your personality and theirs does not mesh.

who knows, your assumption that you got rejected because you are Pakistani is probably as far fetched as my assumption that maybe they thought you were a dork. I have no basis to say that this would ahve been the reason, and niether do you.

I have rejected many potential room mates, including desis. Personalities just did not match, living styles (clean vs unorganized, very social vs not social at all) I mean I have rejected room mates cus I knew that they were party animals, I have also rejected room mates because they were home bodies who would be at the place 24/7 except classes and sitting in front of the TV types.

If I were you, I would not beat myself over the head trying to figure out whats wrong with me, keep looking and you will find some place.

On a personal note, when I did share my place, I yearned to have my own space, privacy and all again and did not have a room mate after that at all. Its worth it..why deal with someone else's trash, dirty dishes, piled up laundry, old pizza boxes etc. Loud music late night, hogging the TV, not paying share of cable, electricity, phone, rent.

Bah, its not worth it.

Yaar Poodinay - Ek baat bata - Ye Saari problems tere saath hi kyun aati hai ??

Yaar apartment me reh Sukoon ki zindagi ji - Kyon be wajah me apna waqt bekar kar raha hai ?

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Yaar Poodinay - Ek baat bata - Ye Saari problems tere saath hi kyun aati hai ??

Yaar apartment me reh Sukoon ki zindagi ji - Kyon be wajah me apna waqt bekar kar raha hai ?

asif. wah ji wah, thats what I call good advice..seriously

Dear fraudiya...

who knows, your assumption that you got rejected because you are Pakistani is probably as far fetched as my assumption that maybe they thought you were a dork. I have no basis to say that this would ahve been the reason, and niether do you. <<<<<<<<<<

Acctually Fraudiay Your assumption might be more justified then mine ...let me explain................

Your synopsis of me being a dork relies heavily on my posts that I have posted in the last two months ....neither have u seen me neither have u met me .......
My analysis is based upon the 20 minutes encouter that I have had with them ... and asking them patterned questions like gas water electric bills ...phone line in the room etc so First of all for them to precieve I was a dork is much more cumbersome but for me to gather that they denied me the room cause of my ethenicity is more substantial , As I could compare the change in attitude and dealings b4 and after the "million doller question" was asked.

Dear Asif

Yaar Poodinay - Ek baat bata - Ye Saari problems tere saath hi kyun aati hai ?? <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Yar pata nahi ..........probably I am jinxed.

As Ashfaq ahmed says " problems never end in life only the reasons keep on changing"(simplified)

BTW(for both of U) Some one has accepted me it is a large family home .Mother, daughter ,son living in two conjoined houses with there children. Seem to be nice ppl and I am shiftting on the 20th ....I will let u know whether it was a doltish decision or an intelligent one.

Asif K: :hehe: that’s funny man…

Pooty: Yaar, all you need to do is convert and you will not only find a phat place to live but also a renewed sense of self.

yeah “convert” from Pakistani to Chitrali, they wont know what it is. claim its an independent principality. :smiley:

also try to “convert” from “desi” to gora sahab. chalta hai may be able to give u some lessons in how to become a brown saab :slight_smile:

any ways seriously, here is my 2 paisa

1. your ethnicity may not be the reason, it could be a multitude of other things. personal likes/dislikes, lifestyles etc etc

2. if ethnicity is the issue, why worry. I would not want to live with racist byatches anyways

Poodinay.. I agree with a few guppies who said its not your ethnicity the reason why you got rejected..

I agree as Pir Fraudia said, that it is most probably various other reasons why you got rejected.

Try to put yourself in their shoes and imagine if you would allow such and such person to share YOUR house with you.

I wouldn't like to share my house with someone who would bring in anything that I don't like to eat myself and put that in the refrigerator. Well, that is just one simple example of the reasons one could have rejected you or you could reject someone if needed.