Football WC 2002 - - GROUP A

I’m sure you did some Vodoo Shodoo!

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

I can’t believe it!!
I felt such a wave of shock when the final wistle was blown.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

1-0

Only one man can save them now.. me. hehe actually Zidane.

Did you see how many times it hit the woodworks!? France had tons of chances, but Senegal’s goaltender was playing solid.

Btw, yes Ehsan bhai, I am really sad about the loss as you can see.

[This message has been edited by Peoples Champ (edited May 31, 2002).]

lols i started watching game like half an before it ended and until the end i couldn't figure out which team was France and which one was Senegal

Uruguay V Denmark. Will be interesting as South American style of football clashes with the european style. Denmark for me, waise bhi it is safer to say Denmark otherwise the powers to be might remove me as the moderator of the forum

Well Denmark beats Urugay and I don’t think you can say one team was better than the other. Both played a offensive football and it was nice to watch.
I would have wished that both end the match with 1 all to give France a better chance of qualifying., but Denmark won the match 2 : 1.

Tomasson is a great player

Denmark Won ...

URUGUAY 1 - 2 DENMARK

I'm Gonna Be The Champ
The Way I Wanna Be

Rude Boyz Rulez

[This message has been edited by speed master (edited June 01, 2002).]

And here's the final whistle. Denmark beats Uruguay 2-1 and takes over the lead of Group A.

Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria

[This message has been edited by Umer (edited June 01, 2002).]

Ali bhai I can understand your frustrations but remember:

Aur bhi dukh hain zamaney mein mohabat kay siwa
Teams aur bhi hain eik France kay siwa

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/134914090.jpg

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 01, 2002).]

Table after one game palyed by each Team:

Teams    Pts P W D L GF GA +/- 

1 Denmark 3  1 1 0 0 2  1   1
2 Senegal 3  1 1 0 0 1  0   1 
2 France  0  1 0 0 1 0  1  -1 
3 Urugay  0  1 0 0 1 1  2  -1

Ehsan bhai I know, but being a Zinedin Zidane fan I can’t see them lose and I can’t bear a final without him.
I hope it was not their first round knock out.

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/en/020601/2/obk.html

URUGUAY 1 : 2 DENMARK
by FIFAworldcup.com

Scoring chances came in bundles Saturday evening in Ulsan, Korea as Uruguay and Denmark played in their opening match of the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan™. Jon Dahl Tomasson found the net late in each half to lead the Danes to an emotional victory.
The game began with end-to-end action, and no one was surprised when Tomasson and Uruguay’s Dario Rodriguez scored on either side of half-time. Tomasson completed his double in the closing minutes, placing Denmark atop Group A along side Senegal. France and Uruguay are now facing long-odds as they share the bottom of the table with no points.

Neither side seemed to be showing any nerves as they both got off to bright starts. Dario Silva and Sebastian Abreu had half chances within the first five minutes for Uruguay, and just after, Dennis Rommedahl’s left-footer gave Denmark hope on their end.

Again good chances were exchanged when Alvaro Recoba curled a patented left-footed free kick just around the right post (9’), while Ebbe Sand had the best chance of the half at the other end. But, the unmarked Schalke man watched his diving header bounce on the pitch and up off the top of the crossbar (12’).

After the early flurry, the match settled down, though both teams continued to be attack-minded and skilful when moving forward on the break. Generally, Uruguay preferred to work quickly through the middle, while Denmark exploited space on the wings to send in some dangerous crosses.

The half continued slowly until near the whistle. Recoba looped a lovely ball to Silva whose header was cut out (40’), and Rommedahl’s shot was cleared as well (41’). Denmark followed up with more pressure and were rewarded when Jesper Gronkjaer set up Jon Dahl Tomasson, who made no mistake with his shot from 10 yards out (0:1, 45’).

The second half started with an immediate response from the Abicelestes, as Dario Rodriguez curled a stunning left-foot volley into the top corner of the Danish net (1:1, 47’). From a Recoba corner, the ball was only partially cleared and it eventually fell to the Penarol defender 20 metres out.

The sides remained relatively even, though the quickness of Recoba, Abreu, and Silva caused occasional problems for the Danish defence. Recoba’s running blast from 30 metres was caught well by a diving Thomas Sorensen (64’).

However, Gronkjaer and substitute Martin Jorgensen were doing well on each flank for Denmark. In the 80th minute, Jorgensen beat a couple of players in the Uruguayan box, but the Uruguayan defence, led captain Paolo Montero, scrapped their way through.

That is until Tomasson’s perfectly placed header hit off the underside of the crossbar and into the Uruguayan net (1:2, ’83). Yet another cross from the left by Jorgensen set the unmarked player up, and Uruguayan goalkeeper Fabian Carini was left flat-footed by the superb placement of the ball.

The Danes ran out the final ten minutes of the match knowing that they had launched their World Cup adventure in the best way possible.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 01, 2002).]

This was the best match so far !!!
Full of action and good quality…

I have feeling now that FRANCE is going to have tough time qualifying from this group..

Denmark and Senegal should be a very good match to watch. Difficult to predict the result. In the other match in this group France should beat Uruguay, but then thats what we all thought when France played Senegal. Any slip tomorrow by France and it will be goodbye world cup.

I think Denmark-Senegal will be the first 0-0 of this world cup.

Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria

Ok … my perdictions for tomorrow’s matches

France vs. Uraguay
3 - 1

Denmark vs. Senegal
2 - 1

Lets see

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

Denmark 1 Senegal 1

A wonderful match which Senegal could have won in the second half. This result puts a lot of pressure on France.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/470499389.jpg

Tomasson after scoring the goal

Ahmadjee prediction aap kay bus kee baat nahin. Chale thay Sabah ko khush karney

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited June 06, 2002).]

Well this is a very difficult situation France is facing now.
It's hard to believe they can win the group therefore they will have to give their best and beat both Urugay and Denmark otherwise I see no chances. I would have wished Tomasson never had scored the leading goal the 84th min. against Urugay.
Damn!

Okay the worst referee from the WC so far. A very harsh decision which made the whole game unattractive and boring. Ugly tackling and stupid fouls. The red card which was never one to be in my eyes. He should have get a yellow that would have been okay.

THe most unlucky WC for France so far.
It's just very sad.

France 0 Uruguay 0

Is France on its way out of the tournament? Without Zidane it is not the same team.