Football World Cup

With the world cup just around the corner, how would the guppies like the format of the threads.

One thread per match
One thread for the tournament
One thread per group.

Any more ideas?

We have previously run one thread for the tournament in the case of the hockey world cup, the Sharjah tournament and the Champions league.

In case of the Pak V NZ series a thread per match was run.

I think one thread per match will become confusing as a lot of threads will open up. Anyway lets have your comments.

Ehsan, I would prefer to have one thread and if any other opens one just "talaa" it.
I think it's clear laid out than having more threads with the same subject.

But if you ppl really prefer to open more than one, I would structure it as follows:

Pre-eliminary rounds (1st),
Quarterfinals,
Semis,
Final.

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited May 16, 2002).]

yes, u can take this, but take the quarter-semi-final as one

One thread for the whole tournament.

Agree with Ali R .. thread should be by rounds .. anyone knows the coverage in USA ? .. how about dishnetwork? ..

Go Brazil!

Keeping in mind the numbers of matchs i'll vote for one thread per group. And then one for semis and final !

Bachelors know more about women than married men; if they didn't, they'd be married too.

I believe, the rounds should be split withen the threads.. otherwise this will reach 1000

Rooster, ESPN, ESPN2, ESPN Classic and ABC will show coverage of every game.
Infact here is the sceduale.. hope you drink lots of caffine for ONE MONTH! Sleep in the day and stay awake all night.
http://worldcup.espnsoccernet.com/story?id=208991

VIVA LA ITALIA!

I think keeping one thread for all matches will be hard to manage with so many matches being played.

I would go for

1 thread per group(Total 8 thread).
1 thread Pre-quarter
1 Thread Quarter
1 Thread Semis
1 thread Final !!

Unka Jo Kaam hai Ahl-e-Siyasat Jaane,
Apna paigam muhabbat hai ,jahan tak pahuche

Originally posted by Rooster-Blues:
**Agree with Ali R .. thread should be by rounds .. anyone knows the coverage in USA ? .. how about dishnetwork? ..

Go Brazil!**

ESPN is showing most of the matches
Spanish network UNIVISION is showing all of them...i think the timings are 7:30AM EST

I don't want to achieve immortality through my work... I want to achieve it through not dying.

i think one per group is fine.
one per tournament will be toooo long.

agree with andha qanoon

One per group is in my eyes nonesense, I won't be switching from one thread to another just to give my comments on the plays that occured on the same day and even at the same time, but from different groups.

Originally posted by Ali_R:
**One per group is in my eyes nonesense, I won't be switching from one thread to another just to give my comments on the plays that occured on the same day and even at the same time, but from different groups.

Agreed ALi...
We can do this
1 thread for all group matches.
1 thread Pre-quarter
1 Thread Quarter
1 Thread Semis
1 thread Final !!

Aanda_q ji that's what I said. Read my first post.

Ali bhai your comment is valid but a lot of confusion can be created in one thread as well. Say there were six matches one particular day, various people will be posting comments on various matches in the same thread and it can get confusing as you might be reading a comment about match 1, followed by match 3 and then 4 and then back to 1, and then 5.

Just my observation. At the moment i am inclined towards one thread per group followed by one thread for the finals, but keep the comments rolling in before we make a final decision.

Here is an intersting link:
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/en

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited May 17, 2002).]

Ehsan hmmm.......didn't take this in consideration.

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited May 17, 2002).]

Football is boring

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

I say this to irritate my brother whenever he is watching a hot match

Sadi, go and watch your soaps and let us be men!

Ali,

If you call sitting on the sofas with coke and chips watching football match makes you men

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

… Oh well whatever rocks your world. Btw I will be sticking around here for a while, other sections have become a lil boring

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/flower1.gif

for the time being and after I figure out what you guys here talk about I will insahallah participate with my valueable feminine comments.

[This message has been edited by SADI (edited May 17, 2002).]

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! Watch out lads, Waisey Sadi it gets a bit rough when the discussion is about cricket teams of Pakistan and India