Re: Foot in the sink
A.Q well said, aj tum nay mera sar fakhar say ooncha kar dia hai.
Larai larai muaf karo Allah ka ghar saaf karo :)
I already did... I edited my post and apologized seeing he felt offended... Ball is in other court now.:)
^^ Typical behavior of AQ, pehlay aag lagaae aur ab maasoom bun rahay haiN.
Anwaar Qureshi, thank you for your revelation (definition used: number 1 according to www.dictionary.com), which you put very nicely in this scripture (definition used: number 2 according to www.dictionary.com) of yours. In my eyes, you indeed are a very great messenger (definition used: number 1 according to www.dictionary.com) of your thoughts. Your post comes as if coming from a messiah (definition used: number 3 according to www.dictionary.com), in fact I find your post so good the definition might even be promoted to number 4! :o
Did you fail to see that I had edited my earlier response seeing that you found it offensive? If you did not, then I wonder what is making you not to answer the original query... why are you going off-topic by bringing issues from other places here... ???
Indeed, I failed to see that. My sincere apologies for that.
It was my post and I did not edit and post anything against the forum rules.... I will suggest that you discuss this kind of instances with Administration to come up with a policy on all forums that a re-editing of a post (after a mod has edited) should not be allowed... In such case, after a mod has edited a post, user option to re-edit should be disabled.... A user can edit to add the contents too in such cases....
That's a valid point. In future I will edit posts after the 24-hour limit has passed as much as possible.
Contiunously whinning about this and throwing warning (I appreciate you did not do that though) only tells us that you have a free hand to issue warning on things beyond RULES as well... I did not violate any defined rule...
Indeed, you did not violate any written rules; hence I did not issue any warning (not even verbally). It was only a recommendation from my side.
Now, since I have edited my post and now that I think you felt offended, I will apologize on that post, would you kindly answer to the original question for I think it is unfair to keep posting things against the topic just because you wanted to bring things in public? Thanks.
Coming back to the question. I stated that I don't think one should go "all lengths to obtain water"; which is quite different from your interpretation "water is not necessary for the wudhu after all". As a matter of fact, in my eyes water is necessary - when it is readily accesible. However, if obtaining water is difficult, or if by obtaining water you make a mess of the bathroom or put extra unnecessary distress on others (the janitor won't be best pleased with your actions), something several members here were clearly afraid of doing, then I said that you should not go all lengths to put water on every square inch of your foot. So in those instances applying water to all parts of your foot is not necessary.
So in my eyes, I don't feel my opinion on this is against Qur'an that water be used for wuzu, and neither against any reliable islamic archeologic source.
^ agreed...I think best is to do wadu in the morning, wear clean socks and later just do masaa, thats what I have been doing for a while and I am sure Allah mian will understand.
As much as I love doing foot in the sink, i almost got cought once by my-worker :D due to embaracement, I decided never to do that again...
Thank you all for your informed post on the subject topic. I hope we have here a number of views which cover almost all aspects of the topic at hand.
thank you for your cooperation.