for MOMs only (expressing milk)

a friend of mine just gave birth to a healthy baby boy mashallah. but she is unable to express milk so far. its been 3 days now and she just can’t seem to lactate. she is very upset about it, she feels like she is not a good mother since she is unable to breast feed her child.
is there something she can do ( or eat something) which can help to express milk?
and the swelling on her feet is still there?how long does it stays?
any advice for the first time new mom?

Re: for MOMs only (expressing milk)

suroor… first time mom’s are always overly cautious about everything.. trust me.. i kno :rolleyes: … khayr… coming back to the problem… i kno a totka they told me at the hospital while i was there for my delivery. Nurses there told me to eat ‘Bhunna huwa Zeera’ first thing in the morning… just a hand ful .. and its supposed to be very very good for breastfeeding mothers. So wut a new mom can do is to make a bottle of ‘bhunna huwa zeera’ and keep it on the bedside.. and whenever you feel like pop a spoonful in your mouth. It works wonders as they say … hmm… tell her to drink a lot of milk as well.. would do her good as well as the baby. and eat nutritious stuff.. ur food effects a lot to the baby while feeding him.

Swelling stays on for a weke or so after the delivery … atleast mine did.

Tell her not to worry to much.. Every thing is new for your child too as well as for yourself… both are learning new things.. and you can not expcept to go everything perfect on the first time.. right?

I hope that helped a bit. :slight_smile:

agree with the zeera bit :)

check ur pm suroor :-)

Maybe when all is well and good, you can go up to her and say

Got Milk?

Suroor_ca02 women Lactate, cows produce milk

why was this post edited? i wanna know the original contents pouts

for the first few days, there is no real milk, what the mom has is called colostrum. it isnt produced in large amounts but its extremely "packed" with nutrients, similar to egg yolk. baby doesnt need large quantities, just needs to learn how to feed...the food is so very concentrated that they get everything they need even if it seems they're not eating much at all.

on or around the 3rd day after birth is when the milk comes in. it can take up to 5 days tho. hang in there.........

Has she tried pumping?

thanks for the advice, i'll forward this thread to her.
veri, lactate it is, thanks for correcting.
mo3, she'll be relieved to hear that, thanks.

prelude , TNWB , apna chichora pan kahi aur dekhao.
sajal, no she hasnt tried that yet. she is scared to do anything right now.
afia, aleezay, thanks for the tips :-)

excuse me???????????????????????????? what did i say?

suroor_ca02 i actually meant that. Inshallah when everythings okay with your friend go say this line to her and if she has a sense of humour it might just put a smile on her face.